We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good staffs, but property worn out” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Sentral Riverview Melaka

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Sentral Riverview Melaka to your Saves list
Hotel Sentral Riverview Melaka
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No. 177 Jalan Tun Ali, Melaka 75300, Malaysia (Formerly Naza Talyya Melaka)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #50 of 148 Hotels in Melaka
Kuching
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“good staffs, but property worn out”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2013

checked in for 3 days 2 nights just to visit my parents in melaka. due to high season, most of other good hotels are not available or too expensive at absurd price. naza offered good price for the room. the location is also good, which is just near to aeon n tesco. bus station is about less than 5 km away. next to it there is an old shopping complex but functional with fast food facilities.

checked in was good and fast. to my suprise, they still use old fashioned room key. i checked in alone, but my room was twin room. asked for replacement they said superior room only have twin bed! it was a bit funny as i am force to see an empty bed next to me.

as for the room, a bit shameful. the room size was big, but the air conditioning was not that good. there is no view as the window opened to the middle of the hotel. the toilet not that clean. the towels are off white. on my first day, it smells musty. the corridor leading to the room - multiple stains. there r rooms that ordered room service, they left the leftover food outside and was not collected till evening.

the only thing good about this hotel is the staffs. they r helpful.

so please, naza talya upgrade your properties. will not come back here, unless u take serious effort to upgrade your property on par with others.

Room Tip: please avoid single or superior room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    18
    33
    8
    12
See reviews for
29
11
5
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2013

We booked a Family Suite to accommodate 7 of us. The room is very spacious & comfortable. The room are provided with a single & queen bed. There are 2 long sofas near the window. Free wifi is only provided at 24hr a day once login.
The hotel is located 15 mins drive to the city but there is a shopping mall called the Store beside the hotel. You can find McDonald, Giant store & etc.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013

A last minute decision to visit Melaka left us with hardly any hotel choices as we needed 5 rooms. Naza was the only one available. The rooms were a decent size & reasonably clean. Our basin was leaking & a call to the operator was all that was needed to get it fixed. She called maintenance for us & the guy was up almost immediately & the problem was fixed in a jiffy.

Breakfast was provided & the variety was adequate with an egg station (only omelettes, no sunny sides up), boiled eggs, noodles, porridge, bread etc. The chicken rendang for the nasi lemak was really yummy & the nasi kemak fragrant. Thumbs up for this brekky item.

Location was not superb but with a car, all the touristy places are near enough. Parking was not a problem in the open air car park behind the hotel.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

I had booked this hotel in advance from direct website, The Hotel is quite far not easily traceable. You can see the Hotel Tall Building but it will be difficult to reach here. We parked the car and reached to reception, there was noone in reception after waiting few min a person appear on the desk without any uniform. I gave my name with my passport but the new untrained staff keep scrolling system for few min and than came with answer " Sir I cant find you in my system" we don't have any room available :-O I showed him my booking details and my bank transaction via my IPHONE but he keep saying it has not reflected in system.

In end the person made few calls between this it was more than one hour we were hanging at reception and other people waiting :-(

after few calls he said yes they have found booking and some one will come to assist me again in few min :-(

My 2 kids were tired, I thought of letting that money go and went to other hotel


Seriously how these guys are running their business ......

The Staff said I wont get my money back and I said with Big smile --> "No problem at least you confirmed money did hit your account"

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

Overall we were pretty pleased with this place.
The rooms are clean, big enough, but nothing amazing. Wifi was not available in the rooms, but in the lobby it was good.There is a nice lobby area to the hotel.
One piece of advice though is not to eat dinner here, really disappointing. Also, its not in the town, a taxi is needed (only around 20RM, so not too bad).

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA, Hew Hampshire
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

The hotel is located a bit off the center of the city but still at walking distance to Jonker (10 minute relaxed walk) and downtown. The staff is very friendly and helpful. Rates per night are very reasonable and the rooms are clean, air-conditioned, with TV and free WiFi. If you get non-discounted rate then breakfast is included. The hotel has not much of a view from the budget rooms and we didn't stay there for the room view anyways. Book online for discounted prices as last minute on the spot only offers regular rates. Our room was on 7th, top floor.
The reason i do not give full 5 star is because our room had a residual odor of cigaret smoke (its non-smoking hotel so i don't know how was that possible) and one of the tea mugs was not washed On the other hand, we forgot one mobile charger and when we called back they had it with them for us to pick up later. Thank you for that sincerely. We will definitely stay again there and recommend it.

Room Tip: Book online for discounted prices as last minute on the spot only offers regular rates.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surat, Gujarat, India
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

Was on 2 day vacation to Melaka, but this hotel made me curse and regret my decision of seeing Melaka. This hotel needs an urgent refurbishment.
Pool is terrible, staff isn't courteous, room was stinking and I got it changed after a small quarrel with receptionist, toilet needed a clean up. Breakfast was OK, better avoid having breakfast at the hotel, instead opt for nearby cafes offering great local delicacies like roti canai and sea food.
Good about this hotel is it's location, free wi-fi and approximity to restaurants/cafes/ tesco etc.
All in all - OK for a business or solo leisure traveler but bad for family traveler.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Sentral Riverview Melaka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sentral Riverview Melaka

Address: No. 177 Jalan Tun Ali, Melaka 75300, Malaysia (Formerly Naza Talyya Melaka)
Location: Malaysia > Melaka State > Central Melaka District > Melaka
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #50 of 148 Hotels in Melaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Sentral Riverview Melaka 3*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Description Embracing the weary traveller after a day of exploring the historic sites of Malacca City. Hotel Sentral Riverview, located in the heart of Malacca City. With blend of polished charm rarely seen in hospitality, we offer something for everyone, be it a single traveller or a family of travellers. With our recently upgraded facilities and ample guest room accommodations, there is truly something for everyone. General Information If what you're looking for is a conveniently located hotel in Malacca / Melaka, look no further than Hotel Sentral Riverview Melaka. Only 2.9 km from the city center, the hotel's strategic location ensures that guests can quickly and easily reach many local points of interest. With its convenient location, the hotel offers easy access to the city's must-see destinations. Offering hotel guests superior services and a broad range of amenities, Hotel Sentral Riverview Melaka is committed to ensuring that your stay is as comfortable as possible. To name a few of the hotel's facilities, there are 24-hour front desk, luggage storage, safety deposit boxes, elevator, coffee shop. The ambiance of Hotel Sentral Riverview Melaka is reflected in every guestroom. internet access - wireless (complimentary), internet access - wireless are just some of the facilities at your disposal. Besides, the hotel's host of recreational offerings ensures you have plenty to do during your stay. When you are looking for comfortable and convenient accommodations in Malacca / Melaka, make Hotel Sentral Riverview Melaka your home away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Agoda and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Sentral Riverview Melaka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Naza Hotel Melaka

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Sentral Riverview Melaka, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.