We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fall short of expectations” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Bayview Hotel Melaka

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Bayview Hotel Melaka to your Saves list
Bayview Hotel Melaka
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Jalan Bendahara, Melaka 75100, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #76 of 156 Hotels in Melaka
Singapore
Level Contributor
44 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Fall short of expectations”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

Hotel was generally clean and acceptable by my standards but it lack the finer details. Wifi for example had to be purchased and because I check in rather late the hotel was not flexible enough to prorate the charges, instead insist that we pay a full 24 hr wifi charges which my husband was not willing to. And for the kind of $ we paid, I would expect that they could provide toiletries like a toothbrush or that miniature toothpaste that I used to see at hotels. We were not able to get toiletries when we arrived and we were rushing to checkin so I was kind of surprised that miniature toiletries were not available for used. No mini bars. I wouldnt have mind it if it was a budget hotel but this clearly wasnt a budget hotel. There was just something lacklustre abt it. Not the kind of hotel I would recommend or come back to again. We only stayed for one night.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BayviewMelaka, Public Relations Manager at Bayview Hotel Melaka, responded to this review, February 16, 2014
Thank you for your feedback. Refurbishments of our Superior Rooms are currently being carried out on a floor by floor basis. Meanwhile, for added comfort, do opt for our Deluxe Rooms with Jacuzzi and Rain shower which we are certain will meet your expectations. Notwithstanding the above, we appreciate your feedback and look forward to being of better service to you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

229 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    55
    98
    37
    27
See reviews for
69
42
6
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

I paid RM 258/night, totally not worth the money. The room is very rundown with old furniture, dirty carpet, greyish bathtub, stained bed sheet & sagging sofa. Can't sleep as the air con noise was extremely loud. Breakfast served with fried bee hoon, bread, hot dog, ham, curry chicken, coffee, tea etc….taste wise worse than local kopitiam. Overall I wouldn’t stay at this hotel again unless they renovate the whole place.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BayviewMelaka, Public Relations Manager at Bayview Hotel Melaka, responded to this review, December 16, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. We regret that your stay with us was not to expectation. Renovations of our Superior Rooms are in the pipeline on a floor by floor basis and the hotel is in the midst of installing a new chiller for the entire hotel which will be completed by January 2014. Meanwhile, for added luxury, we would recommend our Deluxe Rooms which we are confident will meet your expectations.
Thank you and best regards
Francesca Lopez
Public Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
53 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

I spent 2 weeks in this hotel last May. It was reasonably clean, although you can see that the furnishings and the building are getting old. They have plenty of space to park your car and the parking lot seemed secure.
My first room had a view of row houses a the Chinese cemetery (not so nice). The second room (I was moved after the air-conditioning stopped working on my floor) had a view of the Straits of Malacca (FAR away in the distance), but I was able to see some nicer sunsets.
The staff were generally friendly, although they couldn't recommend many places for me to eat which is weird in a city known for food. I had to eat out for every meal as the food in the hotel was terrible. WAY too much oil.
It takes about 10 minutes to walk to the old UNESCO part of Melaka from the hotel and another 5-10 minutes to get to the other end of Jonker Walk.

Room Tip: Get a room on the front side of the hotel for a better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BayviewMelaka, Public Relations Manager at Bayview Hotel Melaka, responded to this review, December 16, 2013
Thank you for your constructive feedback. We shall strive to improve our facilities and services in our efforts to serve you better. Meanwhile, we look forward to welcoming you back to Bayview Hotel Melaka soon.
Best regards
Francesca Lopez
Public Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

The elevators were down in the morning during peak season. A lot of guests were forced to take the emergency stairs. My friends and I were told that we could book a taxi trough the receptionist, but when we wanna depart, the middle-aged female staff in the receptionist suddenly told me that the taxi is not available and there was nothing that she could do to help us. She even told us to look for our own taxis OUTSIDE the hotel when it was raining. What kind of logic is that? Definitely not going to have a second stay here.
The room was okay tho. The hotel is 15 minutes away from Jonker Street :)

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BayviewMelaka, Public Relations Manager at Bayview Hotel Melaka, responded to this review, December 16, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. We hope that your stay in Melaka was pleasant aside from the Taxi incident. Your feedback has been channeled to the Front Office Manager to ensure such an incident is not repeated. We apologise for the inconvenience caused and look forward to being of better service to you in future.
Thank you and best regards
Francesca Lopez
Public Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan, Malaysia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

