We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location Location Location!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Seri Costa Hotel-Resort

Save Saved
You added Seri Costa Hotel-Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Seri Costa Hotel-Resort
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jl. PM 8, Plaza Mahkota, Melaka 75000, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #41 of 144 Hotels in Melaka
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Location Location Location!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

Hotel is superbly located in the heart of the city center. Within walking distance to shopping mall, bazaar, revolving tower and pahlawan square.

Staff were friendly and room allocated was nice and spacious. Breakfast was simple and nice. Make sure you have a side order of teh tarik...

Avoid rooms facing the main street as the window is not double-glazed. At night can be noisy especially weekends where traffic is busier.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PRSB, Manager at Seri Costa Hotel-Resort, responded to this review, May 1, 2014
Dear Sir/Madam,
Thank you for choosing Seri Costa Hotel. We are delighted to know you appreciate our hotel location and had enjoyed your stay. We are certainly looking forward to receiving you again in the near future.
Have a good day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    16
    22
    13
    15
See reviews for
30
22
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Seoul, Seoul, South Korea
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2014

We stayed over the weekend with family and friends for the second time . We were welcome by the front table staffs who were very warm and friendly . Not to forget the hotel manager , Mr Haridas who has been so helpful and pleasant too . Our room was pleasantly good with all the amenities . There was a small basket of fruits and i would say it's a wonderful room with some lovely scent . Located in the middle of entertainment area in town , it makes everything convenience for us since we're having small kids between 3 - 7 years . Food were amazing too with some variety range such as " nasi lemak with lovely sambal " , fried rice / kuey teow , " lontong " , pasta , porridge , fruits , cereals , various type of salads and local " kuih " . We were really glad that the hotel was surrounded by different kind of restaurants , souvenir shops and also night market . Everything was just in walking distance . With all these awesome experience that really gave us a great memory , we will surely come back again next time . To the hotel manager , Mr Haridas and his dedicated staffs , we thank you for your kindness , warm hearted and great services and wishing you all the best .

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PRSB, Manager at Seri Costa Hotel-Resort, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
Dear Madam,
Thank you for choosing Seri Costa Hotel for your last holiday destination. We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay at the hotel and we truly appreciate your constructive feedbacks. We are definitely looking forward to receiving you again in the near future.
Have a good day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2014

This hotel is a total cheater. The photos that they placed on internet (Agoda) page does not indicate properly which type of hotel room and I already lower my expectation by 50% from the photos and yet they are worst than my expectation.

Input my remarks during booking but hotel didn't complied to it and simply states that they are not informed by Agoda of my special remarks. Ended up the rooms i booked landed up in different floor.

Expecting bath-tub in the room and there isn't any, checked with reception on the bathtub in room says that's costa and didn't make any further explanation leaving us puzzle what is her coasta means, then came to realize is the grading of the room. Feels so cheated to pay such price for nothing, as we wanted the bath-tub therefore we chosen this hotel over others.

Standing shower without shower curtains. Bathroom door creeps when open and close. Sound of re-filling toilet bowl tank was so loud and the water gusting sounds throughout whole night, noises can be heard even bathroom door was closed.

Although they provide free parking for cars but there isn't reserve lots for us. It's outdoor carpark that shares with public and there is no security. Nonetheless, we returned the hotel late in night and there isn't any parking lot except for 1 lot that have the sign "reserved for hotel guest", went in to reception to check out on the parking lot and was rejected claiming the lot was meant for VIP and asked us to find our own lot nearby.

The breakfast were terrible, i named it as kids meal as they only provide Nuggets, Hash brown, Omelette, Nasi Lemak Rice and chill nothing else. They don't even have proper serving of breakfast.

FYI - Wifi only available at lobby only...

Total disappointment to this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PRSB, Manager at Seri Costa Hotel-Resort, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
Dear Madam,
Thank you for choosing Seri Costa Hotel. We apologize for any inconvenience caused. We look into the problems seriously and will rectify the problem very soon.
Have a good day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

Our room was situated at the end corner, while we walk along the corridor to our room, there's a foul stench of smell making me giddy. Inside the room theres ants in the toilet and beside the bed, we requested for an insecticide to spray onto the pests crawling around.

We bought the hotel coupon during travel fair and didn't did any research on it. Lesson learn is tat always check on the TripAdvisor before booking any hotel room.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malaysia
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

This place is a dump.
I stayed one night. The bedside lamp blew up and fused the room. The toilet only flushed if you lifted the cistern lid up !!. All night there appeared to a loud humming noise like a generator from outside. Breakfast is local food that you would find in a shopping mall.
If you want a Hotel in this price range try the Best Western down the road. Large airy room cleaner and the food is much better. More up market then go for the Ramada Inn its just been upgraded the staff want to please.
Only plus side is location but all Malacca hotels are fairly central.
Beware a lot of 2/3* Hotels in Malacca take in Chinese tour groups. You have been warned !!

Room Tip: I can only suggest going somewhere else for a good room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We stayed here two nights.The location is nice but breakfast is not good enough, a room with sheets & pillows are quite old, a hand sprayer in the toilet was broken.
An air conditioning in our room was out of order when we check in the room on afternoon
then we went out for touring the Melaka town but the air conditioning did not fix yet when we come back a room after dining. We complain at the reception then the mechanic boy come to fix it and finished about 9:30pm. I would not recommend this hotel, If the hotel have not renovated.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petaling Jaya, Malaysia
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
131 helpful votes 131 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

Stayed overnight for a wedding nearby. Good value as they had a fasting special for RM120 per night with sahur, so can't go wrong there. So we took two rooms for the family, which was more than ample.
The rooms are adequate for the price that you pay, and glad that it wasn't carpeted (my pet peeve), with decent furniture and TV reception. However, there was just too many things squeezed into the room ie two beds, cupboard, two chairs and a table etc. Also the toilet bath had seen better days, and a goodacid tile wash would do wonders for making it more presentable and hygienic. Also, a stool was squeezed into that tiny space (why?), which makes me think that they have lots of furniture! Less is definitely more. However, for that price, would definitely go back. The sahur breakfast was a great spread and well worth the money. It was relatively safe with a good mix of shops and restaurants nearby. Was equal distance to historical melaka and the Parkson Melaka etc.

Room Tip: Higher floors are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Seri Costa Hotel-Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seri Costa Hotel-Resort

Address: Jl. PM 8, Plaza Mahkota, Melaka 75000, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Melaka State > Central Melaka District > Melaka
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 144 Hotels in Melaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Seri Costa Hotel-Resort 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, HotelsClick, Venere and Otel so you can book your Seri Costa Hotel-Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seri Costa Hotel Melaka

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Seri Costa Hotel-Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.