We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good budget hotel & good location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Selectstar Hotel

Save Saved
You added Selectstar Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Selectstar Hotel
303, Jalan Gajah Berang, Melaka 75200 , Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 144 hotels in Melaka
Johor Bahru, Malaysia
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“good budget hotel & good location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This hotel is clean and well maintained. Free wifi in all rooms. The location is very good, KCF and food stalls just around the corner (i think that's why no catering service is provided inside hotel). Friendly staffs as well. Recommended for low cost traveller.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    3
    14
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
7
9
1
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Tawau, Malaysia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

My family stayed in Hotel Selectstar from 6th June to 12 June 2014. I booked directly with the Hotel via telephone without deposit, upon arrival we have no problem checking-in. The hotel is old but it is well maintained and managed, the hotel staff is helpful, responsive and friendly. I were impressed with the cleanliness of the hotel room. It is about 30 mins walk to Jonker Street where the main tourist attractions are located or 10-15 mins if you go by taxi (RM15 - RM20 per trip to most places). The hotel room corridor is covered by CCTV. This hotel exceeded our expectation. Basic facilities but value for money with good hotel management. Not within normal walking distance to tourist attractions. No problem finding food around the hotel...hawkers, coffee shops, KFC, Mcdonald...etc. This hotel has car parks.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014

A very nice place to stay...everything in our room is working just fine.. water heater..air conditioning... tv..lighting..
Clean and comfy..
Parking space available...
Nearby to lots of food stalls..
Kfc located just opposite... also 7eleven right next to it..
Nearby jonker walk area..
A definite return for us next time..

Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

Stayed at this hotel for just one night, on my trip to Melacca... Very very basic, and gives you exactly what they promise. Clean room, a good bed and a nice bathroom with running hot water. 2 bottles of water come in free as part of the room price.
A standard 2 star property, situated in a brilliant location... just a 5 minute ride to the famous Jonker street, or a 10-15 minute walk, depending on how fast you walk ;)
The hotel does not have a restaurant, but there's a KFC open 24X7 just across the street (you can see it from the reception). Also, a number of street food options also in the same alley. Also, no swimming pool in the hotel...
Overall, a very good option for the budget traveller, or for an unplanned one (like us!)

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

Chose this in a rush.its a long way from the unesco old town .taxi ride seems to be 15 rm for most journeys.it seems more like a cheap business hotel .staff are helpful but the place is a little shabby but for the money represents reasonable value as our room had ac tv and en suite.hotel is right on a busy road and there does appear to be some bag theft in the area so taxis better at night.If you want low budget but with some inconvenience ...fine.if your main plan is to visit the old town taxi fares will soon mount up so would suggest you get closer to honkers road.

Room Tip: Back of hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

Had gone to Melaka & stayed at Selectstar for my birthday weekend in Dec 2012. Had booked this hotel at the last minute.

Rooms are spacious & clean. Bathroom is clean, decent sized, with good, non-leaky fixtures. Beds are very comfortable. But room came without breakfast. Staff is helpful, comfortable with English & lent us umbrellas for our 2-days there without any fuss.

The hotel is behind the Jonker street / old city & about a 10-minute walk from the Heritage area. The walk from the hotel to the Heritage area is very nice as it passes through an old Hindu settlement & you can explore a few very pretty, non-touristy temples as you walk. The area is quiet as well so that you can sleep in peace.

For food - there is a supermarket right opposite the hotel. Plenty of local eateries around the hotel as well. My favourite - the vegetarian Chinese restaurant right below the hotel which serves finger-smackingly-good food!!

I would stay here again without a hitch.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012 via mobile


Its too late to continue our journey back to KL. BY USING TRIPADVISOR, we found this hotel within 5 minutes. 

Since this is an unplanned stay we keep our budget low. Our expectation towards the hotel as well.

To our surprise,  Selectstar hotel- as many recommended in this site- is a nice and clean place to stay in. 

Staff are very polite. 
Registration is simple and fast.
Car can park outside hotel. 

Highly recommend for low budget travelers and for those who just look for a nite stay. 

The hotel truly knows what business they are into and serving the right customers right.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Selectstar Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Selectstar Hotel

Address: 303, Jalan Gajah Berang, Melaka 75200 , Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Melaka State > Central Melaka District > Melaka
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 144 hotels in Melaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Selectstar Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Selectstar Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.