We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A bit of disappointment...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Bayou Lagoon Park Resort

Save Saved
You added Bayou Lagoon Park Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Bayou Lagoon Park Resort
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Lot 45, Jalan Wakaf Utama | Kampong Bukit Katil, Melaka 75450, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #60 of 142 hotels in Melaka
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“A bit of disappointment...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

Overall was only okay. Was greeted by unfriendly frontdesk which really turned me off!! Some lightings not working, which make the room look spooky! Most staff are unfriendly except the ones in the cafe during bkfast and the cleaners at lobby. I dont know if I could recommend people to this place. Unless they want to just focus on your payable waterpark!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthony W, General Manager at Bayou Lagoon Park Resort, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Dear mummy_reen,
Greetings from Bayou Lagoon Park Resort.
It was indeed a pleasure to have you as our guests during your recent visit to Malacca.
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your valuable feedback during your stay here. We would like to offer our sincerest apologies for the inconvenience that you have experienced and can only ask for your kind indulgence.
The comments about our associate's lack of experience in tending to your requests have been duly noted. Rests assure, your comments have been passed on to all the relevant parties concerned for them to initiate their action while some have been acted upon immediately.
Thank you once again for choosing Bayou Lagoon Park Resort and for taking the time to provide us with your comments.
We hope that you could afford us the opportunity to be of service to you once again in the not too distant future and remain with best regards in the meantime.
Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    9
    20
    39
    21
    16
See reviews for
71
4
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Kuantan, Malaysia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

When we arrived at the resort, we saw so many people at the lobby, so to us it means that this is a favourite tourist resort. We love the spacious and confortable room. We can laze ourselves on bed and on the sofa while watching the television.
The resort has a mini water park, my teenage boys enjoyed them selves too. But parents has to keep their eye on their children as there was no life guard available.
Above all we do enjoyed our stay at the resort.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthony W, General Manager at Bayou Lagoon Park Resort, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Dear RosnahMS,
Thank you for choosing to stay with us during your recent visit to Melaka and trust that you and your family have had a good time.
We appreciate that you have taken the time to provide us with your valuable feedback during your stay here. It is definitely a great help for us to further improve on our hospitality services to our valued guest. We will continue to be committed to providing all our guests and patrons with the quality services that is expected of us.
We would be more than excited to be service to you in the not too distant future and remain with best regards in the meantime.
Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

We were here for one night only. My sister and I brought our little ones (2 and 4-year-old) here for a short getaway. Malacca is always a choice of destination if I want a quick escape from the city. I've stayed at many of its hotels but this is the first time we are here with my bud. So, it was a pleasant surprise when we found out that our 2-bedroom apartment came with a King-size bed in each room, and a bathroom each. That ensured we had privacy, especially when getting the boys in bed so they didn't have to share (and take a longer time to get sleeping). We are vegetarians, and the breakfast buffet, although standard Asian-Continental cuisine, supplied us with enough nourishment. The F&B manager was extremely polite and helpful with providing babychairs and not taking our payment until we were settled. We did not go to the water park, as my sister's son was not well, but I've only heard good things about it.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthony W, General Manager at Bayou Lagoon Park Resort, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Dear Zeenee,
Thank you for choosing us as your preferred accommodation during your recent visit to Melaka and trust that you and your family have had a good time.
We appreciate that you have taken the time to provide us with your valuable feedback during your stay here. We are glad that you have enjoyed the stay with us and your satisfaction to our hospitality service to you.
It would be our honors to be of service to you once again in near future.
Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

