We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good quality budget hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of AL-33 Hotel Melaka

Save Saved
You added AL-33 Hotel Melaka to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
AL-33 Hotel Melaka
83 - 85 Jalan KL 3 / 8, Melaka 75200, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 144 hotels in Melaka
Sydney
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Good quality budget hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

When I first arrived at the hotel, I was hot, dusty and thoroughly miserable but I have no one to blame but myself for not investigating thoroughly the whereabout of this hotel and that it is serviced by bus 17 which will drop you off almost right infront of it's door.

I then moaned that it was too far to Jonker Walk but after awhile, I started appreciating the location of this place. The walk to Jonker is pleasant, a gentle 15 to 20 minutes stroll. Along the way, you get to check out the neighbourhood. What I gradually came to appreciate is the fact that not only is it away from the main touristy area, but you get to eat great nonya food at local prices, and not tourist price. True, the standard room is a bit cramped but hey, what do you expect for the asking price! If you want spaciousness, pay for an upgrade. If you want luxury, go and check in at the 4star hotels. Honestly, some of the reviewers here are so unreasonable, they want five star service but can only afford to shell out one star price.

"A Holding Cell"! I bet you were too mean to pay for an upgrade and too cheap to check into 4 star hotels. I thoroughly recommend this place and would definitely stay here when I return to Malacca. Remember to check out the neighbouring kopitiam for some delicious tucker and nonya food. Speak to the staff if you want to eat some fine Malaysian food and stay away from the restaurants in Jonker Walk. The best nonya food is definitely not from there.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room. I stayed in 106 and it is perfectly fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    9
    7
    3
    2
    1
See reviews for
3
7
5
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014 via mobile

It is a shop lots budget hotel. The room is a bit small but it would be not a problem of you ate looking for a place just to rest and sleep. It is near to city center but you would need a car to access to jonker walk. Room cleanliness is satisfactory but sounf proofing is a bit lacking. You would get disturbed of your neighbouring rooms' residents are not considerate type of people.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014 via mobile

I stayed for one night but no more. Hotel very noisy... I couldn't sleep the whole night because people were very noisy to get their rooms.
And we spent the most expensive room because no normal room available to end in a small one without window.
The location is too far from city center.
Not the best place to stay in Malacca.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

Upon checking in, I was taken in by the simplicity and the sparse amenities the room has, perfect for over-the-weekend staycation. If you intend to check in, drop your luggage and do not intend to stay in the room very much, and only need it for sleeping then I think this arrangement would meet your need to a T. However, if you need to chill in the room, read and just while your time away, then I suggest you should book either Family Room or other larger rooms with window. Superior Twin Room is just a square without any window. The room was awfully tiny and it feels like a holding cell.

It doesn’t have a safe too, so you need to lug most of your valuables with you. And, you should already know by now that Malaysia is not necessarily the safest place on earth.

Location is not too bad, however, if you are walking back to the hotel late at night, it can be a little creepy, it’s rather dark and quiet. Other than that, it’s quite a good respite from the buzz. It has got convenience store a few doors away, a lot of coffee shops and restaurant. So, you will never go hungry. The coffees shops usually open into the night…so if you need a bite in the ungodly hours, be sure, you will never go hungry.

Also, the hotel provides bottled waters every day, and there’s a dispenser on the ground floor where you can get hot waters and the like. Like I said, this is purely for nomads.

I wouldn’t say I love this hotel very much, neither do I hate it a lot. It’s just a different concept from the hotels/hostels that I am used to. My only grouse though is the thin wall between the room and corridor. So if anyone trampled outside, it echoes through the room. If you are a light sleeper, bring a pair of ear plugs. Otherwise, be ready to be awaken every few mins/hours some walks outside your room or up and down the stairs. Or worst, talk outside your room!

Room Tip: Bring a pair of ear plugs if you are a light sleeper.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan, Malaysia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

Beds were comfortable; I liked the glow-in-the-dark aircon remote buttons a lot. The room itself smelled musty, but was clean. Our rooms were on the ground floor, so we heard quite a few loud conversations. (Wish I could rate travelers who slam doors.) Staff were friendly and accommodating. Complimentary refreshments in the lobby are a plus. The hotel is about 10 minutes' drive from the Jonker Street area, but you can also walk because the sidewalks are in good shape. Otherwise, hungry travelers can visit the coffeeshop/kopitiam up the road, or the Thai restaurant on the same block as the coffeeshop.

Room Tip: Rooms on higher floors would be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandalay, Myanmar
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

We stayed here during our stay in Melaka and were very happy. The rooms are very clean, and practically brand new with a modern design. Price /quality it is excellent, especially for tight budget looking for comfort. You can walk as well as bike to the center, and very good Japanese restaurant nearby. Highly recommend and would go back.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

for the price, it is everything that we wish for. clean and nice. the service was great. just 15 minutes walk to the Jonker Street. However, it is not close to Mahkota Medical Center if you're coming to Melaka for medical reason. Will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to AL-33 Hotel Melaka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AL-33 Hotel Melaka

Address: 83 - 85 Jalan KL 3 / 8, Melaka 75200, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Melaka State > Central Melaka District > Melaka
Amenities:
Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 144 hotels in Melaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your AL-33 Hotel Melaka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage AL-33 Hotel Melaka, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.