We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and comfortable stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kings Green Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save Saved
You added Kings Green Hotel to your Saves list
Kings Green Hotel
No. 28 Jalan Tun Perak, Melaka 75300, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 146 Hotels in Melaka
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Clean and comfortable stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

My family of 5 came across this hotel by chance when we stayed in another hotel nearby during the CNY 2014. This June, we decided to give it a try by staying in this hotel.

We arrived around 10am. There were only 2 hotel staffs at the Reservation counter. One of them was young and appeared to be a new staff as she seemed to be relatively unsure of most procedures and requests when I asked her. The other woman, more senior, appeared to be seasoned staff. We booked through Agoda, and we understand that only the Classic Superior with balcony comes with joining rooms. We were disappointed because we actually wanted higher floor and bigger units but had to stick to low floor and only the Classic superior if we want joining rooms. The registration process was really slow even though only my family was around. As we were early, we were told to return at 3pm to pick up our key cards.

At 4pm, we returned and we saw a group of guests crowding around the reservation counter. Some of them looked unhappy and others getting impatient. I understand because I had already experienced it in the morning. There were about 6 hotel staffs, trying to handle the group of guests. I had some difficulty in getting my key cards even though I had registered in the morning. It was quite a wait. And upon getting our key cards, we were disappointed when we went up to our rooms just to find that the key cards were probably not activated yet and I had to run down to the counter. Though the staffs were friendly, I felt the entire experience exhaustive and felt, out of the 6 staffs there, probably three of them appeared to be intern or relatively new. They add no help to the group of guests because for every question enquired, these new staffs would turned to the more experienced ones to answer! The experience could be quite frustrating but I did not flare because I understand their difficulties.

My patience was eventually paid off when we checked into the Classic Superior rooms. It was clean and comfortable. The only two areas we thought could have improved were: (1) ensure the doors to the connecting rooms could be opened as we wish like most hotels and not closed automatically whenever we walked over to the other room. (2) The balcony is big and honestly we don't make use of it at all. If it could be converted to part of the room, it would have added space for the staying guest.

The breakfast spread was quite okay. After 1 night stay, we checked out of the hotel and headed to KL.

The hotel is convenient for those who drive there but not so if you don't. It is new and clean and at the present pricing, it is fair and reasonable. However, the hotel needs to step up their training of new staffs if they are seriously interested in attracting Singapore tourists.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shashakings, Business Development Executive at Kings Green Hotel, responded to this review, July 3, 2014
Dear Sir/Mdm,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your unfortunate experience with our Hotel.
We would like to apologize for the experience you had with us and same time will look into the matters highlighted for our future improvement.

Again, Thank you very much for letting us know.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    13
    9
    2
    1
See reviews for
15
4
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

At first it is not our first choice of hotel in Malacca. But most of the hotels were fully booked and we had no choice but to stay at Kings Green Hotel and we sure glad that we did.

We were in the deluxe classic room - 1 queen size and another single in room, toilet with tub and a balcony. Bed a little bit hard though.


Late checkin was smooth and swift and immediately afterwards I brought my family to the swimming pool. Pool was perfect for my 2.5 years old daughter. 2.5 feet is just nice for her height. Adult pool is shallow at only 4 feet. I can say the hotel is very new, not even 1 year old.


Staff is a little bit inexperience from what I can see from front desk to kitchen. Can still improve on it.

Price suits for what you get.

Would definitely recommend this hotel to others with family.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shashakings, Business Development Executive at Kings Green Hotel, responded to this review, June 25, 2014
Dear En Aziz,

Greetings from Kings Green Hotel City Centre Melaka !

We would like to thank you for taking the time to send us your constructive feedback.

Please be rest assured we have looked into your feedback and we are working to improve the areas highlighted.

Thank you for staying at the Kings Green Hotel City Centre Melaka and we looked forward to welcoming you back in the future.