We spent a night in bayou resort during school holidays on 29/5. My kids aged 6 and 3 had great time with the water park.Luckily the evening weather was not hot and was very windy during our stay. Therefore my kids had great time playing with the water for hours.It will be good if the resort will have more and bigger trees near the water park as shade for parents who watch their kids at the water park. (trees are available but not big enough).
The Atmosphere was very relaxing. The room was pleasant and living hall was spacious.Toilets were clean. What i like the most about the room is the laminated flooring to avoid dust mite from carpeted floor .
Receptionists are friendly and polite. Pls keep it up!!!
We had our dinner at the in- housecafe. The rojak was delicious with the perfect prawn paste taste.My daughter loves the nasi goreng . I had nasi lemak. Average. Would be better if to serve with bigger piece of rendang chicken.
i saw adults and children swimming pool are on the way.Should be ready in a month time.
we will and love to come back again during school holidays.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthony W, General Manager at Bayou Lagoon Park Resort, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Dear jerrymutc,
First and foremost, we would like to thank you for choosing us as your preferred accommodation during your recent visit to Melaka.
We appreciate that you have taken the time to provide us with your valuable feedback during your stay here. Your generous comments will be passed on to our associates as this would further spur them on in providing excellent guest services. We are pleased to note that you and your family have had a great time at our water park.
We have taken note of your suggestions on the trees around the waterpark area and are actually looking at ways to allow more shades in that area.
Thank you once again for your kind patronage as we look forward to be of service to you and your family again in the not too distant future.
Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013 via mobile

When we arrived, the resort looks like an ordinary apartment rather than resort. The bellmen would not carry our luggage unless told to. When we entered into the room, we were welcomed by a disgusting smell. To our horror, one of the toilet had an unflush poop. OMG! We decided to take a shower in the other toilet. We tried to but no running water. That was the last straw, we asked for a change of room.

We thought it should be a better one but the pedant light for the dinning table is out of order making the entire place dull/dark. Give up - cant bother much asking for someone to fix it or change of room. We decided to go swimming. We swam barely 30 minutes before my 2 sons got injured due to a sharp edge in the pool. After that, we asked for a plaster from the guards at the pool area but they said that they were out of plasters. We complained to the reception but they just brushed the matter of.

Breakfast was just normal.

Overall it was really an unpleasant expirience.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthony W, General Manager at Bayou Lagoon Park Resort, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Dear Wire B,
Greetings from Bayou Lagoon Park Resort.
It was indeed a great honor for us to have the opportunity to serve you during your recent visit at Melaka.
Thank you for spending your valuable time to provide us with your kind comments. We regret to learn of the inconvenience you experienced during your stay with us and we could only ask for your kind indulgence.
We have taken note of the comments that you have mentioned about housekeeping issues and shortcoming on utensils in the rooms. Invaluable feedbacks such as these have been passed to all the relevant parties concerned for them to embark on remedial actions while some have been acted upon immediately. We believe it through such feedbacks that we could improve ourselves at the same time continue to pursue our utmost objectives of providing excellent guests services.
We hope that you could afford us the opportunity to be of service to you once again in your next visit to Melaka in not too distant future and remain with best regards in the meantime.
Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

We paid full price (USD180/night) for a 3 bedroom hotel apartment and only kids pool were opened. Adults pool still under construction. No housekeeping service for the 3 days we were here. Toilet paper enough to just blow nose. No coffee stirrer/tea spoon. Resort completely out of hair dryer. Getting there was a nightmare. Not enough sign boards to guide you there. Their direction in their website was least helpful. When was the last time they changed water at the theme park?

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthony W, General Manager at Bayou Lagoon Park Resort, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Dear Benwon,

Greetings from Bayou Lagoon Park Resort.

It was indeed a g pleasure to have you as our guest during your recent visit at Melaka.

However, please accept our sincerest apologies for the inconvenience you have gone through during you stay here. Thank you for spending your valuable time to provide us with your kind comments. We always assure to value and act upon guest comments in order for us to further enhance our hospitality promises to our valued guests.

We have duly noted the comments that you provided during your stay and have immediately passed on to the relevant party concerned for them to initiate their best practices. At the time of your stay, we were awaiting for the delivery of some hotel amenities & equipment in anticipation of the potential numerous requests. The items which were scheduled to arrive the week before were unprecedentedly delayed and alternative arrangements were made to accommodate the needs of our guests. Still, we apologise for the inconvenience you experienced and could only ask for your kind indulgence.

Further to your inquiry on the water hygiene in the water park, for your kind information, we do processed water treatments in the water park on daily basis in order to assure that the water quality is on tip-top condition for our hotel guests.

At Bayou Lagoon Park Resort, it our sincerest passion to provide our guests with the level of services that they are accustomed to and we continue to work hard to achieve that level.

