We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice guest house” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kawan Kawan Guest House

Kawan Kawan Guest House
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Kawan Kawan Guest House to your Saves list
Kawan Kawan Guest House
No 36 Jalan Tukang Besi, Melaka 75200, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #38 of 178 Melaka B&B and Inns
Te Kuiti, New Zealand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Very nice guest house”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

Really enjoyed my stay here. A very nice place. Reasonable price and very clean. Great shower with good water pressure. Located near Junker street which is the centre of Melaka. Would recommend this place to others.

Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    11
    3
    2
    0
See reviews for
4
3
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Any
English first
Nakhon Ratchasima, Thailand
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014

Hotel located near Junker street, central of Melaka. The room is very clean. Staff is nice. We can walk only 3 mins to riverside. The hotel is opposite the Chinese temple. Dim sum place next door was very nice, too.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014

We booked into this hotel due to a recommendation from a friend. We stayed for two days three nights in their upstair twin room with attached bathroom.

Due to its price (rm80 p/night), at first I thought it would be like some rundown shop lot converted into a cheap hotel. But instead I was suprised by the state of the facilities. Our room is very clean, with air conditioning and comfortable bed. The attached bathroom is also very clean and fitted with hot shower, the water pressure for the shower etc. is very strong and exhilarating to use. Water filter is available downstairs for refills. The staff and owners are very friendly and helpful too.

Attached along the rooms downstairs is a groceries shop run by a very friendly uncle. At night the shop will be closed but there is another convenient store nearby with rentable bicycle as well. Just a block away is the jonker night market, so you can directly head to the market from the guesthouse.

The guesthouse's gate will be closed at night, the key will be passed to you so you can go for an evening stroll or have a few drinks at night.

The only downside is that our room (no. 9) is located at the edge of the building. So we can easily hear loud noises. But overall we had a comfortable stay. Will visit again and a truely a recommendable places to stay.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2014

My friend and I really enjoyed our stay at Kawan Kawan Guest House! Though the rooms are small and basic, containing only a mattress on the raised floor with a pillow and towel (as a blanket) with a small shelf off to the side, they are great value.
Shared bathrooms are cleaned regularly throughout the day and are therefore kept in excellent condition. The rooms close to the bathrooms are quite noisy, though, from both guests using them and staff cleaning them. They offer free wifi internet and it's got a strong signal and is reliable. The staff are friendly enough and not in your face at all.
The Guest House is an easy walk to Jonker St, the Christ Church and Stadthuy's and the riverbank - all of which are well worth the wander. We found it quite easy to walk to shopping malls as well, out near the Mahkota Medical Centre (where some of the buses arrive), though many locals thought we were mad for walking that "far".
There is filtered water available, coffee and tea making facilities, microwave and toaster at the guesthouse, though the common areas are rarely populated by other travellers. We found the staff to be not very chatty.
The Sayang-Sayang guesthouse two doors up is a much better place to meet other people, including the friendly owner, John! In between the Kawan Kawan Guest House and Sayang-Sayang guesthouse is a mini-mart, run by the always-happy Wuan, where can you can get all kinds of drinks and snacks, as well as toiletries. Both Sayang-Sayang guesthouse and JT Mini Mart also rent bicycles.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms near the bathrooms for a quieter sleep
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, null, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2014

The guest house locates at the middle of Melaka, the World Heritage City. Very close to the famous Jonker Street.

Rooms are cozy and comfortable.

However, no breakfast shop is open within the proximity in the morning.

Good place for backpacker.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2013

There was no proper bed in the room. It consisted of a mattress, two dirty looking pillows and a big towel acting as a blanket. There were two face towels as well which of course we didn't use at all. With the room filled of mosquitoes and heavily scented mothballs (I think, as they smelled like mothballs to me) we tried our best to stay out as much as possible, only to return for a short night rest. Even so, it was a restless night as multiple mosquitoes bites were unavoidable. Nevertheless, common bathrooms and toilets were clean and staff were helpful. I requested for an extra blanket and we got it. However, I'm afraid we would not return, for the price paid, we could get a comfortable guest room elsewhere in Jonker Street.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Australia
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

Very clean, which was a nice respite from the filth and not-so-pleasant aromas emanating from the river and streets of this historic town. Kawan Kawan is in a great location just a stroll to Jonker Street and many of the tourist places, and felt very safe. The rooms are very basic and I did have to knock on the door next to ours to ask the giggling girls staying there if they could keep it down a little once it was after midnight and my two teens were trying to get some sleep, which they did without a problem. The share toilets and showers weren't ideal, but they were kept very clean. I'm pretty certain someone went straight in to clean and wipe down as soon as any were used. A great choice if you are looking for budget accommodation.

I'd also like to say that the family that runs the convenience store on the corner next door were wonderful to us. My boy was running a slight fever and wasn't feeling very well and they were very helpful in making sure we had everything that we might need to make him as comfortable as possible and should we have needed a doctor, they were happy t let us know where we could best get access to one. On the morning that we left and had to make our way to Melaka Sentral bus terminal,I asked them about a taxi and they called one of their family friends to come take us in his registered taxi (we were charged less than what it had cost to travel the same trip from the bus terminal the night we first arrived). Really lovely people!

Room Tip: We were upstairs at the front overlooking the street. There was a little bit of noise from the amped...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kawan Kawan Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kawan Kawan Guest House

Address: No 36 Jalan Tukang Besi, Melaka 75200, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Melaka State > Central Melaka District > Melaka
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 178 B&Bs / Inns in Melaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Kawan Kawan Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kawan Kawan Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.