We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location --- BUT cleanliness should be improved” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Galvanize Studio Stay

Galvanize Studio Stay
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Galvanize Studio Stay to your Saves list
Galvanize Studio Stay
45, Lorong Hang Jebat, Melaka 75200, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #36 of 73 Specialty Lodging in Melaka
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great location --- BUT cleanliness should be improved”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

I'm happy that we were able to book this place even if our trip was last minute. It's just a few steps away from the busy street of Jonker Walk, but far enough from the hustle and bustle of everything.

Downside is, room is not thoroughly cleaned. We got the Jebat room and I saw that the top of outlets and bed railings are dusty :( but I'll give credit for them for providing towels.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    2
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
1
2
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

My friend and I booked the hostel for a night in the dorm. We got lost finding our way to the hostel because if you do not take a closer look at it, following the unit numbers, you will just miss the hostel without realising it. It looked more like a shop selling apparels on the outside.
When we locate the hostel, it was pretty easy to get around, great location. It is just walking distance to Jonker Street where you can find delicious food.

When we went into the hostel, it looked pretty quirky with artifact displayed all around. We then noticed there was only a private room with private bathroom (on the ground floor) and a dorm with 4 beds on the upper level with a shared toilet on the ground floor.

Although there is a common area outside the dormitory which looks like a nice place to hang out with bean bags, tables, chairs and books however it is quite pointless to hang out there because at most there will be the 4 person from the dorm and being in a hot and humid country, people will rather spend time in the dorm with aircon. It was a pity to see the area go wasted.

Upon arriving in the room, the bed looked tidy however it does not look clean. You can actually find dust specks on the side of metal frame of the bunk as though it has not been dust/ clean before. It make me wonder if they actually changed the mattress at all. Stray threads can also be found on the bed. The pillow is pretty flat which left me with a stiff neck in the morning.

One good thing is that there is a powerpoint beside every bedside with a thoughtful lamp. Locker is provided with a key to the lock. There is also a sink in the room which makes it easier to wash the hand or brush teeth without walking down to the shared toilet.

If you are a light sleeper, remember to put on your ear plugs as you may be awoken by the occasional noises outside.

The shared toilet on the ground floor is rather small and not the cleanest toilet. When you shower, you will tend to splash water on the toilet bowl. I don't think anyone likes to sit on a wet toilet bowl. The only consolation is that the toilet paper is thick enough.

Remember to bring your own towel because they charge the towel at 5 ringgit.

Overall, it is not one of the best hostel experience, will pay a little more for a better one perhaps.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

stayed here for a night with my small family... surprise by how the overall interior of the place, clean, cozy bed and good hot shower.... staff are really friendly too (one of the staff even wake up early in the morning when he heard my baby cries, then he help me to prepared warm water for making milk for my baby) ... overall really good services, i shall say.... not forgetting the studio stay location, it is just a stone throw distance to the famous Melacca's Hard Rock.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

We stayed in Melaka for 2 nights.Could not have made a better choice!
On arrival we were welcomed by being offered a special lemonade drink.
The lovely gallery and studio stay is spacious and comfy and the "artwork" is awesome!
We are not big on breakfast and thought the prepared breakfast in the room was more than adequate. Staff was friendly and helpful and not in your face but available to chat should you so chose...just the way we like it.

Galvanize Studio Stay is one of those special places you will remember.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Galvanize Studio Stay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Galvanize Studio Stay

Address: 45, Lorong Hang Jebat, Melaka 75200, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Melaka State > Central Melaka District > Melaka
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 73 Specialty Lodging in Melaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We provided the following facilities:*Internet access / Wifi*TV*Free Maps & Travel Info* Laundry services*Cafe*Welcome Drink* Free welcome drink+ 1 FREE MEAL per person per dayThings to Note & Policies:Our studio stay are equipped with :*Private room with queen bed, attached bathroom & fully air-conditioned*Dormitory room with double-deck bed, sharing bathroom & fully air-conditioned*Little living room with bean bag*Clean pillows, blanket and quilts (private room only)*Small libraryCheck in : 1400 hrsCheck-out: 1200 hrs*Guests are most welcome to leave luggage at the hostel first, should they arrive before 1400hrs** No smoking in the building area ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Priceline and HostelWorld so you can book your Galvanize Studio Stay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Galvanize Studio Stay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.