We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Halia Inc Coffee Bar & Restaurant

Halia Inc Coffee Bar & Restaurant
1 Jalan Merdeka, Melaka 75200, Malaysia
+60 19-770 7590
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #189 of 372 Restaurants in Melaka
Cuisines: Malaysian
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

Went their with parents about 11am. No one were at the reception to greet us though there were a few waiters in the house.
Was only told that no food would be served until 2pm!! I mean what kinda restaurant is this??!! No food served until 2pm and their claim to serve breakfast, lunch and dinner??!! Ridiculous!!
What a waste of ambience! No matter how great it's ambience is but if it's service is poor then sorry it would be a no-no.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    14
    15
    9
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Breakfast spread did not impress”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

Breakfast spread was not that tasty. We read about the good reviews for dinner but we were out and did not eat dinner here.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Cozy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

It was a cozy cafe, I love the environment. Although it was a bit pricey, a cup of hot mocha already costed me RM10. Fish & Chips RM26, Chocolate blend RM10. Most of the food prices are above RM20 and you have to prepare lots of cash if you want to dine in there.

For me, I just ordered a cup of hot mocha and stayed there for two hours with my friends. We felt so comfortable in the cafe and didnt realize the time passed by as we talked. I enjoyed my time there. It's definitely one of the cafes in Malaysia you have to visit.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Life saver on the river”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

If you are silly enough to wander around the old fort area of Malacca at 2 in the afternoon, you may find yourself in need of cool air and hydration and a spot of lunch. This is the place for all three. The interior is welcoming with brick walls, colorful chairs and a very nice bar at the front. We had the set lunch, stingray and beef in a spicy hot sauce and free flow of a lovely ice tea that they will put mint leaves in if you ask. My wife, who usually doesn't eat food swimming in sauce and rice, cleaned her plate and smiled afterwards. It was a bit spicy for me, but the fish was very well-cooked and tasty. We found the staff hard working and easy to flag down if you needed something. All in all, a very pleasant place to ward off hunger and heatstroke.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melaka, Malaysia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Poorer service and choice of drinks”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014

Cozy place to hang out. Limited choices of beverages compares to the menu as few drinks are not available.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Halia Inc Coffee Bar & Restaurant also viewed

Melaka, Central Melaka District
Melaka, Central Melaka District
 
Melaka, Central Melaka District
Melaka, Central Melaka District
 

Been to Halia Inc Coffee Bar & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Halia Inc Coffee Bar & Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.