We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Value. Spacious Room. New Facilities. Slightly Inaccessible.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kings Green Hotel

Save Saved
You added Kings Green Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Kings Green Hotel
No. 28 Jalan Tun Perak, Melaka 75300, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 144 hotels in Melaka
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
210 reviews 210 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
122 helpful votes 122 helpful votes
“Excellent Value. Spacious Room. New Facilities. Slightly Inaccessible.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

I had a nice, enjoyable and pretty good value stay at Kings Green Hotel on Good Friday 2014.

Check in time was at 330pm. I came in on long-distance bus from Singapore and found myself at Melaka Sentral. From the bus terminal, it's about a 15 - 20 minutes walk to the hotel, past Tesco building and Aeon Shopping Mall. It's a little bit of dilemma for myself as I was contemplating whether to take a taxi (which would cost a fixed price of RM20), or walk to the hotel by foot. On hindsight, i was told by a local that taking a bus (for RM1) from Melaka Sentral would have been wise.

On arrival, the building was pretty crowded. It seems that lots of people (mostly Singaporeans & Malaysians) have heard of this good value hotel located at Melaka. Check-in was pretty quick and there was the routine RM150 security deposit to be placed, which could either be done by credit card hold or by cash. Within 5 minutes, i have completed by registration and received a single card to my room on the 5th level.

Overall, the room was pretty spacious, with all the necessary basic facilities as expected of a hotel. Didn't encounter any difficulty with any of the in-room equipment, which can largely be attributed to the hotel being so new (opened in Dec 2013). The view from the hotel room was a little disappointing though, which fortunately i didn't pay additional for a room with balcony.

Another positive would be the pillows and an additional single bed in the room (although i requested for only a double bed). The pillows were of pretty decent quality, and my sleep was one of the best i had in a hotel. Room wall was pretty thin though, i could hear noises along the corridor whenever people passed by.

Breakfast buffet starts from 7-10, although i think it extends till 1030. Food was decent with slight international selection, complemented with chinese and malay cuisine. The nasi lemak (coconut rice) was one of the best i have ever eaten. The dining area was pretty queezy though and the service (i.e. clearing of food and the food counter) was pretty slow. But i guess that can't be help given that the breakfast hour was only within the 3 hour duration and they have to cater to all the guests staying in the hotel.

One final pointer was taking a cab to the city area (i.e. joker street, dutch square or mahkota parade). You can request for the receptionist to call a call for you. It will cost RM 20. (PS: RM20 is the exact same rate u will get on the street. While it may seem like a rip-off, but trust me, even when i do speak a little basic malay, i was not able to negotiate a lower price with the taxi drivers.) Your best bet would be to accept it, and inform the reception to get your taxi 20 minutes prior to your departure. Flagging for taxi on the street outside would be next to impossible.

An alternative way would be to get a map at the reception and do a 15-20 min walk to jonkers street OR take a bus to Melaka Sentral (almost all bus heading towards the direction of Aeon Shopping Mall at RM1), followed by taking a bus from Melaka Sentral to the city centre (at RM2).

When returning on a cab, tell the cab driver either Gajah OR Soon Seng Plaza if he doesn't know king's green hotel.

Definitely recommend this hotel to travelers looking for a good deal. By the way, as a point of reference, on a Good Friday, I paid RM202 for a 1 night standard room stay.

Room Tip: Pick the corner rooms as the walls are rather thin.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    4
    12
    9
    1
    0
See reviews for
14
3
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Subang Jaya, Malaysia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014

Room are nice. Staff are okay, helpful butk a little touch of smile would be even better. New hotel so furniture and etc are awesome and are modern and futurustic at best. I am really satisfied with it

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johor Bahru, Johor, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2014

Stayed here recently for one night with 2 other pax. It was easy to find. Easy parking. Warm reception and efficient. Booked a deluxe with the balcony. It was really spacious and more than enough room for 3 adults. Big and clean toilet. I love the balcony concept, though it could do with a bigger table.. just a suggestion for management. I love how the central air cond stays on despite taking off the key card, keeps the room cool when i get back from a humid and hot environment outside.

Breakfast starts at 7am (a little too late perhaps, in case i have a meeting to get to by 7:30am) and ends at 10am (a little too early, if i chose to have a lazy sunday and sleep in a little) but good food and just enough varieties to keep your taste buds satisfied.

Location wise, a little away from town but easy access if you know the smaller roads. Price range is pretty affordable if you're looking at mid-range class. All in all a good stay and will definitely recommend to others planning to look for a stay in melaka.

Room Tip: Deluxe rooms with balcony have a nice touch to them.. if your into that sort of thing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Putrajaya, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

It's a new hotel with affordable rate during the weekend. Small room, but good enough for us. The view is not impressive but the finishing and furniture is perfect. Breakfast was awesome with a lot of choices. Small swimming pool for my kids and they loved it. Might be coming back if the rates are still the same

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shah Alam, Malaysia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

It's a new hotel, was opened at the end of 2013 an just a block away from avillion legacy hotel. The ambiance was good and the room was great with a simple decor. The only problem was the air conditioning control panel too easily went wrong and need a reboot by technician, and I've waited for almost 30 minutes for him to come. My advice is to set the temperature to your desire once and just leave it alone, don't ever try to figure it out. Breakfast was wonderful and delicious, except for omelette with a very long queue. They need 2 station for the omelette. They have a nice pool, and a lot of open air seats to hang around along the way to the pool, which i find it very attractive to have.
Reception needs a better record as i booked and paid through their websites, yet they swipe my credit card once more during the check out for a double payment. They did void the payment but it's not convenience to do that to an already paid guest. I would love stay here again for the next visit..

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kings Green Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kings Green Hotel

Address: No. 28 Jalan Tun Perak, Melaka 75300, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Melaka State > Central Melaka District > Melaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 144 hotels in Melaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The eight-story building boasts 151 well-appointed rooms, with rooms ranging from standard to the premier suite. Furnishing and amenities are meticulously selected and custom-made to bring you the exclusive boutique feel. A one-stop center, the hotel caters for business and leisure travelers alike with its business and banqueting facilities that is able to accommodate up to 800 paxs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Kings Green Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kings Green Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.