We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for what we needed” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Heeren House

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Melaka
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Heeren House
Save Saved
You added Heeren House to your Saves list
1 Jalan Tun Tan Cheng Lock, Melaka 75200, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 146 Hotels in Melaka
London UK
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Perfect for what we needed”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

The smallish guest house is perfectly located in central Melaka and does a good (English!) breakfast plus fab sarnies for your onward journey. You can easily walk to all central attractions and the hostess is extremely knowledgeable and friendly. The shower areas in the rooms could probably do with a bit of a refurb but its basically clean and comfortable.

Room Tip: We were in a room right on the side road near the river. No problems with noise though even though i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    71
    24
    14
    7
See reviews for
31
80
13
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pocatello
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

I understand the mixed reviews on this hotel. The owners are very personable. The location, in the old district, is excellent. All hotel areas, except the shower, were clean. As to the shower, it was in need of bleach, to kill the mildew, and some work on the door and plumbing. The room was quite large, because it was the "family" room. The others, I glanced into, looked quite small. The breakfast was poor. We have learned not to expect much, for a continental breakfast in Malaysia, but this still was below average. As an example, the "sausage" was an over microwaved hot dog, and the coffee had been sitting on the hot plate too long. I might add, you need an up to date GPS, or taxi, to find this place. In my opinion, its quaintness just does not off set the drawbacks.

Room Tip: If you stay here, really consider the family room, for the spaciousness.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

The Heeren is a charming example of old town Melaka heritage buildings. The wooden furnishings and interior have been kept in great condition. The owners have a passion for their towns heritage and have great tips for places to see and of course dining suggestions. This was a last minute walk in pick and what an excellent choice it was.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013 via mobile

Travelling with my 7 year old daughter, she refused to use the shower because it looked awful, lots of silicone gap filler and lots of mould. Then in the morning I spotted a bed bug right where she's been sleeping, in the middle of the bed, and we both had bites that were suddenly explained. I've never seen or experienced them before so was pretty horrified. Malacca itself was great - nice food, a little river cruise, fun riding in a trishaw. And the staff at Heeren House were lovely - just a shame about the bedbugs.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fremantle
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

I stayed here in 2007 (I realise thats a few years ago now) and really enjoyed my stay. The rooms are basic, clean and comfortable. I wouldn't put it in the "boutique hotel" category, but they do everything very well. The owners were lovely and very helpful and the little cafe area at the front is a nice spot to relax. From memory the bathrooms were pretty basic, but the price of the room was very reasonable and the location is probably the best aspect of this hotel. Right in the heart of town and close to all the beautiful little streets lined with traditional shop houses. Thoroughly recommend a vist to Charles Cham's gallery too. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

The Heeren House is in a great location. We took the local bus from the bus station and got off at Stadhuis. It was only a 5 minute walk to the hotel from the bus stop. The room was nice with a firm bed, but the bathroom was dated. The shower section is very old and the toilet did not flush properly. Internet is available in the common room but it is quite slow. The breakfast was fine. All major attractions in Malacca are within walking distance from the hotel.

Room Tip: All rooms seem to be of the same standard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Volgograd, Russia
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
322 helpful votes 322 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

Heeren House is a boutique mini-hotel in the heart of the old town. The location of the hotel is perfect; you reach Jonker Street after a 2 minute walk.

Heeren House is a heritage building that has undergone many changes over the years. From being a warehouse to a typical Chinese coffee shop and family home… With just six rooms all overlooking the river, the Heeren House makes for a memorable stay in Melaka. Since Heeren House is so small, you'll quickly get to know the staff who provide personalized service and will cook you a full English breakfast in the morning.

We stayed in the Family room (named “Laksamana”) with a double bed & two single beds (full river view) for one night (Check in 21 July 2012) and paid RM230.00 nett. Rates included breakfast for three adults. Our room was spacious, thoughtfully decorated with Peranakan antiques and colonial furniture like canopied beds though unfortunately they're not always that comfortable for sleeping. But we really loved how the place was decorated. All rooms are air-conditioned with en-suite bathrooms and tea/coffee making facilities.

Cafe and craftshop are downstairs. The service was perfect and morning breakfast is absolutely delicious! I think, best English breakfast in town…

P.S. The “Laksamana” is a position within the armed forces, similar to the position of admiral in Malay sultanates. The Laksamana in the Malacca Sultanate was in charge for the sea security of the Sultanate, and most importantly, the China-India trade route within the Straits of Malacca.

Room Tip: Ask for Family room with a double bed & two single beds (full river view).
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Heeren House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heeren House

Address: 1 Jalan Tun Tan Cheng Lock, Melaka 75200, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Melaka State > Central Melaka District > Melaka
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Melaka
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Heeren House Hotel Melaka
Heeren Hotel Melaka

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Heeren House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.