We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weekend with family” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kings Green Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Kings Green Hotel to your Saves list
Kings Green Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No. 28 Jalan Tun Perak, Melaka 75300, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 150 Hotels in Melaka
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Weekend with family”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

At first it is not our first choice of hotel in Malacca. But most of the hotels were fully booked and we had no choice but to stay at Kings Green Hotel and we sure glad that we did.

We were in the deluxe classic room - 1 queen size and another single in room, toilet with tub and a balcony. Bed a little bit hard though.


Late checkin was smooth and swift and immediately afterwards I brought my family to the swimming pool. Pool was perfect for my 2.5 years old daughter. 2.5 feet is just nice for her height. Adult pool is shallow at only 4 feet. I can say the hotel is very new, not even 1 year old.


Staff is a little bit inexperience from what I can see from front desk to kitchen. Can still improve on it.

Price suits for what you get.

Would definitely recommend this hotel to others with family.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shashakings, Business Development Executive at Kings Green Hotel, responded to this review, June 25, 2014
Dear En Aziz,

Greetings from Kings Green Hotel City Centre Melaka !

We would like to thank you for taking the time to send us your constructive feedback.

Please be rest assured we have looked into your feedback and we are working to improve the areas highlighted.

Thank you for staying at the Kings Green Hotel City Centre Melaka and we looked forward to welcoming you back in the future.


Best Regards,
Punisha
Business Development Executive
Kings Green Hotel City Centre Melaka
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    26
    16
    4
    2
See reviews for
33
5
Solo
0
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

We are frequent visitors of Melaka and have stayed in a number of the larger hotels. As we were only stopping over, this was the first time we stayed at this new establishment. The car park is open air hence in the hot weather, it can be a real sauna. The check-in and check-out process was inefficient; the staff either seemed new to it or the process was too cumbersome. Had to wait even though there was no crowd. The building and rooms are very clean and in good condition. We had a room with a queen and single bed; it was very cramped for a family of 4. The beds were very firm. The airconditioning worked very well.The TV reception was good though the wireless internet could be better. The toilet had the basic necessities though it was very small. The shower area did not have a door which causes the toilet to be rather wet. Breakfast was really nothing to shout about; far better to drive out. The small pool was suitable for the kids; clean and not too deep. The gym had the basic equipment; hardly used. The location is not very central to say, Jonkers Street or Makhota Parade but with a car, accessibility is not an issue.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shashakings, Business Development Executive at Kings Green Hotel, responded to this review, June 25, 2014
Dear Sir,

Greetings from Kings Green Hotel City Centre Melaka !

We would like to thank you for the taking the time to send us your constructive feedback.

On behalf of the management and staff of Kings Green Hotel City Centre Melaka, we would like to apologise for the unsatisfactory experience at our reception.

Please be rest assured we have looked into your feedback and we are working to improve the service for the betterment.

Thank you for staying at the Kings Green Hotel City Centre Melaka and we looked forward to welcoming you back in the future.


Best Regards,
Punisha
Business Development Executive
Kings Green Hotel City Centre Melaka
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

Modern interior design, rooms clean, refreshing,nice open view. Free wifi most areas. Hotel coffeehouse food is good. Buffet outdoor, hot at times. Staff friendly & courteous. Ample parking. Plus is a swimming pool. Manual room aircond put at lowest but woke up in sweat cos like energy power saving. Conference hall, aircond need to regulate, when under aircond vent-cold, if not,hot.
No nearby shops, 10 min to town & tesco. Benefit those who drives.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shashakings, Business Development Executive at Kings Green Hotel, responded to this review, June 25, 2014
Dear Sir/Mdm,

Greetings from Kings Green Hotel City Centre Melaka !

We would like to thank you for taking the time to send us your valuable feedback.

On behalf of the management and staff of Kings Green Hotel City Centre Melaka, we would like to apologise for the unsatisfactory experience.

Please be rest assured we have looked into your feedback and we are working to improve the areas highlighted for the betterment.

