We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“never and I really mean never again” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Water City Resort

Water City Resort
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Melaka
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Water City Resort
Save
You added Water City Resort to your Saves list
Mukim Katil | Dearah Melaka Tunggal, Melaka, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #101 of 155 Hotels in Melaka
singapore
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“never and I really mean never again”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2008

rosy brochures and promises of big things during promotional fair in Singapore - but the hotel was a real disappointment - lousy check in - rooms not ready till late so had to go to town for lunch and then come back - facilities well below par - car park not properly maintained - big potholes at parking areas that can damage tyres- when ask for one extra towel - sorry no have - ask for extra pillow - sorry no have - view from room - disappointing - nil proper restaurant and need to really drive into city for some good makan.- in fact next to hotel nothing at all- rooms not tidy and claen and bed somewhat pungent - not a good resort as promised in brochure

Next year - same fair so bought vouchers again - promised that new management has much improved things - same wala wala different bull - nothing has improved instead looks like gone backwards - should be shut down until all facilities fixed otherwise give malacca a bad name

Stayed August 2004
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

11 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    0
    0
    0
    3
    8
See reviews for
5
2
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    2 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    1.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    1.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    1.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    1 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2008

went with the school for a trip there.
our group have about 210+ students.
Arrived at the lobby,i was thinking where's the lobby when i saw a counter in the middle with flies flying all around it....
I stayed in an apartment with 5 classmates.
The kitchen was full of coakroaches,everyday have coakroaches.
I find the bed ok generally everything was quite alright but have some problems such as toilet bowls chocked,no fire in kitchen,some lights spoiled.Biggest problem is cleanliness problem.

  • Liked — Air Con Very Cold
  • Disliked — Cleanliness
  • Stayed May 2008
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2008

its a resort that selfproclaimed 5 stars but all the facilities are not maintained and the service is not even quarter star! dusty blankets, hole in the ceiling, mosquitoes, smelly water.

pictures in myblog

http://sapperx.blogspot.com/2008/04/sun-date-7-apr-2008-traveled-down-to.html

  • Liked — Nothing!
  • Disliked — Everything!
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2007

My family which consists of 9 adults and 10 children had a nightmare staying in his resort last Nov. We were caught in a total blackout, causing us to climb up 7 storey high to our rooms, and suffocate in the rooms without aircon or fan. As a result, we had to sleep in the dark and the windows had to be wide opened to allow the night breeze to enter so that we will not sleep in a 'sauna'. To our disgust, we couldnt sleep as mosquitoes attacked us throughout the night. My children, especially my baby, was babdly bitten. My little angel had over 30 mosquito bites all over her body (yes, we actually counted the number of bites on her face and body!!). When we brought her out the next day, some pple tought she had chicken pock cos her face was full of red dots! I understand t the hotel is facing major financial problems, but shouldnt the website be shut down?! No one should ever step your foot into this resort until the management's problem is solved.

  • Liked — Nothing at all!
  • Disliked — Nothing at all!!
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JB
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2007

we have booked this hotel for our church family camp (3days 2nights)many months ago and initial payment for RM8000 was made.

to our great shock, on 2/6/07, when we arrived melaka from johor bahru ,we were told by the hotel management that the hotel was "overbooked" and we had to return to Jb on the same day.

the hotel verbally agreed to pay our loss for Rm13,200.00 till now we have yet to receive.

fortunately, on that day, we managed to contact Melaka Chief Minister to express our disappointment over this incident. He sent 2 exco to help us and we were advised to lodge a police report.

there were 1000 people were denied of rooms on 2/6/2006.

subsequently, the Gov of Melaka has suspended this resort till it clears all its debts.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — service,food ect
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brunei
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2007

My husband and I stayed in this hotel for as long as it took for the taxi we arrived in to turn round and get us out of there. The building, corridors, apartment were filthy. The pool water was not fit for ducks never mind people but i'm sure the ducks would appreciate the chips floating around in it. We didn't stay long enough to check the beds but judging by the state of the staff uniforms, I can only assume they were as dirty.
Save your money, there are plenty of quality hotels in Melaka and we returned to the one we checked out of only an hour earlier somewhat relieved that they could accommodate us.

  • Liked — Nothing
  • Disliked — everything
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2007

My family was booked to stay at Melaka Water City Resort from 16 - 18 March 2007 but only stayed one night. I totally agree with Perry Tan - totally overated. The 2 bedroom suite we were checked into was filty and ants crawling all over. I had to call for housekeeping and he probably mop the floor with vinegar to get rid of the ants..chezz smells like hell after he left... and I had to mop it again with the toilet floor mat. The bedsheets looks like it has not been changed but just tidied up coz there was hair on the sheets and dirty with stains. This will be my first experince there and it will be definately the last. The next day we moved to Melaka Everly Resort which gave us a totally cleaner room and a proper beach.

  • Liked — Spacious room
  • Disliked — Not well kept
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Water City Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Water City Resort

Address: Mukim Katil | Dearah Melaka Tunggal, Melaka, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Melaka State > Central Melaka District > Melaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Melaka
Number of rooms: 18
Also Known As:
Water City Hotel Melaka

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Water City Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.