We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best chicken rice i've ever had” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kedai Kopi Chung Wah

Kedai Kopi Chung Wah
18, Jalan Hang Jebat, Melaka, Malaysia
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #37 of 344 restaurants in Melaka
Cuisines: Chinese
Restaurant details
Sandnes, Norway
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“The best chicken rice i've ever had”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

I've been here several times and I must say that i've never ever tasted chicken rice anywhere close to this. Simple menu, simple place, busy atmosphere and a long wait at lunch hours. The wait is worth it, this is the one place to visit if you only have one lunch in Melaka. Highly recommended.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

80% Recommend
    6
    10
    3
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Johor Bahru
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Got to be patient...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

No, we did not have to queue, but the workers were impatient and to a point, rude. Most would be put off by the attitude, but since my friends have not tried the Chicken Rice ball experience, I had to be patient. Can't blame them, they have to deal with the droves of people every weekend. The rice ball itself taste very good, even without the chicken. But they do not sell just the rice balls, you have to order them with the chicken. I tried to buy 100 balls to bring back home. The rice balls are really very yummy!! Don't miss this!
Tip: Go very early in the morning. Yes, they open very early!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petaling Jaya, Wilayah Persekutuan, Malaysia
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Superb!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

Queueeeeee! But it's very nice and worth the wait. Although the rice ball is a bit too watery for me, but overall it's still delicious wif the chicken.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Nice rice balls and big portion of chicken”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

Rice ball is their best seller followed by the chicken. 5 rice balls per person and goes very well with blended specially made chili sauce. Nice to eat, good to try but always a long queue. if the queue is less than one hour, do give it a try. if more than that, I'd rather you try out other stalls and put this in you next trip/day itinerary list.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karaikudi, India
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Simple yet amazing”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013 via mobile

One of my family's favourite breakfast outlets in Melaka. Amongst the better chicken rice restaurants I've come across. Limited menu of steamed chicken and rice balls with a very uniquely blended chilli sauce. Nothing fancy. Have seen some rather negative comments on this restaurant. Can't say I faced any of them. We recently had brunch here on a weekday. Reached at about 11.30 and waited for approx 5 minutes to be seated. 3 of us with drinks cost approx RM38 which I would say was fair value.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kedai Kopi Chung Wah also viewed

Melaka, Central Melaka District
Melaka, Central Melaka District
 
Melaka, Central Melaka District
Melaka, Central Melaka District
 

Been to Kedai Kopi Chung Wah? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kedai Kopi Chung Wah, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.