Thank you for staying at the Kings Green Hotel City Centre Melaka and we looked forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Best Regards,
Punisha
Business Development Executive
Kings Green Hotel City Centre Melaka
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

Location - It is 10 minutes away (by car) from the tourist hotspots. But you'll be rewarded with quiet environment, day and night.

Room - Booked a Superior room. It has 2 beds (queen and single) in the room. The room was well kept; clean and tidy. It could definitely fit 3 adults in it. Noisy insulation was minimum. We could hear adults talking at corridor, kids running and doors slamming.

Bathroom - Combined bathroom and toilet, it was quite small with standing shower area only (without bathtub). Toiletries were basic such as shower gel, shampoo and conditioner. Bath and hand towels were provided too.

Amenities - Basic items were provided such as flat screen TV, kettle, mini refrigerator and WiFi (free for hotel guests. We couldn't login for some reason).

Service - Check in and out was a breeze. For some odd reason, they will photocopy your passport/ID card without crossing it out. Be really careful with this!

Food - Breakfast was nothing to shout about. The selection was not extensive but sufficient. It has both western and eastern menus.

Overall - A good place to seek solace. The hotel was quiet throughout the day. That said, some mode of transportation is needed since it is located 10 minutes away from city centre.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shashakings, Business Development Executive at Kings Green Hotel, responded to this review, June 25, 2014
Dear Sir/Mdm,

Greetings from Kings Green Hotel City Centre Melaka !

We would like to thank you for taking the time to send us your constructive feedback.

On behalf of the management and staff of Kings Green Hotel City Centre Melaka, we would like to apologise for the unsatisfactory experience at our reception.

Please be rest assured we have looked into your feedback and we are working to improve the service for the betterment.

Thank you for staying at the Kings Green Hotel City Centre Melaka and we looked forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Best Regards,
Punisha
Business Development Executive
Kings Green Hotel City Centre Melaka
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
singapore
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

We were looking for a premier suite option and chanced upon this new property but nobody prepared us for how far this turned out to be. No mention on the website either.

Very clean and basic. We did not fancy the chilly temperatures which could not be managed even with separate remote controls for the rooms and living room. It was a comfortable stay but the noise from the highway could be heard from the room. We were staying at room 723.

Breakfast was pretty good especially the waffles and nasi lemak. We had room service for dinner the night before, not worth a try though prices are very reasonable for a hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shashakings, Business Development Executive at Kings Green Hotel, responded to this review, June 25, 2014
Dear Sir/Mdm,

Greetings from Kings Green Hotel City Centre Melaka !

We would like to thank you for taking the time to send us your constructive feedback.

On behalf of the management and staff of Kings Green Hotel City Centre Melaka, we would like to apologise for the unsatisfactory experience.

Please be rest assured we have looked into your feedback and we are working to improve the service for the betterment.

Thank you for staying at the Kings Green Hotel City Centre Melaka and we looked forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Best Regards,
Punisha
Business Development Executive
Kings Green Hotel City Centre Melaka
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

Kings Green Hotel would be one of the newest in Melaka at this time of writing. They positioned themselves as a boutique hotel, but I do not find it very "boutiqish". It was decently priced.

The hotel is located in an area where it is not very near the town area, but the surroundings are quiet at night. There are some food places near the hotel, and quite a walk to go to the Aeon mall and Tesco at Bandaraya Melaka.

The rooms are decently sized, and there was no bathtub (no problems with me). However, the design of the shower drainage can be improved because as hair gets stuck in the thin gaps for water to drain, the drainage gets stuck, and water can overflow into the rest of the bathroom. This is a serious design flaw and my friends encountered the overflow and told us about it, so we turned the water on and off a few times during the shower to let the water drain away before it overflows.

The temperature control in the room was also reacting strangely, and sometimes, the temperature that was set changed by itself, and at times switches off. When it switches off by itself at night, the room heats up, and had to wake up to reset the temperature control.

