We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Guesthouse at a great price!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Blanca Guest House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Casa Blanca Guest House to your Saves list
Casa Blanca Guest House
2.0 of 5 Guest house   |   10-J, Jalan Laksamana 2, | Taman Kota Laksamana,, Melaka 75200, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #41 of 184 Melaka B&B and Inns
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Amazing Guesthouse at a great price!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

We arrived in Melaka and had a bad experience with our first guesthouse we looked at. We walked out and continued on to the Casa Blanca Guesthouse, as we found it was rated highly on Agoda.

Immediately upon walking in, I knew we had to stay there. The guesthouse is very CLEAN, OPEN, SPACIOUS, has great SECURITY, and more! When they told us the price, I couldn't believe it was in our price range. Our room, a double room with AC and shared bathroom, cost us 60 MYR per night. They said during the week it was cheaper... around 50 MYR. We were paying 55 MYR in KL for a rather rundown, but clean guesthouse, that was a similar distance from the action in Chinatown. We don't like to be right in the action, due to noise. We want a nice, quiet place to stay. Casa Blanca offered us two wonderful nights sleep! The owners are so friendly and willing to help in any way they can! There are also laundry facilities for free for guests and a simple breakfast included. One thing we really liked was a security-coded entry door also, as some guesthouses just seem to have people coming and going at random all day... makes you wonder about your stuff. We had an added sense of security and our things were safe and sound! It was basic with it's furnishings, but everything we could ask for! We loved hanging out on the back porch with our friends at night.

Staying here made us wish we hadn't spent 5 nights in Kuala Lumpur and had spent them here. Melaka was a great little town for us. A bit touristy on the weekend (loads of Asian tourists), but we were there for Chinese New Year celebrations and there was an awesome parade at the night market.

We went to one of the recommended restaurants, Pak Putra Indian restaurant and loved the food! It was a bit expensive compared to what we were used to spending in Malaysia, but we felt the splurge was worth it. Our meal still totaled only 25 MYR for the two of us with some nice fresh juice! Our second day, we ate at the local market (not Jonker) and had the most amazing Poh-Piah. We also wondered up and down the Jonker walk sampling all the different street foods. We recommend going to this local market as the locals are friendly there and this is where the locals shop for their fruits, veggies, and other random things.

Stay here and you won't be disappointed. It has everything a budget traveler needs (but might be a bit of a splurge for some on a budget... worth it though) and is nice enough that we could imagine our more discerning parents staying there and really enjoying it!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    14
    7
    3
    1
See reviews for
4
16
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Cedar Rapids, Iowa, United States
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

I like the hotel for:

(1) Its location: very close to the Jonker street. In fact, Melaka is quite a small town, and everything is centered around this Jonker/Dutch Square area. From the hotel, you can walk to almost all attraction sites. In fact, I like that the hotel is close, but not actually located in the Jonker street because it's extremely crowded, noisy and might not be very clean in this area.

If you go by bus from Kuala Lumpur, from Melaka Sentral you can take a taxi to the hotel or take the local bus #17 to the Dutch square. Walk to the other side (Jonker street part), turn left, walk along the river, and make another right turn. The guesthouse is kind of opposite to Casa del Rio hotel, which you can see from afar. The taxi would cost you MR 20 while the bus would take you RM 1.3 only. The bus is quite crowded on the way to the center, but it was not bad.

(2) The second thing I like about the hotel is its owners. They are quite nice, friendly and you can get to know a lot about the city by seating on the couch and talk to them.

(3) The room was quite spacious. I got a room with private bath and the balcony (from which you can see the parking lot :P). But it's nice, though, you can walk outside of your room and have a quick snack. The bathroom was not really new, but it works. We stayed in Melaka for 1 day so that was not the huge problem for me. In the end, the rate of the room was $25 so it's a really good value overall.

The hotel is close to some of the most recommended restaurants in town. However, I have to say that the food in Melaka is not quite as awesome as the review said.

My recommended place is the Chung Wah chicken rice ball restaurant (opposite to the Jonker street). Chicken rice ball is a specialty in town so you ought to try it. As any other review, I'm not really fascinated by the rice ball, normal rice would be better. But their chicken was quite tasty. Try their lime juice also, I think it makes a perfect match with their rice ball.

The hotel is also close to the Restoran Pak Putra, which is famous for its chicken tandoor and nans (the bread). I think it's good, but not that amazing. I don't really like the curry here though.

Nancy's kitchen is also a recommended place, but I did not enjoy it that much, unfortunately.

Room Tip: Choose a room with a private bathroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

Stayed here 2 nights in a very spacious double with attached bathroom, air condition and a huge terrace for 85 MR per night. Would definitely stay here again. Room is simple, but all was spotlessly clean and we had WiFi in our room. The reception area is big and very friendly and there are 2 terraces for hanging out. Location is also good, only 5 minutes away from the very touristic Jonker Street and very quiet.

Staff is very nice and friendly and provides with a map and recommendations for dining e.g. You can also use the kitchen and their washing machine. Reservations can be made on booking.com

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Netherlands
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

We have staid 3 nights in the guest house. We booked the deluxe double room with own bathroom. The room and the guesthouse were clean. Though some modernisation effort is visible, some things (e.g. the bathroom equipment) is outdated. The location is great, you are in 2 minutes at the Jonker street. We really liked the terasses on both sides of the guesthouse, good place to chill. The owners are very friendly and helped with finding things and organzing a taxi. Given the price (110 on Friday and Saturday, or maybe there was ome 'high-season', and 60 on a Sunday) the location was a very good deal to stay.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Top Contributor
245 reviews 245 reviews
122 hotel reviews
Reviews in 106 cities Reviews in 106 cities
547 helpful votes 547 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

I was not so impressed by the guest house at all, I don’t think this guesthouse is really WOW type for anyone ! Very simple and basic.

It is not exactly White House. Exterior is painted in red. The only reception area is very roomy and white, but the room I stayed is super simple and has no taste. Just bed and bedside table like. At least, there is A/C in each room, which is good, but everybody has to share bathrooms. There is no room attached bathroom.

There is a big kitchen where you can have free breakfast, but it is also simple. Bread and coffee/tea. Don not expect, but you can use kitchen tool freely. There is a nice patio area just in front of the kitchen. That is where you usually see staff. Staff seems nice but I rarely had a chance to talk to them. Not everybody speaks excellent English.

Guest House is maintained neat, location is not bad, 1 minutes walking to Jonker Street. Overall, it is not bad, but I would try another place next time I am back to Melaka.

Room Tip: There might be rooms without window, when booking make sure. It is 2 storey guesthouse.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Casa Blanca Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Blanca Guest House

Address: 10-J, Jalan Laksamana 2, | Taman Kota Laksamana,, Melaka 75200, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Melaka State > Central Melaka District > Melaka
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 184 B&Bs / Inns in Melaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Casa Blanca Guest House 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, HostelWorld and Hotels.com so you can book your Casa Blanca Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa Blanca Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.