We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Gingerflower Boutique Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Gingerflower Boutique Hotel to your Saves list
Gingerflower Boutique Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No 13 Jalan Tun Tan Cheng Lock, Melaka 75200, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 153 Hotels in Melaka
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

Stayed one night at the Gingerflower, Lovely space - clean, fresh and white. Great location just off the main street so you can walk everywhere. Rooms are small but you are out in the streets most of the time - Melaka is amazing! The gingerflower is good value for money. Breakfast is lovely but basic, and you will probably want a second breakfast anyway - highly recommend the calanthe art cafe on the next street.

Room Tip: If you want a quiet night book an internal room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nizam_gfbh, Manager at Gingerflower Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, August 12, 2014
Dear Tina B,

We thank you for selecting Gingerflower Boutique Hotel Melaka as your preferred hotel during your stay in Malacca. I'm glad to know that you have such wonderful experience in Gingerflower Boutique Hotel & Melaka Historical City. We will maintain and keep improving our service again to make more guests experience the same happiness as you did. Thank you again for your valuable feedback. With all the compliments from you, giving me a lot of enthusiasm to move on with better, better and better services. We hope to serve you in the nearly future.

Warm Regards,
The Management of GFBH
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    43
    10
    2
    0
See reviews for
17
38
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Petaling Jaya, Malaysia
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

We stayed here for just one night the first weekend in June, occupying two rooms on the ground floor. This was a last minute booking, and we were so glad to get the 5 rooms our group needed.

Unfortunately, one of our group members was taken ill, and couldn't come. Gingerflower graciously allowed us to cancel the room at the last minute with no penalty charge -- which was really very good of them. The first sign that things were looking good.

Checking in was simple, quick and hassle-free, and the staff were very well-mannered and very friendly.

Finding the hotel was easy, and there was limited parking right behind, with a very convenient back door entrace that made regular access easy -- it worked with our room key card.

Our room had a large king-sized bed, and despite the fact the hotel is housed in one of Malacca's famous old shophouses, designs and fittings were contemporary and simple. Top marks for the good quality bedside reading lamps, and the well-equipped bathroom and shower.

Our son had a lovely time checking out the old-fashioned well (from the original shophouse design) just off the lobby. Nice that they kept that little touch, and also designed the place to ensure lots of flow through air and light.

Also lovely were the papers, magazines, chess set and board games in the lobby -- excellent for keeping our one toddler and two teenagers well occupied. Plus there was free wifi access.

Breakfast was included in the room rate, and the owners have very cleverly designed the reception counter to double up as a service counter for breakfast, making full use of limited space. Freshly brewed coffee and a good selection of breads and local food made for a very decent breakfast.

Location is excellent -- at the top of Hereen Street, and you can access all the heritage sights of Jonker and its surrounding areas day and night. Roads to and from the hotel are brightly lit, so coming home in the middle of the night was safe and secure. And voila -- the hotel key card also gave us access to the front door.

All in, a well planned, well designed, charmingly run little boutique hotel that we'll be happy to visit again.

Room Tip: We loved the ground floor rooms as our child could enjoy the little entertainment features available...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nizam_gfbh, Manager at Gingerflower Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, August 12, 2014
Dear Bentong 66,

Thank you for choosing Gingerflower Boutique Hotel as your preferred hotel for your recent visit. We are glad that our aspiration and heartfelt wishes of our room design being appreciated. We are always try our best to provide new style, pattern to our guests.

We look forward to your return in the very near future.

Warm Regards,
The Management of GFBH
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014

A wonderfully clean boutique hotel with really friendly and helpful staff. Great location just off the main strip. What could have made this a Great stay was if the windows were somehow sound proofed. We got 2 rooms facing either side of the roads flanking this shophouse and the dizzying sound of thumping Karaoke music emanating from passing trishaws was very difficult to ignore especially if you're trying to sleep. Either get very super or just join the night revelers if you intend to get a full nights rest. The noise dies down sometime after 3am. Stay away from the corner rooms with windows. Take the courtyard facing ones and forget about the premier room which faces a noisy back street (it does come wig a nice rear balcony though).

Room Tip: Avoid street facing rooms. Choose courtyard ones.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

Location is very strategic, 2-3 mins walk to Jonker Street and the room was good enough for couples or w a child. Theres 2 reserved parking at the back of the hotel and a public carpark nearby.

The only problem was mosquitos, we were told by the staff that might be a problem at night. They provided repellent and everything was perfect given its location next to the river.

Would definitely recommend this hotel.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014 via mobile

This was a lovely hotel - lovely room, very clean with good amenities! Nice bathroom - great shower!
Breakfast was good and different each morning!
Staff were very helpful and would go out of their way to help you!
The hotel is situated very centrally - easy walking distance to everything you need to see!

Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

First time staying at this place with my partner. Excellent service, Room was clean, comes with safe and cable tv. Breakfast yums! Location excellent - Stones throw away to pretty much anywhere you wanna go.
Love the shower head and Mable finishing of the toilets.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014

Location was good just at jonker street with many food variety. Staffs were ok.. rooms were clean n bed is big and comortable... but toliet structure was a bit weird with exposed concept. Staircase was a bit irritating...

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Gingerflower Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gingerflower Boutique Hotel

Address: No 13 Jalan Tun Tan Cheng Lock, Melaka 75200, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Melaka State > Central Melaka District > Melaka
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 153 Hotels in Melaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Gingerflower Boutique Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Gingerflower Boutique Hotel is a small beautiful boutique hotel housed in a tastefully restored Peranakan townhouse within the UNESCO World Heritage Site of Melaka. Retaining the gracious old world charm of a 19th century cultural and architectural treasure while offering contemporary luxury to ensure a comfortable stay, the Gingerflower Boutique Hotel will appeal to all visitors wishing to immerse in the cultural splendour of an elegant by-gone era, while indulging in some of the finer luxuries of contemporary living. The Gingerflower Boutique Hotel is strategically located in the heart of Melaka on Jalan Tun Tan Cheng Lock (previously known as Heeren Street), thus enabling visitors to conveniently explore historical and cultural Melaka just minutes from its doorstep. Some places of interest within walking distance of the Hotel include the Dutch Square, the Stadthuys, the Clock Tower, Christ Church Melaka, the A'Famosa fortress, Baba and Nyonya Heritage Museum, Jonker Walk, the Maritime Museum, Cheng Hoon Teng temple, Hang Jebat and Hang Kasturi’s Mausoleum, and St. Francis Xavier’s Church. Along Jalan Tun Tan Cheng Lock itself and the neighbouring Jonker Street, you can also find Peranakan and Malaccan restaurants and cafes where you can savour some of the interesting and mouth-watering local cuisine. Shopping is also great draw along Jalan Tun Tan Cheng Lock and Jonker Street/Jonker Walk, where many beautiful Peranakan craft and porcelain items can be found. There are also plenty of interesting shops for antique hunters to unearth rare and hard-to-find treasures. The Gingerflower Boutique Hotel's elegant rooms all feature beautiful en-suite Italian marble bathrooms with sensuous rain showers and luxury amenities. Each room is decorated in a contemporary boutique hotel style. You lay your head on plush down pillows, sleep on sumptuous beds dressed in luxurious bed linen, use thick fluffy towels and waffle yukata bathrobes, watch large flat screen TVs, surf the internet with complimentary wi-fi connectivity, & enjoy a turn down service in the evenings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo and Asiatravel.com Holdings so you can book your Gingerflower Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gingerflower Boutique Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.