We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't set high expectation” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Mio Boutique Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Mio Boutique Hotel to your Saves list
Mio Boutique Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   189-G-09, Jalan Persisiran Bunga Raya Melaka Tengah, Malacca City Center, Melaka 75300, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 148 Hotels in Melaka
singapore
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Don't set high expectation”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

1. Parking is shared with nearby construction site and pub next door so check in timely or will have to wait. 2. Air-con in room grossly under capacity, even at 18deg don't feel any breeze, advise to switch on upon check in and leave room to cool. 3. If u choose room canal view, be prepared to endure pub music till 3am. Cafeteria is filled with unbearable greasy smell due to poor ventilation, we opt for local breakfast at an old coffee shop across the street which serves tasty wanton mee, chicken rice, toast n strong aroma coffee. In all, at 200RM per room/night, you could get elsewhere more decent (eg. Jonker street) but expect to book early.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    38
    22
    4
    3
See reviews for
25
18
4
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Puchong
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

The best I ever stayed.
1. Clean. Especially bathroom.
2. 2 types of shower.
3. 3 kinds of towels.
4. More than enough coffee / milo, shampoo, lotion, comb, haircap, soap, pillows.
5. Fast check in / check out.
6. Very near to jonker walk.
7. Left :7-11, right :nice lounge
8. Hot breakfast.
9. Wide LCD.
10. Ah, long time no see hotel with slippers. Really rubber slippers i mean.
11.

Stayed June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014

It is not very easy to walk to Jonker street from here, but we had a car. The hotel itself is modern and therefore built into smaller rooms. It provides great value for money and there is free parking too. Do not have high expectations and you will do fine. Other than that, I would suggest skipping breakfast at the hotel unless you just want to get yourself full before running off elsewhere.

Room Tip: As mentioned by other reviewers, if you are on the wrong side, you will hear the loud music coming f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

I like everything about the place.
Hotel Location is walking distant to Jonker Street.
The Room is new and clean with free coffee, tea and Milo.
Breakfast taste good to me, but spread is limited. Next to hotel is 7-Eleven. Parking is Free with guard.
There are coffee shop and Restaurant nearby, if you prefer the local food.

Got Free Wi-Fi but very slow, maybe too many people.
But there is heavy construction opposite the hotel and the workers and their cars occupy the hotel car-park and block one of our car as we leave, but lucky not a long wait as the hotel staff help to get the car owner to move.
As for the room walk way, have many turn and band. Better to check the escape route incase of fire.

Will probably go back again if we go Melaka again.

Room Tip: we request for connector room to link to the other family
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

It is located centrally, about 10 min away from Melaka Sentral (bus terminal) and it is about 15 min walk away from Jonker Street and about 20 min walk away from the heritage sites. Hotel has a modern design and it was neat and comfortable, just nice for 2 person. I booked a deluxe double room. Some lights were not functioning and the door to the refrigerator was partially spoilt. The walls are quite thin as we could hear the commotions along the corridor very easily and when the next door guests enter their room. Construction noises can be heard in the morning from opposite the hotel. One of the perks is having a 7-11 store located just next door which was sufficient enough to satisfy our late night cravings. There was free breakfast and it is quite standard. (cereal, bread, sausages, nasi lemak, porridge). Limited choices but sufficient for those on a budget.
But overall it was a great experience. I will stay in the same hotel when I visit Melacca again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014

Family stay with 2 young children on a family suite. 2 queen bed with 4 sets of everything. Very new boutique with contemporary design. Wifi was very weak on iphone. Location was great at city center with 7 eleven just next door. Breakfast was just too simple we opt for elsewhere.

Stayed March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

I booked 2 rooms for the first day of CNY. My room was clean but smaller than expected. After a great night out, I went to bed at 4 AM but suddenly, there was a very prominent motor noise coming from the ceiling. I called the front desk chap and he did not have a clue as to where the noise was coming from.

As it was fully booked, he could not give me a replacement room.

I lied in bed with my eyes wide opened and eventually the noise stopped just before 7am.
I went down to talk to the front desk and the chap informed me that there was a special air-conditioning duct used for cleansing purpose and the motor sits directly above my room, room 205.

I filed a complaint with the front desk and asked to be contacted by the hotel manager. It has been 3 weeks since I filed the complaint but I have not yet heard anything from the hotel management, not even an apology.

This is not an acceptable practice since the management knows full well the air-conditioning cleansing cycle in room 205 and the noise yet they are quite happy to rent out the room.

This hotel needs to beef up their customer service. Once you have paid the money - they asked for full payment at check-in, which is very unusual, they do not want to know any issues.

I had breakfast, the food was less than appealing and the service is appalling - stoney faces.

Unfortunately, I paid by cash and a word of warning - use credit card in future and avoid this hotel if possible and most importantly, avoid room 205.

Room Tip: Avoid room 205. Use credit card if you are foreign traveller so that any issues, you will have recou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mio Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mio Boutique Hotel

Address: 189-G-09, Jalan Persisiran Bunga Raya Melaka Tengah, Malacca City Center, Melaka 75300, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Melaka State > Central Melaka District > Melaka
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 148 Hotels in Melaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Mio Boutique Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 83
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Mio Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mio Boutique Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.