When i check-in into this hotel, the reception staff is friendly and gave us our room when we arrive early. When we got into our room, we are really disappointed as they gave us a view that is not a city view and the view is facing the housing area and also cemetary.. to me its really unacceptable. The worst part is that the toilet is smelly with Urine smell!!!! I quickly request for another room change, and unfortunately they say that all double rooms are unavailable. Then next i requested for someone to clean up the toilet. Waited for long 30 mins and no one came up. called a few times and still no one came up until my husband went down to the reception to check why is the housekeeping taking such a long time to come over to our room. finally waited for 40 mins and the housekeeping came and clean the toilet. Then the Urine Smell is still there. They couldn't find where is the problem, and we have to bear with the Urine smell the whole night even after we close the toilet doors... I'm definately won't be coming back to this hotel again after having such an unpleasant night with them.

Room Tip: Do get city view room, or else you will be facing a housing areas and also cemetary.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BayviewMelaka, Public Relations Manager at Bayview Hotel Melaka, responded to this review, December 16, 2013
Dear Daphne
Thank you for your feedback. We regret that the matter was not immediately rectified during your stay and rest assured that we have taken the necessary corrective measures to address the leak which caused the damp smell. Once again we apologise for the discomfort and look forward to an opportunity to be of better service to you in future.
Thank you and best regards
Francesca Lopez
Public Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sussex, England
Level Contributor
117 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

The hotel was good for an overnight stay near to the historic area of Melacca. The room was clean and comfortable and the breakfast was good. We had problems with the room safe and they were very slow sorting it out - in fact they failed to sort it out - and that wasted a lot of our time for visiting the town.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BayviewMelaka, Public Relations Manager at Bayview Hotel Melaka, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. We regret to hear about the "hiccup" on the safe deposit box and apologise for the inconvenience caused. Nevertheless, we are glad that overall your stay with us was comfortable and hope that your visit to Historical Melaka was pleasant.
Thank you and best regards
Francesca Lopez
Public Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Widnes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013 via mobile

This is not a luxury hotel, and once you realise that, there should be no problem. The furniture and decor is dated (1980's) but is spotlessly clean. The lobby, however, is very nice and modern. My room was fine - comfortable bed, excellent air con that worked, lots of hot water, and good supply of free tea, coffee and mineral water. Bathroom was spotless. Limited TV channels, however. Food is adequate at breakfast. The staff, however, were wonderful - very helpful and polite and courteous and always smiling! (I can't say the same for some of the other guests in their attitude towards the staff - very impatient and impolite...). If you're looking for somewhere that's cheap and cheerful and within walking distance of the tourist spots of Melaka, then this hotel is fine

Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BayviewMelaka, Public Relations Manager at Bayview Hotel Melaka, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. It is such a joy to receive your kind compliments and we shall convey your feedback to our staff. It is guests like you who make their day to day work life a gratifying experience.
Meanwhile, we look forward to welcoming you back to Bayview Hotel Melaka during your next visit.
Thank you and best regards
Francesca Lopez
Public Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melaka hotels
0.6 mi away
Avillion Legacy Melaka
Avillion Legacy Melaka
#77 of 156 in Melaka
3.0 of 5 stars 191 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ramada Plaza Melaka
Ramada Plaza Melaka
#11 of 156 in Melaka
3.5 of 5 stars 608 reviews
0.8 mi away
Kings Green Hotel
Kings Green Hotel
#19 of 156 in Melaka
3.5 of 5 stars 86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Sentral Melaka
Hotel Sentral Melaka
#43 of 156 in Melaka
3.5 of 5 stars 56 reviews
1.2 mi away
Swan Garden Hotel
Swan Garden Hotel
#53 of 156 in Melaka
3.5 of 5 stars 57 reviews
0.8 mi away
Imperial Heritage Melaka
Imperial Heritage Melaka
#27 of 156 in Melaka
3.5 of 5 stars 36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bayview Hotel Melaka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bayview Hotel Melaka

Address: Jalan Bendahara, Melaka 75100, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Melaka State > Central Melaka District > Melaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #76 of 156 Hotels in Melaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bayview Hotel Melaka 3.5*
Number of rooms: 181
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located in the heart of the historical city, Bayview Hotel Melaka boasts 192 spacious guest rooms including luxurious suites with Jacuzzi and kitchenette, 6 dining and entertainment outlets including a dance club and KTV studio, a comprehensive range of recreational facilities from gym to spa pool and toddler’s pool as well as complete meeting and convention facilities. For business or leisure, find it all at Bayview Hotel Melaka. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com and Asiatravel.com Holdings so you can book your Bayview Hotel Melaka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melaka Bayview Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bayview Hotel Melaka, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.