We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“roomy average” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Straits Meridian Hotel

Straits Meridian Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bookmark
You added Straits Meridian Hotel to your Saves list
Straits Meridian Hotel
1 Jalan Malinja, Taman Malinja, Bukit Baru, Melaka 75150, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #109 of 148 Hotels in Melaka
1 review
“roomy average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2011 via mobile

Spacious room, with fridge and electric stove. Suitable for family stay. Though look aged but ok. Swimming pool, I think the chlorine is either less or none at at all.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    2
    5
    5
    2
See reviews for
6
3
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2011 via mobile

suitable for family as it hav a big room, but some other thing on the room are not working,,,,,i could say its an average experience for me o stay here

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2011 via mobile

-Not worth for your money; the rate is too expensive for the hotel/room/service condition. Rm 189/nite. You could get much better brand new hotel in town with much cheaper rate.
-Room condition is not acceptable. The mattress is totally lousy; i doubt that they change the bedsheet after people checkout; no aircond n tv remote

If u would like to have a "stress-free" vacation, think twice or more before u decide to stay here!!!

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuantan, Malaysia
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2011

after reading others review, we were expecting the worse. However, after checking in, it is not as bad as the review. No cockroaches, toilet were clean, except for the carpets were old and dusty. Our room were facing the road, thus vehicles sounds clearly disturbing our sleep. The breakfast were edible, but they did not refill the food until we requested them to do so. We enjoyed playing in the swimming pool.

Room Tip: Request a room facing swimming pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2011

The location was not close to any attraction and we had to cab to anywhere. Each cab trip cost at least RM$15. Plus you have to wait 15-20 mins as they have to call a cab. Service at front desk was poor. After we checked in, we had to cross the road and walked 3 minutes to another building where our room was. My next trip I will definitely be staying elsewhere.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KL
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2010

They do process On-line reservation which is a sign that someone is assigned to Read their Mail : )

Our choice was the 1 Room Apartment which proves to have ample space for a family with young children. There's a decent living and dining area but I can say that some push is required with especially the carpet cleanliness.

Roughly situated at 2.8Km from Jalan Kota (St Pauls) plus they fact it do provide shuttle service to town makes it an option worth considering if you're looking for a place with a Decent Swimming Pool around the same price range.

Dining should be less of the worry as other than an In-House Cafe, there's a few local restaurant and stall on the next block.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queensland
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2010

This apartment style hotel has an air of faded glory, but was excellent value for money. The bedroom was huge with a separate kitchen/living area. Needed some minor maintenance, but was a nice spacious place to stay with free in-room wireless access and a great buffet breakfast. Also has a swimming pool. The downside for us was that the Agoda website described this as being in the centre of Melaka. I did this booking "on the run" with limited internet access so, my fault, did not check the map properly. It was nowhere near Melaka old town. The hotel runs a free shuttle bus, but this means it's not easy to go back and forwards during the day if you want some downtime at the hotel. The staff certainly made up for this with their helpful attitude (especially Jennifer) and they went out of their way to ensure we had a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Straits Meridian Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Straits Meridian Hotel

Address: 1 Jalan Malinja, Taman Malinja, Bukit Baru, Melaka 75150, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Melaka State > Central Melaka District > Melaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #109 of 148 Hotels in Melaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Straits Meridian Hotel is located in the historic town of Melaka, a UNESCO World Heritage Site. It faces the Jalan Tun Razak Expressway, which connects Jasin District and Alor Gajah District, and is just 10 km from Melaka Airport. The 81 air-conditioned rooms and suites are furnished with a coffee/ tea maker, refrigerator, and IDD phone. Each accommodation is also fitted with a private toilet and bath. Other in-room features include a digital safe, prayer mat, and bottled mineral water. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Straits Meridian Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Straits Meridian Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.