Thank you once again for choosing Bayou Lagoon Park Resort and for taking the time to provide us with your valuable comments.

We hope that you could afford us the opportunity to be of service to you once again in the not too distant future and remain with best regards in the meantime.

Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

Consider a nice and to relax CONDO stay for family. Stayed 2D1N thinking this condo-style design will be newly clean and great but to be frank not good to stay because sofa quality not in good condition. One of the bedroom got spider on the bed. Master bed-rm got small crockroach in the toilet. The water park acceptable for adult and children to have fun but really need to have shaded area. The floor when we step out of the pool can be quite slippery. There's no activities after 7pm even the games area, the pool tables x2 are out of order and those machines too out-dated that should not waste time and $$$. Front-desk staff mostly pull a long face as if all the guests owe them $$$. Not friendly and don't even bother if the issue doesn't fall under their wings. On the very day after check-in just 1hr later, we asked front-desk for shuttle to Jonker St, they asked us to wait for the staff at bell counter. and to our surprise, it's the worst answer we ever hear... sorry mdm, shuttle bus seat are LIMITED, must advance booking. Finally, the manager in-charge arranged for a driver saying pick-up 7pm sharp only. If we didn't take shuttle bus, going by Taxi cost one-way RM40. As agreed with the resort arrangement and confirmed with driver to pick us at 10pm but at 9pm, we got a call telling us that driver must pick us at 9:45pm at Red Building. We were in such a rush to eat and walk. Now problem arise, waited at Red Building as told from 9:45pm to 11pm. Hey it's not a joke! in between we had to call resort main line and yet the staff said due to MASSIVE Traffic Jam driver may not arrive to the said time. The thought of having to wait at night with small children and causes most of us sick. Worst still, having to spend overseas roaming calls charges. At last, the driver turn up at 11pm, it's different driver/bus. We guessed...internally the resort encounter shuttle issue. How can a resort that accommodate thousand guests only can shuttle 20 people to tourist spot??
2nd day before check-out, in a little small tiny area packed with guests having to squeeze tightly when chairs are so close making people difficult to get up. To sum it all, even the lifts only 3 in a building, wasting guests time to wait and wait because of the small tiny lift serving 11 floors and image the number of guests staying. This so call "Resort" is a place that we won't be going back to stay again even with very special promo. Everything and Anything to sum it up = Terrible, Horrible!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthony W, General Manager at Bayou Lagoon Park Resort, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
Dear jau1809,
Greetings from Bayou Lagoon Park Resort.

It was a pleasure to have you as our guests during your recent visit to Malacca.

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your valuable feedback during your stay here. It is through valuable feedbacks such as from your goodself that we are able to further improve on our services and facilities. For the inconvenience you have experienced whilst staying with us, we would like to profusely apologise.

We would like to assure you the comments received have been passed on to all the relevant parties concerned for them to initiate their action while some have been acted upon immediately. As an example the route of our shuttle service into town has been re-evaluated taking into consideration heavy traffic during peak time at Malacca city.

We advocate continuous improvements process and have been investing timeless efforts, working to achieve the level of services that our guests are normally accustomed to.

Thank you once again for choosing Bayou Lagoon Park Resort and for taking the time to provide us with your valuable comments.

We hope that you could afford us the opportunity to be of service to you once again in the not too distant future and remain with best regards in the meantime.

Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Bayou Lagoon Park Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bayou Lagoon Park Resort

Address: Lot 45, Jalan Wakaf Utama | Kampong Bukit Katil, Melaka 75450, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Melaka State > Central Melaka District > Melaka
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #60 of 142 hotels in Melaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bayou Lagoon Park Resort 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The most exciting resort in Melaka for fun family escapades & business needs! Located a mere 15 minutes away from the historical city of Melaka and within the Ayer Keroh Tourism Belt. Bayou Lagoon Park Resort is an award winning development, comprising an exclusive water park, convention centre, service apartments and retail centre. The unique resort-style service apartment is planned as the perfect destination for the whole family, couples and for your business needs. Yes...Bayou Lagoon Park Resort is your choice for leisure and business destination! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Bayou Lagoon Park Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bayou Lagoon Park Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.