We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our breakfast sucks big time!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Seri Costa Hotel-Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Seri Costa Hotel-Resort to your Saves list
Seri Costa Hotel-Resort
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jl. PM 8, Plaza Mahkota, Melaka 75000, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #46 of 152 Hotels in Melaka
Subang Jaya, Malaysia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Our breakfast sucks big time!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

Stayed on Aug 4 2013. Just for one night. We took the quad sharing family room.

Overall check in, room, etc was satisfactory though room smelled musty and bathroom need to be upgraded. I think our room was refurbished before. There was even a welcome note from the hotel manager, a Mr Haridas.

What I want to highlight is our dissatisfaction with breakfast. The receptionist told us breakfast was till 10am. So we all trooped down around 9.10am. The whole cafe was deserted with lights switched off. OK, pretty understandable because it was the month of Ramadan. We passed the reception which was just next to be cafe. Nobody bothered with us! We had to seek and asked a staff to assist us as the toasters were switched off and all the food, though covered in their containers were cold. She said she'll get the fire underneath on but she promptly disappeared! There was 4 (I counted) flies walking all over the nasi lemak hard boiled eggs. I told another staff who was busy cleaning to change it. He said ok, took the plate and left it on an inner counter. Later I asked about the eggs, he said they were preparing, 20 mins later, still no eggs. Meanwhile, we had to eat cold kuetiaw and toasts and they can't even be bothered to switch on the lights. Even the coffee/tea was cold and we had to ask for hot ones..again.

Totally disgusted! It's like, they cater only for those who are fasting and we non muslims, even being legitimate guests were disregarded! If you think it's a chore to open the breakfast buffet until 10am, then tell us. You could prepare a simple hot set for all of us..we will be appreciative. Not treat us like we don't exist, not welcomed. Like we came in off the streets begging! I complained loudly within earshot of the reception but you know what? Total deafness! Humph!

My family and I are very reasonable people. We take stock of situation and adjust to the turf but this is too much. I wanted to ask for the manager but my husband said to not bother as we were going to check out anyway. You think I'm gonna recommend this hotel and come back again? Hell, NO!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    17
    25
    16
    16
See reviews for
33
24
3
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Seoul, Seoul, South Korea
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

My first visit with my family to this hotel was a year before when they were under construction. Even though, we've found out that this hotel was really great with their warm welcoming, friendly and helpful staffs...and for that we came back again this time and stayed over the weekend. We were surprised by the changes which was really amazing. It was pleasantly clean, comfortable with the room amenities were good and still affordable. And because it was located strategically in entertainment area and many of historic attractions, it was really convenience as it was just a walking distance from the hotel.

The variety of food that they offered were fabulous...from breakfast to lunch..everything was mouth-watering. Talk about their service, we're really amazed by their friendly and helpful staffs which really make things easier for us. And not to forget, the hotel manager Mr Haridas who was really excellent and humble. He took a time to show us around which was really impressed us so much....thanks Mr. Haridas for ur kindness.

Overall, we've really satisfied and enjoyed our stay here. A great touch to our heart with their dedicated staffs and manager, good service and wonderful place...which are good enough to make us come back again in future....

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kuala lumpur
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

It's been 4 years since my last visit to this hotel. In my last visit, i'm very impressed with the bali-like ambiance in the room. But this time it's totally different when i was checked in to the new block.

Firstly i have to take the elevator to level 2 then i have to go down i level and with the improper signage of rooms number, i've walked until the end of the level before walk back to find the room which is situated in between two rooms.

Secondly the size of the room is about half of the room in the old block. The hardly any spaces for me to pray and the hot water in the shower need to be repair.

Overall, my stay for 3 days is quite ok but still the is a very large room for improvement could be done the rooms in the new building to suit up to the rooms in the old building.

Room Tip: Be sure that you ask for room in the old building because the room in new building is very small a l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cyberjaya, Malaysia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

Stayed there for the weekend with my family. We booked four standard rooms. Upon check-in, we found out that the rooms had no handicap access and Aril, the CSR kindly upgraded one of our rooms to deluxe so that my mother can get to her room easily. I was very impressed. The whole family appreciates the gesture. Thank you.

The standard rooms do not have windows so if you are claustrauphobic then big no-no. However, the deluxe rooms do, and for the rm150++ price it is certainly worth it.

There were stains on the carpets on the 1st and 2nd floor corridor but i was under the impression they are upgrading their facilities. The staff was very helpful and friendly. The restaurant downstairs served good food for dinner and more than enough selection for breakfast buffet.