Best Regards,
Punisha
Business Development Executive
Kings Green Hotel City Centre Melaka
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

We are frequent visitors of Melaka and have stayed in a number of the larger hotels. As we were only stopping over, this was the first time we stayed at this new establishment. The car park is open air hence in the hot weather, it can be a real sauna. The check-in and check-out process was inefficient; the staff either seemed new to it or the process was too cumbersome. Had to wait even though there was no crowd. The building and rooms are very clean and in good condition. We had a room with a queen and single bed; it was very cramped for a family of 4. The beds were very firm. The airconditioning worked very well.The TV reception was good though the wireless internet could be better. The toilet had the basic necessities though it was very small. The shower area did not have a door which causes the toilet to be rather wet. Breakfast was really nothing to shout about; far better to drive out. The small pool was suitable for the kids; clean and not too deep. The gym had the basic equipment; hardly used. The location is not very central to say, Jonkers Street or Makhota Parade but with a car, accessibility is not an issue.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shashakings, Business Development Executive at Kings Green Hotel, responded to this review, June 25, 2014
Dear Sir,

Greetings from Kings Green Hotel City Centre Melaka !

We would like to thank you for the taking the time to send us your constructive feedback.

On behalf of the management and staff of Kings Green Hotel City Centre Melaka, we would like to apologise for the unsatisfactory experience at our reception.

Please be rest assured we have looked into your feedback and we are working to improve the service for the betterment.

Thank you for staying at the Kings Green Hotel City Centre Melaka and we looked forward to welcoming you back in the future.


Best Regards,
Punisha
Business Development Executive
Kings Green Hotel City Centre Melaka
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

Modern interior design, rooms clean, refreshing,nice open view. Free wifi most areas. Hotel coffeehouse food is good. Buffet outdoor, hot at times. Staff friendly & courteous. Ample parking. Plus is a swimming pool. Manual room aircond put at lowest but woke up in sweat cos like energy power saving. Conference hall, aircond need to regulate, when under aircond vent-cold, if not,hot.
No nearby shops, 10 min to town & tesco. Benefit those who drives.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shashakings, Business Development Executive at Kings Green Hotel, responded to this review, June 25, 2014
Dear Sir/Mdm,

Greetings from Kings Green Hotel City Centre Melaka !

We would like to thank you for taking the time to send us your valuable feedback.

On behalf of the management and staff of Kings Green Hotel City Centre Melaka, we would like to apologise for the unsatisfactory experience.

Please be rest assured we have looked into your feedback and we are working to improve the areas highlighted for the betterment.

Thank you for staying at the Kings Green Hotel City Centre Melaka and we looked forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Best Regards,
Punisha
Business Development Executive
Kings Green Hotel City Centre Melaka
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

Location - It is 10 minutes away (by car) from the tourist hotspots. But you'll be rewarded with quiet environment, day and night.

Room - Booked a Superior room. It has 2 beds (queen and single) in the room. The room was well kept; clean and tidy. It could definitely fit 3 adults in it. Noisy insulation was minimum. We could hear adults talking at corridor, kids running and doors slamming.

Bathroom - Combined bathroom and toilet, it was quite small with standing shower area only (without bathtub). Toiletries were basic such as shower gel, shampoo and conditioner. Bath and hand towels were provided too.

Amenities - Basic items were provided such as flat screen TV, kettle, mini refrigerator and WiFi (free for hotel guests. We couldn't login for some reason).

Service - Check in and out was a breeze. For some odd reason, they will photocopy your passport/ID card without crossing it out. Be really careful with this!

Food - Breakfast was nothing to shout about. The selection was not extensive but sufficient. It has both western and eastern menus.

Overall - A good place to seek solace. The hotel was quiet throughout the day. That said, some mode of transportation is needed since it is located 10 minutes away from city centre.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shashakings, Business Development Executive at Kings Green Hotel, responded to this review, June 25, 2014
Dear Sir/Mdm,

Greetings from Kings Green Hotel City Centre Melaka !

We would like to thank you for taking the time to send us your constructive feedback.

