We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Aldy Hotel

Save Saved
You added Aldy Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Aldy Hotel
27, Jalan Kota, Melaka 75000, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #37 of 144 hotels in Melaka
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Excellent Location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

The location of this hotel is very good. 5 min to Jonker Street and Palawan Mall. The hotel is having a renovation after being taken over early in the year. We had the family room and the size is big. Our toddler were having fun by just running round the room. We were on the second floor and i guess the rooftop Jacuzzi is just right above so we had a leaky ceiling. All in for the price we paid we couldn't complain. The biggest downside for us about this hotel are the trishaws. If you like "music" being blasted every other min or so you would be fine. The trishaws use the road in front of the hotel as their main thoroughfare and so you would get a mix of reggae, trance, Malay, Hindi, Chinese music being blasted almost all the way till 11pm.

Room Tip: Even number rooms are quiter though all the rooms have poor sound insulation
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    13
    30
    39
    12
    5
See reviews for
31
38
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014

This is the best place for a traveller and the best place I have ever stayed in in Malaysia. Excellent friendly staff. Downstairs you can sit and eat and drink and watch the real Malaysia walk on by. The location is the best and in the centre of all the attractions Melakka has to offer, minutes walk to everything.
The rooms are spacious and sleep comfortable. Would highly recommend this as very good value and so close to everything.

Room Tip: All good... book it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KL
Top Contributor
136 reviews 136 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
105 helpful votes 105 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014

My 2nd check in into this hotel and what can i say,i have nothing to complain about.The rooms are comfortable,the bathroom is clean,floors are spotless and the ambience is simply amazing.Though it can be a bit pricey after they add the 10& and 6% tax,i would still pick my stay here.Jonker's walk is just a few 100 metres away from this hotel,and its very convienient to walk around to the restaurants nearby.

They have only 4 reserve car parks for this hotel,and you have to keep checking when its available,but once you park it in need not drive around cos everything is walking distance.Breakfast is served at the bamboo bistro,its a pretty sight to sit there and have a meal in the mornings and watch the "becaks" go by with their loud music.I would return back to stay at this place again and again,its indeed a pleasant place to stay at.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bern, Switzerland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2014

hello,i stay in this hotel for 4 night,and it was good,Friendly staff,the room was very spacious,24 h hot water,...quiet place,the water canal is very near,like this you can have nice walk..easy to reach there from melaka central,you just have to go out,at the door of little india......the room was clean,the bed perfect and big...but you dont get wifi in the room...but you can use the computer at the reception for free...i recoomend you...and check the price,because is not the same weekend,and weekday,i pay 74 ringitt and i was very happy..enjoy

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Letterkenny, Ireland
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

If your looking for luxury, this isn't it. What it is though is a very well run family hotel with very friendly staff. Ideal for backpackers or people interested in a more authentic experience while travelling. Ideally located near all the main tourist attractions, in particular the historic party of the city and what has to be the funniest museum I have ever been in, the human self mutilation & kites museum. Not something you would think goes together. Staff are great and really make you feel welcome and had a great nights fun eating and drinking in the bar downstairs in the hotel the first night we stayed there. The rooms are pretty standard, but they are clean and have a bed. You don't need much else!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

Stayed here during Christmas holiday for 1 night. There were 10 of us altogether. I booked the Quintet Room, Aldy Suite and Junior Suite. The rooms were all pretty spacious with basic amenities provided for. There was a small jacuzzi located at the rooftop and since no other guests were using it so we had much fun soaking ourselves in on a hot sunny day. From the rooftop you could enjoy the view of Melaka town.

Being a centrally located hotel in the heart of the town, it is very easy and convenient to visit places of interest on foot. Colourful trishaws pass by the lobby of this hotel every now and then where you could take a ride to most of the attractions nearby and enjoy the scenery. I have no further comments to make on this aspect as it was as per expected.

However I would like to comment on the attentiveness of the staff. I stayed in the Aldy Suite and having paid more for a good room, I do expect some quality service to be rendered. The aircon was rather faulty and we had to call the receptionist a few times at night but there was nothing he could do to help. We were just lucky that after a few attempts of switching the power supply on and off, the aircon worked just fine til morning. During breakfast the next day, my hubby left his ipad at the restaurant. And we only noticed this at about 2pm when we were about to head back to KL. I immediately called the FrontDesk to ask about this and lucky us, she said that the ipad is still in the restaurant. The thing that had me thinking until now is why didn't the resto staff informed the receptionist immediately when we left the gadget behind? The waiters/waitresses clearly know where we sat and who the ipad belonged to (us, of course) since we have provided the breakfast coupon with room number written upon placing orders. Furthermore there were only 3 tables occupied then.

I guess the management should give more training to the staff on hospitality.

Room Tip: The rooms are large and comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

Our 2 n 3 yrs old kids love their children beds. Although the toys provided were mostly spoilt, the kids still enjoy playing them using their imagination! The story books are new and my kids enjoyed them. The room also provide kids table, chairs and utensils. Very children friendly. However, it's an old hotel, don't expect carpet to be clean etc. The lift can be a bit scary. The room on the 3rd floor is quiet enough for a good night rest.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Aldy Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aldy Hotel

Address: 27, Jalan Kota, Melaka 75000, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Melaka State > Central Melaka District > Melaka
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 144 hotels in Melaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Otel so you can book your Aldy Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aldy Hotel Melaka

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aldy Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.