We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“There are better out there” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Continental Melaka

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Grand Continental Melaka to your Saves list
Grand Continental Melaka
No 20 Jalan Tun Sri Lanang, Melaka 75100, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #121 of 156 Hotels in Melaka
Malaysia
Level Contributor
470 reviews
131 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 281 helpful votes
“There are better out there”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

This hotel is old, tired & needs to be refurbished. The room is very much the same. The location is not central its inconvenient to get to jonker street or anywhere worth visiting at least. Parking is limited and always an issue here over the weekends & highly likely that you will end up parking on the main road after you return from dinner.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    24
    35
    33
    22
See reviews for
18
20
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Port Douglas, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

you can find, this place is only to be used as a complete last resort.
Cockroaches in the room, based on that I didn't eat here on the two night stay- pre paid unfortunately. The little hawker centre on the motorway side of the hotel was a good place to eat.
On a supposedly non smoking floor people were puffing away furiously in the corridors.
I lost my mobile charger on my trip and had had no problems getting someone to charge my phone but here they were distinctly unhelpful especially a I could see that a phone the same as mine was on a charger at the desk.
The only positive was the dhoby shop almost opposite where I got my laundry done for next to nothing compared to the hotel rates.
do yourself a favour- just dont stay here

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KL
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

Room in very bad condition, pathetic I would said
Run down bathroom and wall tile. The bathtub reglazing enamel had even came off
Found door rubber gasket lying in our room upon check in
The extra pillow in the wardrobe had oily stain on it
Sound proof was bad, can even listen to next door people chatting

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Klosters, Switzerland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

When I reach to this hotel, it's recall me on my previous trip at Damai Desaru Beach Resort. Oh no, i will face one more nightmare?? (My first though). The hotel is old. When the first time im entered the room, i look up to the ceiling. Great, no leakage!! Then I open the fridge, okay not bad. Then i switch on the tv. Not much channel but still better because got astro.
Aircond, so far, for me, it's okay. I have no problem with it. I comfortable with the temperature (for me cold is better). Food, not much choice, but i still can stand on it. At lease we feel like we ate at hotel and not feel like we ate at street stall. I just not satisfy with their swimming pool. Borings and not well maintenance. Just I wonder. Where is my newspaper? Not provided?

Room Tip: Location is strategic. I choose this place because it's nearby town
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

Stayed on this hotel early oct 2012. It's an old hotel, not so far from the dutch square (city main attraction). It was quite cheap for a 3 stars hotel. However the service was pretty bad. They don't have any plug adapters to lend. Staffs were not friendly except for a few ones. Overall it was not satisfying, but quite cheap.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ales, France
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

this hotel is absolutely awful.stayed there for 2 nights in february 2012.dirty,poor equipment.the pictures on the website do not match what the hotel actually is.you think you are going to stay in a great hotel when it s actually the reverse.the actual place is falling apart.the pool was dirty,no sun loungers just a few broken chairs,no towels,cigarette butts in the corridor ,cockroaches.vileplace

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melaka
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

Overall stay was ok other than the fact that this hotel really needs a full make-over.
Staff is friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melaka hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Sentral Melaka
Hotel Sentral Melaka
#43 of 156 in Melaka
3.5 of 5 stars 55 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Majestic Malacca
The Majestic Malacca
#1 of 156 in Melaka
4.5 of 5 stars 962 reviews
0.7 mi away
Jonker Boutique Hotel
Jonker Boutique Hotel
#5 of 156 in Melaka
4.5 of 5 stars 519 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Ramada Plaza Melaka
Ramada Plaza Melaka
#11 of 156 in Melaka
3.5 of 5 stars 601 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Settlement Hotel
The Settlement Hotel
#4 of 156 in Melaka
4.5 of 5 stars 295 reviews
1.0 mi away
Imperial Heritage Melaka
Imperial Heritage Melaka
#27 of 156 in Melaka
3.5 of 5 stars 31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Continental Melaka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Continental Melaka

Address: No 20 Jalan Tun Sri Lanang, Melaka 75100, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Melaka State > Central Melaka District > Melaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#14 Spa Hotel in Melaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We had just completed major room renovations and are proud to present the all new Executive Rooms and the existing refurbished Deluxe and Superior rooms at affordable prices. Newly added facilities are the WIFI services in all rooms & Banquest Halls and rain showers in all Deluxe and Executive rooms. Expect warm and friendly service being rendered by our staff and hoping that you'll have a great holiday in Melaka. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Grand Continental Melaka Hotel Melaka
Grand Continental Hotel Melaka

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Continental Melaka, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.