We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quite, Relaxing with spacious room” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Neem@Banda Hilir

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added The Neem@Banda Hilir to your Saves list
The Neem@Banda Hilir
117A, Jalan Parameswara | Banda Hilir, Melaka 75000, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 72 Specialty Lodging in Melaka
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan, Malaysia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Quite, Relaxing with spacious room”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

Relaxing place to stay, away from the busy streets but still quite accessible to tourist spot like Jonker Street and Dataran Pahlawan shopping complex.

The room was quite spacious even though I stay in the smallest room, their shower/toilet was special too with see through roofs on top so that the light will go thru it during the day saving electrical cost.But during the night it is a bit dark because the light was block by the bamboo stick wall.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    13
    5
    0
    0
See reviews for
15
12
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
leeds
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014

Malacca did not quite live up to expectations, but this hotel is a pleasant place to stay. It is centrally located. It takes about 10 minutes to walk to the main attractions. The accomodation is in four very roomy and simple but tastefully decorated cottages arranged around a swimming pool. It is grewat to come back to ot simplyly spending time relaxing.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2013

Spent just 1 night with my family, but enjoyed it very much. Wish we could have stayed longer. Very cosy place with everything you would need. Rooms were very spacious. Pool was small but sufficient for dip.

Location is great for foodies. Close to all the nyonya restaurants!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kuala lumpur
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

The Neem is a tree whose medicinal properties and benefits were discovered by Indians over 5000 years ago. The Neem @ Banda Hilir, Melaka is right in the city of Melaka but located away from noise and bustle of city life, it has a rustic charm all its own and all the chalets are set among various species of trees with the Neem. tree dominating, hence its name.

The amenities available at the Neem @ Banda Hilir are admitted,y basic but all that one needs for a quiet , simple, no frills holiday have been provided. The polite, helpful, courteous and friendly staff add to the Neem's charm. City attractions such as shopping, complexes, cinemas, eateries, The A Famosa, St Paul's Hill, Stadthuys buildings and even Jonker walk are all within walking distance.

If one wishes to savour, for a change, a simple holiday in quiet and peaceful surroundings, close to nature with basic amenities, the Neem @ Banda Hilir with its rustic charm will appeal to you.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

We were a group of youth from a church in KL who spend our 4 days 3 nights Church Camp at the Neem. We took hold of all the 4 chalets available and added a few beds to accommodate this 23 people camp. The groups were especially amazed by the sincerity of the staffs there who willingly helped us as much as possible. Great environment and location as we were just about 20 mins walk away from Jonker Street. The swimming pool was just a few feet away from each chalet and the youths enjoyed a game in the pool. Food was also excellent most times and we were also treated to a BBQ chicken for one dinner. Overall, it was a great experience living in the Neem, and we will definitely come back again in the future.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan, Malaysia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

Recently, our church youth group were all looking for a venue to hold their annual youth camp. We stumbled upon The Neem by accident when we met up with some friends and heard of the excellent service and serene surroundings.

True to the word getting around, the place was a perfect getaway for our church youth group. The pool just a step away from their chalets became an avenue of coolness when they could just go for a dip into the pool to relieve themselves from the heat. We even came up with our own version of the 'Captain ball' game in the pool which each of us enjoyed so very much!

The chalets were perfectly managed for our group of 23 consisting of 20 youths and 3 adults. The rooms were so uniquely designed that just by stepping into the chalets, it already brought so much relieve to the youths from the tensions and bustle of their every day school life in school. We were also provided with a simple meeting chalet fitted with our last minute requests of a projector and chairs. It was so cosy to be in the meeting room which was so uniquely designed for our youth camp meeting place. The meeting room was also fitted with wifi for our easy use to surf the net.

The food were if there can be a word to it, were exceedingly fantabulous! (fantastic+fabulous). Indeed, it is once in a life time to be able to dine in 5 star quality food in such a serene environment covered by the green sceneries all around the compound of the Neem. We thoroughly enjoyed every meal that was served unto us. Every morning, when the youths did their devotions, they could just sit on the ground and reflect on the wonders of the LORD's creation just by looking all around the surroundings of the Neem.

The service of the staffs were also top notch! There were so many last minute requests that were made but still the staff handled it exceedingly well! We would surely love to congratulate Aunty Janet, Aunty Agnes and her daughter who managed the chalets and its surroundings very very well. You all made our stay surely so so so so so so very comfortable.

We invited a group of Malaccan youths over for one of our activities over our 4 days 3 nights camp and the Malaccans were also surprised that there ever existed such a place like Neem with its serenity and exceedingly incredible service.

The Neem was also just a few steps away from the famous A Famosa, the Jonker Street and the Dahtaran Pahlawan. It was just so easy for us to make our ways to this very places.

Indeed, I will surely recommend this place with all my heart to all those, whether it be youth, or office colleagues, or any kind of group activities stay, as the place can surely be an eye opener by the high level of service provided and close proximity to the various famous places around Melaka.

For those seeking out a romantic getaway, I'll also strongly recommend as just by sitting below a Neem tree and holding your wife/ beloved's hands whilst sipping the delicious coffee served, you may just lose your mind in time.

A truly strongly recommended place this is!

- A very captivated young man-

Room Tip: All the rooms are excellently placed and uniquely designed so in honestly, all the rooms are highly...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan, Malaysia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

Love the place very much. The first time I went there was with my family, this is my second time here with my boyfriend. I personally think that this place is perfect for couples. My boyfriend and I spend our afternoon at the resort, away from the very hot sun. The resort have a lovely 24/7 swimming pool a few steps away from our chalet and a 24/7 trampoline beside the pool. The chalet is nicely decorated in a simple way while giving off a homey feeling to it. The resort gives really friendly services.

Upon arrival, we took a cool bath and nap till tea time which was prepared by the resort, serving foods of Melacca. Thank you for preparing the meal for us. The place is clean and refreshing, if you ignore the mosquitoes. Oh! And there's wifi. I love the way the resort is located at 50 miles radius from...everything. After tea time, we went shopping at a nearby mall, about 10 minutes walk away from the resort (escaping the hot sun). Took a dip in the pool in the evening then we were off to Jonker Street, 15 to 20 mins walk from the resort, after a bath around late evening. Jonker Street is a famous night market in Melacca, filled with crowds of people, a variety of traditional foods of Melacca, street performances and other various stuff which are sold such as hair accessories and garments, medicines and gadgets. I love the "Chicken Rice Ball", a must to try when you're at Melacca. Everything at Jonker Street is affordable, considerably cheap for my boyfriend and I.

There are a lot of museums in Melacca which are stone throws away from the resorts. I would have liked it better if there is a water boiler in the room, so that I could make a warm drink for myself before sleep. A simple breakfast is prepared the next morning. It's very relaxing having it beside the pool if you wake up early to have breakfast, because it starts getting warmer at 10 a.m.

Room Tip: Take the chalet called Cocos.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Neem@Banda Hilir? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Neem@Banda Hilir

Address: 117A, Jalan Parameswara | Banda Hilir, Melaka 75000, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Melaka State > Central Melaka District > Melaka
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 72 Specialty Lodging in Melaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Neem is a quaint collection of four rustic chalets that were once the workers’ living quarters of a Dutch Colonial coconut plantation belonging to one of the last Dutch Governors of Malacca. The chalets are collectively known as the Neem due to the magical and therapeutic Neem trees found on the common grounds of this homestead together with the humongous Ketapang trees, coconut trees, mango trees, frangipanis, ixoras and the odd kelor tree. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your The Neem@Banda Hilir reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Neem@Banda Hilir, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.