On behalf of the management and staff of Kings Green Hotel City Centre Melaka, we would like to apologise for the unsatisfactory experience at our reception.

Please be rest assured we have looked into your feedback and we are working to improve the service for the betterment.

Thank you for staying at the Kings Green Hotel City Centre Melaka and we looked forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Best Regards,
Punisha
Business Development Executive
Kings Green Hotel City Centre Melaka
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
singapore
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

We were looking for a premier suite option and chanced upon this new property but nobody prepared us for how far this turned out to be. No mention on the website either.

Very clean and basic. We did not fancy the chilly temperatures which could not be managed even with separate remote controls for the rooms and living room. It was a comfortable stay but the noise from the highway could be heard from the room. We were staying at room 723.

Breakfast was pretty good especially the waffles and nasi lemak. We had room service for dinner the night before, not worth a try though prices are very reasonable for a hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shashakings, Business Development Executive at Kings Green Hotel, responded to this review, June 25, 2014
Dear Sir/Mdm,

Greetings from Kings Green Hotel City Centre Melaka !

We would like to thank you for taking the time to send us your constructive feedback.

On behalf of the management and staff of Kings Green Hotel City Centre Melaka, we would like to apologise for the unsatisfactory experience.

Please be rest assured we have looked into your feedback and we are working to improve the service for the betterment.

Thank you for staying at the Kings Green Hotel City Centre Melaka and we looked forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Best Regards,
Punisha
Business Development Executive
Kings Green Hotel City Centre Melaka
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

Kings Green Hotel would be one of the newest in Melaka at this time of writing. They positioned themselves as a boutique hotel, but I do not find it very "boutiqish". It was decently priced.

The hotel is located in an area where it is not very near the town area, but the surroundings are quiet at night. There are some food places near the hotel, and quite a walk to go to the Aeon mall and Tesco at Bandaraya Melaka.

The rooms are decently sized, and there was no bathtub (no problems with me). However, the design of the shower drainage can be improved because as hair gets stuck in the thin gaps for water to drain, the drainage gets stuck, and water can overflow into the rest of the bathroom. This is a serious design flaw and my friends encountered the overflow and told us about it, so we turned the water on and off a few times during the shower to let the water drain away before it overflows.

The temperature control in the room was also reacting strangely, and sometimes, the temperature that was set changed by itself, and at times switches off. When it switches off by itself at night, the room heats up, and had to wake up to reset the temperature control.

The breakfast spread was acceptable, and the egg station was very slow. Food at the Hibiscus cafe was also nothing to shout about, and walking to the nearby food stalls to eat was better.

The pool area was nice. Not a big pool, but a nice place to get some sun.

The wifi at the hotel was a hit and miss. You can get connected, but accessing it was slow. I gave up using the wifi after awhile.

My friend had a 6:30am wake up call that he didn't ask for.

Overall, I would rate this as average.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shashakings, Business Development Executive at Kings Green Hotel, responded to this review, June 25, 2014
Dear Sir,

Greetings from Kings Green Hotel City Centre Melaka !

We would like to thank you for taking the time to send us your constructive feedback.

On behalf of the management and staff of Kings Green Hotel City Centre Melaka, we would like to apologise for the unsatisfactory experiences.

Please be rest assured we have looked into your feedback and we are working to improve the services for the betterment.

Thank you for staying at the Kings Green Hotel City Centre Melaka.


Best Regards,
Punisha
Business Development Executive
Kings Green Hotel City Centre Melaka
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Kings Green Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kings Green Hotel

Address: No. 28 Jalan Tun Perak, Melaka 75300, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Melaka State > Central Melaka District > Melaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 146 Hotels in Melaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 151
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The eight-story building boasts 151 well-appointed rooms, with rooms ranging from standard to the premier suite. Furnishing and amenities are meticulously selected and custom-made to bring you the exclusive boutique feel. A one-stop center, the hotel caters for business and leisure travelers alike with its business and banqueting facilities that is able to accommodate up to 800 paxs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Kings Green Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kings Green Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.