We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good centralised location, heart of melaka.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Aldy Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Aldy Hotel to your Saves list
Aldy Hotel
27, Jalan Kota, Melaka 75000, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #36 of 146 Hotels in Melaka
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Good centralised location, heart of melaka.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2011

Having been to Melaka a few times, this was my first time staying in Aldy Hotel. Aldy Hotel was easily identified because of it's red exterior. However, those driving there will/should face a problem in parking as there are only 4-5 proper parking lots(just directly opposite the hotel's cafe) for the hotel which is not sufficient given the number of rooms. Location was good, not too far from the famous Jonker Walk(around a 10 mins stroll).

Room(suite room) was huge, had a really old OSIM massage chair but it's still operable. Room was rather clean and tidy which is a plus point. However, my room was situated on the 2nd floor of the hotel and by 630/7 am the next morning, we were awoken by the clanging of plates, cups and utensils and even kids running up and down the corridor could also be heard. Do not expect yourself to sleep beyond 730 am.

Aldy hotel has a little cafe/bar called the bamboo hut on the 1st floor which has entertainment(screening of soccer matches, singer) in the night until 11pm. A rather cozy environment to chill out after a hot day of walking. On a side note, they do serve BBQ lobsters BUT, it's not worth the money. Frozen lobsters definitely cannot beat the freshness of a live one. Breakfast was provided, not great but edible, enough to last you till lunch.

Overall, this experience of Aldy Hotel was sub average yet not to the extent of poor. I would recommend travellers who are in search of a centralised location from the majority of Melaka's attraction to stay at Aldy's.

Room Tip: Rooms on the higher floors should definitely be quieter than on the lower floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    32
    41
    12
    5
See reviews for
32
38
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
London
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
71 hotel reviews
Reviews in 76 cities Reviews in 76 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2011

We stayed for two nights as part of a tour and were impressed with the location (right in the midst of the historic part and near to Chinatown). However, the lack of natural light in the room was the biggest problem, as was the poor selection of food for breakfast. They were replacing the much moaned about carpets, during our stay (so our experience was enlivened by being high on the pervasive stench of carpet glue!)

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2011

Stayed at Aldy Hotel during a weekend trip. It was pretty cheap for a huge room, the suite, at SGD$140. Bedroom comes with an old but usable massage chair, a pantry and jacuzzi. As we stayed in suite room at level 2, just above the restaurant below, both my partner and I were irritated by the clattering of plates in the morning. It started to get noisy at about 7am in the morning which kind of interrupted our sleep. Thus, I'm not sure if its possible, but do request for a room not in the second level.

The location of Aldy was fantastic. It's only 7 minutes walk from Jonker street. If anyone is driving there, they do have 2 lots for hotel guest. Should they run out of lots, they will always allow you to park right infront of the hotel.

The Bamboo Bar at the hotel is a relatively good place for drinks, entertained by this guy who sings and plays the guitar. One of the waiters was extremely pleasant.

Room Tip: Do not stay in the second level.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2011

The exterior of this red hotel is sweet and easy to identify. However the location may take some time to find and the bus transport was very inconvenient in Melaka. Transportation is messy and shabby, there's no definite bus to specific places and they kept changing as they like. For your info it is located near the George street and behind Christ Church Melaka.

Hotels in Melaka are expensive especially this one. I spent more than SGD120/night during my stay but luckily only for 1 night. 2 days are enough to eat and walk around George Town since there aren't much to see in Melaka. I would suggest travellers not to waste money on other activities like zoo or swimming pool as it is not worthy and you are likely to be lost. (We were lost in Melaka while going to a local swimming pool and that was the most unforgettable desperate moment in my life. There are no taxi at all and the bus took a long time to our rescue. Not every buses stopped by!)

The room are quite spacious and cozy. I read others' negative reviews about the dirty rooms but mine was clean fortunately. The staff were neither very friendly nor helpful.

Please take note that though there is a swimming pool on top of the roof but it is not swimmable! The pool was very dirty and no one bothers to clean. It was meant for commercial purpose to attract tourists to stay.

Breakfast was normal but satisfactory. Food in George street are cheap and nice! However I believe you will have better hotel choice than this definitely.

Room Tip: try other hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2011

We stayed 2 nights in this hotel in a family room. Location just above the cafe downstairs. Wthe whole hotel was very worn, only the bathroom was nice and modern and clean. The set breakfast in het cafe downstairs was very basic with little choice.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kuala lumpur
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2011

I was there with my family for a short trip. Here are the points:

Reservation : Pretty easy and response was quick also.

Staff : Not friendly during check in and check out.

Location : Good. Everything's in walking distance.

Parking : Is a problem cos it's only reserved 4 parking bay and its first come first serve basis.

Room rate : Its too expensive for weekday (almost RM200.00) for a superior room with basic amenities (NO toothbrush, hand soap and toothpaste). Room is narrow, just like a standard room size. We stayed in Mimosa Melaka few months ago, also 3 stars but a lot more better. At least they have everything in the toilet, quiet, comfortable to stay and its only RM128.00 nett for superior room.

THE MOST IMPORTANT IS THE AIR-COND COMPRESSOR IS VERY LOUD. WE CAN'T SLEEP AT ALL...

Air-conditioning :Old fashion type

Room main door : No access card. ONLY USE 1 KEY TO OPEN AND IT IS WOODEN DOOR. IS JUST LIKE NORMAL AND MOST CHEAPEST TYPE OF DOOR. ITS LOOKS DANGEROUS.

Water heater : Needs to "ON" the heater switch 15mins before shower (THIS IS NOT A 3 STARS HOTEL STANDARD)

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bickington, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2011

We booked this hotel for three days.We arrived early but our room was ready.

Reception staff were very pleasant and our room was adequate and as expected.The thing that disappointed me most about this hotel was the carpets around the halls and leading to the rooms were dirty and shabby. Which was a shame as it was a lovely authentic hotel. Breakfast was fine
The hotel is very close to the church and everything is within easy walking distance. One thing to be aware of is the trishaw drivers ride around outside until quite late, but I rather enjoyed listening to and watching them.

If you can live with dirty carpets in the reception areas then you may enjoy this hotel mainly for it's fabulous location.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Aldy Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aldy Hotel

Address: 27, Jalan Kota, Melaka 75000, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Melaka State > Central Melaka District > Melaka
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 146 Hotels in Melaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Aldy Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aldy Hotel Melaka

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aldy Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.