We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique Heritage Hotel in Melaka” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gingerflower Boutique Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Gingerflower Boutique Hotel to your Saves list
Gingerflower Boutique Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No 13 Jalan Tun Tan Cheng Lock, Melaka 75200, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 148 Hotels in Melaka
Moscow, Russia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Unique Heritage Hotel in Melaka”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

This is a real Heritage hotel in perfect location of old Chinese part of Melaka. The choice of such hotels is not so big in this city if compared to Georgetown, Penang. Here the hotels are either very cheap offering shelter to young people or modern situated in tall buildings with no soul in it. But this one is real and authentic.

Gingerflower Boutique hotel is the best choice when you are looking for a place to stay in the very center of the city with all the historical sites incredibly close by and at the same time if you looking for a comfortable room. The hotel offers everything that a picky traveler might ask for. The rooms are very clean and fashionable.

Among disadvantages: rooms are really small, there is place on for the bed which is however very big and nice to sleep on. The personnel behaves itself very noisy in the evenings, they are shouting and laughing downstairs and don't care about the guests trying to get rest. Please don't hesitate to raise claims about it otherwise you won't be able to sleep as there is no sound proof as usual.

There is free public parking behind the hotel. Please make sure you have arrived before 4 pm on weekends. It is easier to find place to park that way and you will be actually manage to drive these narrow streets that will get flooded with thousands of people later on Saturday.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    31
    7
    1
    0
See reviews for
12
26
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

We are very lucky to find an available room on a weekend without advance booking online. The room is well maintained with see-thought glass toilet and bath (can be awakening... ). The buffet breakfast is simple, nothing fancy. The location is wonderful, right next to Jonker Street where you can find food easily yet the hotel is tucked away from the heavy human traffic and noise. You can also walk to most attractions from the hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

The B&B is just few minutes away from Jonker Street. The rooms are clean but small.

However, I have to complain their services.The staff was very unfriendly and no smiles at all. Upon our checkout, housekeeper informed front desk staff that we had taken away a piece of face towel, and the front desk staff charged us for MYR2.50 (I forgot the exact amount for it). I told the staff we did not take away anything from the room and I wen to the room to check with housekeeper! Eventually, I found all towels were in the washroom but no one apologized for their carelessness.

In terms of value, it was a bit expensive. There are many other B&Bs around, and I would rather look for other B & B on my next trip to Malacca.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013 via mobile

Nice and clean hotel with pleasent staffs.However I find the room is small and I didnt like the fact on how the bathroom was designed with transparent glasses.Location is great...it is close to the jonker street.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

- Tip top condition! Not only the room is very clean, the toilet - not a deck of mould! The aircon is brand new, sheets and pillows are clean and the bed is so comfortable
- Cosy, hotel with nice and polite staff
- Fantastic location! Short walk from the start of Jonker street! Right next to the river beside casa del rio
- only down side was, the rates are considerably expensive but worth the price. Breakfast was very simple, but they serve nespresso! And with a food street just next block, who needs a heavy breakfast?

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johor Bahru, Malaysia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

I wanted a overnight get away from JB and this was about the only hotel I could find with availability in all of Malacca. I was very impressed with the staff and service, allowed me to have my room early, gave me a refrigerated damp towel and a refreshing drink while my check-in was processed. The hotel doesn't have amazing facilities on site, of course, but the room was small but perfectly formed, amazingly comfy bed, soft towels and appointed with every toiletry item you could ever want in an immaculate bathroom.

The location is perfect, one street away from the busy hustle bustle night market so the hotel is quiet, but literally a stones throw from where its all happening, Casa del Rio is right behind the hotel and has high end bar and restaurant facilities should you not want street food.

The hotel even has allocated parking which is a big bonus in Malacca town!!

Room Tip: I stayed in a deluxe room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013 via mobile

We decided to take a spontaneous trip to Malacca, so we didn't make any hotel reservations. We were just walking around Jonker looking for any available rooms. After going through 2 hotels which were fully booked, we found Gingerflower. We walked in and were told that the deluxe room was available for RM 218. The receptionist was quite polite so we decided to take it. As we were waiting to be checked in, they provided some welcome drinks along with wet towels smelling of lemongrass. It was very soothing. When they took us up to the room, we were quite shocked to see the size of the room as it was quite small, probably because it had a king-sized bed which took up most of the room. There was only a 1-foot distance from the door to the bed. But it came with a flat screen TV, it was very clean, and we were given a complimentary can of Coke from the mini bar. The wall separating the room and the bathroom was a fully transparent glass which made it a little uncomfortable. We were also experiencing some trouble with the TV as the reception kept going off a few times. The breakfast the next morning was satisfactory. They had a selection of bread and croissants. They also had Nasi Lemak bungkus as well as a selection of juices and coffee. The muffin was quite stale.
However the hotel is maintained quite well and staff is very friendly. It comes with a small car park behind the hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Gingerflower Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gingerflower Boutique Hotel

Address: No 13 Jalan Tun Tan Cheng Lock, Melaka 75200, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Melaka State > Central Melaka District > Melaka
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 148 Hotels in Melaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Gingerflower Boutique Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Gingerflower Boutique Hotel is a small beautiful boutique hotel housed in a tastefully restored Peranakan townhouse within the UNESCO World Heritage Site of Melaka. Retaining the gracious old world charm of a 19th century cultural and architectural treasure while offering contemporary luxury to ensure a comfortable stay, the Gingerflower Boutique Hotel will appeal to all visitors wishing to immerse in the cultural splendour of an elegant by-gone era, while indulging in some of the finer luxuries of contemporary living. The Gingerflower Boutique Hotel is strategically located in the heart of Melaka on Jalan Tun Tan Cheng Lock (previously known as Heeren Street), thus enabling visitors to conveniently explore historical and cultural Melaka just minutes from its doorstep. Some places of interest within walking distance of the Hotel include the Dutch Square, the Stadthuys, the Clock Tower, Christ Church Melaka, the A'Famosa fortress, Baba and Nyonya Heritage Museum, Jonker Walk, the Maritime Museum, Cheng Hoon Teng temple, Hang Jebat and Hang Kasturi’s Mausoleum, and St. Francis Xavier’s Church. Along Jalan Tun Tan Cheng Lock itself and the neighbouring Jonker Street, you can also find Peranakan and Malaccan restaurants and cafes where you can savour some of the interesting and mouth-watering local cuisine. Shopping is also great draw along Jalan Tun Tan Cheng Lock and Jonker Street/Jonker Walk, where many beautiful Peranakan craft and porcelain items can be found. There are also plenty of interesting shops for antique hunters to unearth rare and hard-to-find treasures. The Gingerflower Boutique Hotel's elegant rooms all feature beautiful en-suite Italian marble bathrooms with sensuous rain showers and luxury amenities. Each room is decorated in a contemporary boutique hotel style. You lay your head on plush down pillows, sleep on sumptuous beds dressed in luxurious bed linen, use thick fluffy towels and waffle yukata bathrobes, watch large flat screen TVs, surf the internet with complimentary wi-fi connectivity, & enjoy a turn down service in the evenings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, EasyToBook, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Gingerflower Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gingerflower Boutique Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.