We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All Red except the Blue Sky” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Stadthuys

Stadthuys
Dutch Square Or Red Square, The Stadthuys, Melaka, Malaysia
Improve this listing
Visit Stadthuys like an insider
Special Offer
$85*
and up
Historical Malacca Full-Day Tour from Kuala...
Ranked #22 of 93 things to do in Melaka
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: This 17th-century building was the seat of the Dutch administration and now houses a history museum.
Singapore
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
21 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“All Red except the Blue Sky”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014 via mobile

This is the place consists of the histories, cultures, religions and the harmony spirit of Baba and Nyonya of Malacca. Church are red, clock tower, museum and many others are also in red. Colorful trishaws is the main transportation to bring you for sightseeing within the red square area with more fun. Typically a true tourist spot in Malacca.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    89
    52
    7
    4
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Penang Island, Malaysia
2 reviews
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“Great place to hang-out”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

The Old Church is astounding and so is the Fountain and everything else you find here . It's just wonderful

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yerevan, Armenia
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
86 attraction reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
“Visited early-February 2014 and was closed for renovation. A very sore sight.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

The whole building was boarded up with wood and metal sheets. It looks horrible and is a sore sight. I was very disappointed to find it closed, but hope I can visit again in the future so I can reevaluate my rating.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arnhem, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Stadthuys”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

Of course, as a dutch guy, i maybe look a little bit different at this, but its nice that there are still colonial monuments left that are worth to visit. But i have to admit that Melakka is a enourmous touristic town and there are many more places/monuments to visit elsewhere in South East Asia.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HongKong
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Terrible, terrible, terrible! Over-kill of tourism promotions”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2013

First of all, I was put off by the parked kitschy trishaws, bizarrely decorated with styrofoam-like colourful butterfly wings as the roof and flapping ridiculously as the poor trishaw-man struggle to peddle and the gaudily fluff-up seatings for lazy couch potatos to "do the tour" in luxury, to top up the silliness, it has a turbo speaker blaring out nonsensical music as the contraption fight for right of way on the busy and narrow street of old Melaka! The whole mess look like a mini-flower float procession going home after the carnival!
There were too many souvenirs shops tightly packed in front of the red building, I mean, I want to take picture of the historical building, not the balloons and candies, and the parked trishaws!
The old building is beautiful, but they desecrate it.
I came, I saw, I left within 1 minutes.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Stadthuys also viewed

Melaka, Central Melaka District
Melaka, Central Melaka District
 
Melaka, Central Melaka District
Melaka, Central Melaka District
 

Been to Stadthuys? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stadthuys, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.