We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Blanca Guest House

Save Saved
You added Casa Blanca Guest House to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Casa Blanca Guest House
2.0 of 5 Guest house   |   10-J, Jalan Laksamana 2, | Taman Kota Laksamana,, Melaka 75200, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #32 of 167 Melaka B&B and Inns
north yorkshire
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“A lovely stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

It's a budget place and its good value for the money. Clean basic room with ensuite, great location and staff were lovely. The 'help yourself' kitchen was really useful and great for making a morning cup of tea and toast. The guesthouse had a lovely welcoming, friendly feel. Melaka itself is a lovely place to visit. We would stay here again.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 20 although this was lovely - the wifi did drop in and out occasionally as its the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    11
    12
    7
    2
    1
See reviews for
4
14
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
JB
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

Me and my three teenage girls just woke up one morning and decided to drive up to Melaka for a stroll. We did a little online research for hotels on our way yet couldn't actually agree on a particular lodging place. Since we were not prepared and just want to spend a relaxing night, we thought it is best to just walk in to a few places and get a feel of the place before we book.

Driving around 'shopping' for a night stay in the most happenin Jonker Street at 4PM on a Monday wasn't easy. Heavy traffic jam forced us to head to a less busy drive way near Melaka River. The girls wanted to have a night boat ride. Thus, we parked into a seemingly safe parking space in front of Casablanca Guest House. Parking was only RM3 per entrance and another RM3 for overnight fee. Cheaper than many parking lots where I lived.

Casablanca Guest House was the first lodging place we walked in. We can't help falling in love with the place in first sight. The entrance was so clean, even the air was pleasant. The kitchen suits us and Wifi is free. The owners were busy handling some other walked in patrons yet greeted us in the first 15 seconds. We just love the homely feeling the moment we stepped in. We had a big air-conditioned family room for four with attached bathroom. For just USD37.00 per night with no hidden cost, we can't ask for anything better.

A well spent safe night stay in Melaka!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penang Island, Malaysia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

Great little hotel in Melaka with massive common area but the star really here isn't the hotel itself the rooms are fine and everything is a little aged. The star is the owners family run help with a smile fantastic service always there to help you would stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013 via mobile

Wow, what a welcome! The family who run this guesthouse are so nice and friendly. For the price it is a lovely place. Nice big room with air con and fan if required. Room is clean and big but there is no housekeeping throughout your stay. There a large common room and a shared kitchen for those wishing to cook. The location is very close to Jonker Street and a the other attractions. From what I understand, mid week prices are much cheaper than the weekend price. Wifi is available from your room, security entrance door and a local map given to you upon arrival. There is a Tourist Centre though at the Taming Sari Tower (great views of the city by the way) which can provide you with a more detailed map! Overall I enjoyed my stay here. The shared bathroom didn't bother me as much as I expected!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
asia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

the owners are very friendly and helpful
the location is walking distance to everything you need to see/doo

midweek the pricing is 50 (shared bathroom) and 60 (private) - the private bathroom room is very good value @60 as the room is big, has a plastic table and chairs and opens onto a shared balcony. The room is basic and old, there are lots of mozzies and in my 4 day stay the room was not cleaned once... but the space is huge and at that low price its very good value.

however at the weekend the 60 private bathroom room would go up-to 110 which pushes them way out of line with competitor hotels. many hotels also raise prices at the w/e as demand rockets with wekkend tourists from around malaysia and singapore, but....not all do.

i found a hotel for 78 per night (at the weekend too) close to the revolving tower (again walking distance to everything) it is very new, modern, own bathroom, 42" plasma, tea/coffee in room, small desk.....basically much better and slightly more than CB week rate and much less that the w/e rate....

so all up, i would stay there midweek if i was on a budget of 60 max...
at the weekend id look elsewhere as there is MUCH better value...

Room Tip: get the private bathroom for +10MR (weekday) not sure at weekend!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013 via mobile

Although this place is pretty basic in terms of facilities in your room, the price is cheap with a common room, an outdoor area and a shared kitchen. The location is convenient however difficult to find at first.
The most outstanding aspect of this place is the service. The owners are absolutely fantastic! Very welcoming and warm towards everyone and definitely go out of their way to help you. It's almost like being at home again where you can relax on the couch and watch tv, have a chat and head to bed. I'd definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

Stayed here with 3 other girl friends one weekend. We stayed at the Family room with 2 double beds and booked via Agoda. Note that Agoda and other booking sites noted the room as only for 2 people (which was weird).

The lady owner was very friendly and welcoming. The room was clean and bigger than I expected. I did however take a peek at the other rooms while walking along the corridor and it looked a bit small. There's wifi in the room along with built in cupboards, towels and mirror. Our room had a door leading out the balcony which was a pleasant surprise for my smoking roommates as they didnt have to go downstairs and outside.

There's parking right outside the guesthouse if you're driving. Its Rm5 per entry + RM 5 for overnight parking. Attractions such as Jonker Street & the Dutch Square (red buildings) are just a walk away. Its not too close enough to Jonker to make it noisy but not far away that you cant walk.

The entrance has a electronic door lock so you're given the passcode when you check in as well as a map/list of interesting places to go and to eat. We spotted some police walking around at night nearby so it was a pretty safe place.

Loved the place and how cozy it was. Would consider staying here again

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Casa Blanca Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Blanca Guest House

Address: 10-J, Jalan Laksamana 2, | Taman Kota Laksamana,, Melaka 75200, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Melaka State > Central Melaka District > Melaka
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 167 B&Bs / Inns in Melaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Casa Blanca Guest House 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Venere, Tingo and Expedia so you can book your Casa Blanca Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa Blanca Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.