The breakfast spread was acceptable, and the egg station was very slow. Food at the Hibiscus cafe was also nothing to shout about, and walking to the nearby food stalls to eat was better.

The pool area was nice. Not a big pool, but a nice place to get some sun.

The wifi at the hotel was a hit and miss. You can get connected, but accessing it was slow. I gave up using the wifi after awhile.

My friend had a 6:30am wake up call that he didn't ask for.

Overall, I would rate this as average.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shashakings, Business Development Executive at Kings Green Hotel, responded to this review, June 25, 2014
Dear Sir,

Greetings from Kings Green Hotel City Centre Melaka !

We would like to thank you for taking the time to send us your constructive feedback.

On behalf of the management and staff of Kings Green Hotel City Centre Melaka, we would like to apologise for the unsatisfactory experiences.

Please be rest assured we have looked into your feedback and we are working to improve the services for the betterment.

Thank you for staying at the Kings Green Hotel City Centre Melaka.


Best Regards,
Punisha
Business Development Executive
Kings Green Hotel City Centre Melaka
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

I had passed by this hotel during my last trip and decided to give it a try after seeing so many positive reviews about it in Tripadvisor. For this trip, i stayed 2 days in this hotel. My overall verdict of this place, plenty of room for improvement.

Check in and Out, I do not deny it was a breeze.

The Wi-fi is a major issue. From the moment i checked in, the wi-fi was ridiculously slow. On the 2nd day, it was non existance. I had inform the staff and they told me it could be system down but i am not buying it as there is no way wi-fi down from morning to even 1am in the morning.

Breakfast on the 1st day was a nightmare. We had arrived at 845am for breakfast. We headed to the main area where the mains are served, the food was wiped out only left with baked beans, sausages and nasi lemak. I took what was availabel and headed to the dim sum area. The food was also wiped out. Out of the 7 trays there, there was nothing left! only some siew mai skin sticking to the plate. I then headed to the egg station and only 1 person cooking with 10 people in the queue. The porridge area was also empty. It was indeed shocking! There was a queue forming at the main area waiting for food to top up and guess what it was moving at such a slow pace that i saw many patrons giving up and decided to forgo breakfast. I decided to give up breakfast too as children were getting impatient.

On the 2nd day, we decided to try again and this time, it was much better. Food was being top up rapidly. Breakfast was at least enjoyable on the 2nd day.

The rooms are clean and bed is very comfortable.

For those without a car in Melaka, my advice is this hotel is not for you as it is very far from major area like Jonker Walk (20mins walk), Jusco Aeon (20mins walk) Dataran Pahlawan (30mins walk).

The only food available in this area is a run down food court(3mins walk) and Macs (5mins walk).

i would consider staying here again only if i hear positive feedback especially on wi-fi and its breakfast.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shashakings, Business Development Executive at Kings Green Hotel, responded to this review, June 25, 2014
Dear Mr Dominic,

Greetings from Kings Green Hotel City Centre Melaka !

We would like to thank you for taking the time to send us your constructive feedback.

On behalf of the management and staff of Kings Green Hotel City Centre Melaka, we would like to apologise for the unsatisfactory experience.

Please be rest assured we have looked into your feedback and we are working to improve the service for the betterment.

Thank you for staying at the Kings Green Hotel City Centre Melaka and we looked forward to welcoming you back in the future.


Best Regards,
Punisha
Business Development Executive
Kings Green Hotel City Centre Melaka
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kings Green Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kings Green Hotel

Address: No. 28 Jalan Tun Perak, Melaka 75300, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Melaka State > Central Melaka District > Melaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 150 Hotels in Melaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Kings Green Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 151
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The eight-story building boasts 151 well-appointed rooms, with rooms ranging from standard to the premier suite. Furnishing and amenities are meticulously selected and custom-made to bring you the exclusive boutique feel. A one-stop center, the hotel caters for business and leisure travelers alike with its business and banqueting facilities that is able to accommodate up to 800 paxs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Kings Green Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kings Green Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.