For the rm98 groupon ticket we bought we were more than happy with our stay at Seri Costa. Would definitely come back if price and service remains the same but will probably get a room with windows this time.

By the way, location is awesome. Right where all the action is in Melaka. A Famosa, Taming Sari and boat ride on the river are only a short walk away. The shopping mall, food stalls and markets are also nearby. And an awesome asam pedas restaurant right round the corner too.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banting, Selangor, Malaysia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

Stayed last week, No reservation has been made. since not in my plan to stay in Melaka
due to some reason i have looking for a room to stay in, Found a budget room with affordable \
price during peak season " CNY" plus breakfast for 2,

2. New room, smallest room without windows - not bad just only for a night stay, room amenities were good so far for 3 * hotels. can be inproved. But rainforest shower soo amazing. I love it sooo much.
Comment : Bathroom shouldnt be with big wall glass, not proper to malaysian culture (Malay) especially when we stay with family & kids. management should think about it. or else put curtain at least can avoid people to see what people doing their business inside the bathroom : ) LOL.

3. TV LCD - but installed on the wall too high! not convininece to watch. picture slightly seen not clear when the tv too high from the eye view.

4. TV channel List - emmm not up to date at all - DISNEY CHNL, but dont have ? STAR MOVIE. But dont have ? herrrrrrrr

5.Receptionist. . just ok & helpfull - Check in process were smooth

6. Parking- Free coupon when you stay in - were good thumbs up
but parking space was not reserved to guest have to share with other public.

7. Love the assense - Serai, can be found at every where in the hotels area

8. Request for phone charger, due to not my expectation to stay in, i not bring along the phone charger- hope hotels staff can help on this, but sad, non from them are using samsung brand & seems like no initiative from them to help me. only can hear the answer " no..we dont have" except the guy whos working on the night shift, he tried to find it from lost & found item it could be have, but unfortunately no..its okey, at least he try.

8. Breakfast spread also not too bad : Served nasi lemak / Kue teow / Nasi goreng & plus condiment fruits, crackers, Sausages . we enjoyed so far :( but sad when we ask for egg scrambler to one of the chef on duty, he said hotel ran out of egg ? haaaaa... no stock? haaaa.
. i dont want to make my day soo lousy, then just said it ok nevermind..TQ

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

I stayed for the weekend at Seri Costa with family and was totally surprised by the changes that has happened to the hotel. We stayed at the hotel a few years back and found it poorly run. We got a renovated family room which was on par with the best 4 star hotels in the country. It was clean, comfortable, contemporary design with enough space to move around. Location within walking distance to Jonkers Walk and the Hard Rock Cafe. Totally convenient. Got to thank the hotel for the free parking ticket on the street. Food quality (we had dinner and breakfast at the restaurant) was consistent and tasty. Go for the mee goreng mamak - it's special. Staff was friendly and helpful without being too intrusive. Even the Hotel Manager, Haridas, was on the floor to greet us and offer help to the sights in Melaka. This man is a gem in a business where even the lowest staff would avoid eye contact with guests (in some places we stayed); he took time to entertain me and family (Thanks Haridas!). Apparently the hotel got a change in owners and now the management is also new. My take on this hotel - it's small enough to be cosy and big enough to feel special. It's unpretentious - clean rooms, good food, friendly staff. What else do you want with that?

Room Tip: Ask for room on the 3rd floor -- a bit pricey but worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan, Malaysia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

We've been to Malaka for a short trip. Upon check -in the staff had give us a parking coupon as the hotel share with a public parking (good thing or else you need to find one as in Melaka they use coupon system for parking). The room has been renovated, all equipment and furniture is new with a LCD screen Tv. The room is a little bit cramp but it doesn't effect us that much cause we don't really need that much space anyway. Breakfast in the hotel is good and there's plenty of selection to choose from. I can say that the breakfast is consider good for a 3 star hotel. Overall we have a nice stay here and will be back to the hotel if we visit Melaka again.

Room Tip: Try to request a newly renovated room upon check in
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Seri Costa Hotel-Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seri Costa Hotel-Resort

Address: Jl. PM 8, Plaza Mahkota, Melaka 75000, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Melaka State > Central Melaka District > Melaka
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 152 Hotels in Melaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Seri Costa Hotel-Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 92
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Agoda, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Seri Costa Hotel-Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seri Costa Hotel Melaka

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Seri Costa Hotel-Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.