We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service, great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Heeren House

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Melaka
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Heeren House
Save
You added Heeren House to your Saves list
1 Jalan Tun Tan Cheng Lock, Melaka 75200, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 153 Hotels in Melaka
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great service, great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2009

Small boutique hotel, run by Bernard and Liz Tan. Very friendly hosts good accommodation.
Dining room open only for breakfast but the latter was quite satisfactory and more than sufficient. Due to popularity we had left our bookings until almost too late and could not secure one of the better rooms but the 2 rooms that we occupied during our stay, while small, were clean and comfortable.
Heeren House is very central to the old town sites and streets.
I have no hesitation in recommending this establishment. Book early!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    74
    28
    17
    7
See reviews for
32
85
14
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
74 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
216 helpful votes 216 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2009

Heeren House is a very quaint little Guest House in the heart of Malacca and right on the bank of the river. The owners Liz and Bernard are a very welcoming couple and made our stay very enjoyable. The Guest House only has 6 rooms each different but all comfortable and clean. Our room was a twin as no doubles were available and in addition to the beds we had a wardrobe, a towel rack, chair, small dresser and a luggage rack. There is a small TV on a shelf but there are only a few local channels available. We didn’t use it. Complimentary tea and coffee facilities were provided. The shower room / toilet was also nice and clean and the shower was of an electric type. Certainly not a power shower but adequate for our needs. A dispenser was on the wall in the shower cubicle with shower wash and shampoo.

Should you stay out until late there is a night member of staff who lets you in and bottled water was also for sale as none is provided free of charge in the room.

Breakfast was excellent and freshly prepared to order. Orange juice and tea or coffee, fresh fruit, breads and spreads and from the kitchen a choice of either fried or scrambled egg with tomato, chicken sausage, beans and hash brown. The small dining area is on the ground floor of the house which also lends itself to the reception desk and an antique / curiosity shop. During the day the dining area is open to the public for some local specialties which sounded lovely on the menu.

For the price of RM159 per night B&B it is no wonder that securing a reservation at the Heeren House can be difficult. We would certainly recommend that you try though as it is a gem of a place in a very historical town.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chiang Mai, Kingdom of Thailand
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2009

Heeren House, Malacca, Malaysia
Night photo is from room Number Two. Large room, clean, canopy bed, Western breakfast so big you don’t need lunch, excellent service, Liz & Bernard own and operate it during the day. But their night man’s advice made our trip. He’s a wise man with one eye who could star in any blockbuster adventure movie. He nodded, “See Qamar at Pak Putra”. We did. A terrific evening was had. It was the highlight of our stay. Malacca sometimes Melaka is a modern commercial almost industrial city. A small part of it is advertised as historic. That part is ever shrinking as the huge Chinese population absorbs everything in the path of its urban sprawl. Cab ride from KUL costs 138 Ringgits when you buy a government controlled taxi coupon. They use natural gas not petrol. Gasoline powered taxi return cost was 180 Ringgits. As the cab drove further and further into the city, I suspected there was no historic part at all. Things were far different from what we expected. Even our room: no TV, no refrig, no fan, no cyber café, no tuk tuks, no songthaews, only one truly ethnic restaurant within walking distance, no exploring ruins or caves. Their Night Market is less than half the size of Chiang Mai’s Sunday Night Market. Malacca’s market is a large collection of low level toys and souvenirs mass produced from China. But we enjoyed a beautiful ride on the river as it serpentined through the city. If circumstances find you in Malacca, you will not stay in a better room than Number Two at the Heeren House.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malaysia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2009

The best thing about this place is its location. Right next to the river, it is right between Jonkers on one side and the historic sites (Stadhuys etc) on another. The room, although basic, is clean and comfortable. Breakfast was alright ... the standard fare that you'll find in most B&B. Parking (public) is available behind the B&B.
If you plan to explore the city on foot, you can't beat its location. The best value for money place I find. Comfortable room (not luxurious) with a location that is hard to beat.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Croissy-sur-Seine, France
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2009

Again - we reserved HH from LP recommendations (and you do need to reserve) and were not disappointed. The only disappointment would be the bathroom level. Otherwise, it has some real colonial charm, a semi-four poster bed (in our room) and is located really well - half way between the two halves right on the river. Would stay there again and recommend.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2009

Liz and Bernard Tam run the delightful Heeren House on the canals of Melaka right in Chinatown. A roomy family room is availabe with 4 beds and english breakfast is included in the price. the coffee is great and their coffee shop provides such non-malaysian delights as scones for afternoon tea!!

The location is great. you can walk to most attractions which is really pleasant if you've had to endure the traffic in other parts of Malaysia such as KL. Liz and Bernard are charming and helpful and know the area well. Melaka is moving from a sleepy village into a high energy tourist node and this does present some conflict at time. on weekends the place is swarming with cars and buses from KL and SIngapore. And rickshaw drivers have an unfortunate tendency to drive around blaring their music at all hours.

However Heeren House is lovely. small and friendly. wonderful furnishings in the room. No cable television only local channels but they do provide a DVD player and selection of family movies to keep your kids happy in the evenings. Heeren House is a favourite with european and caucasian travellers. we were not the only family staying with a small child. the canal is a pleasant if sometimes smelly place to wander up and down with much work being done on the promenades on either side. various restaurants offer river seating so you can enjoy a cold Tiger beer in the evening and enjoy the breeze whilst watching the quite enormous lizards roaming around the canals murky waterways.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2009

One cannot fault the location of the Heeren House. The hotel is a few minutes walk from all Melaka's major attractions. The view over the river is a plus.

The hotel itself is clean and reasonably comfortable. Rooms are basic but functional. For example, there are no curtains, but the hotel has shutters. The bed is a bit short and in a frame, so tall people must sleep somewhat diagonally or hang your feet between the posts of the frame. There is no fridge in the room, but one can use the hotel fridge in reception. There is a TV (we didn't use it). Lighting is adequate. Bathing facilities are dated but usable. Breakfast is good - a form of English breakfast cooked to order. WiFi works during the day, but is turned off at night. The hoteliers (I believe they are the owners) are pleasant people.

Given that one can see most of Melaka in a day, this hotel is ideal. You aren't there long enough for the 'basicness' to become old. I would definitely stay at the Heeren House again.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Heeren House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heeren House

Address: 1 Jalan Tun Tan Cheng Lock, Melaka 75200, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Melaka State > Central Melaka District > Melaka
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 153 Hotels in Melaka
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Heeren House Hotel Melaka
Heeren Hotel Melaka

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Heeren House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.