We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Karim CT Guesthouse

Karim CT Guesthouse
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Karim CT Guesthouse to your Saves list
Karim CT Guesthouse
No.113-1, Jalan Temenggong , Bukit Cina, Melaka 75000, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 67 Specialty Lodging in Melaka
Cologne, Germany
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Loved it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

we were three girls and shared a room, the room was without a window but it was clean and the beds were good (one double and a single). One of us was arriving later and Karim went to the bus station to help her out which bus to take to the guesthouse. We did not even ask it, he just did it, even gave her some money, because she only had 50 MYR and the bus driver would not take it. One day they even cooked for us for lunch time. Really nice and friendly. Close to everything you might need (fruit market, supermarket, town center, tourist attractions aso) breakfast included, and as they were sitting in the eating area with us, they always offered their fruits to us too. Once even made special mango pudding for us. never had such a nice place.

Room Tip: get an aircon room, as it gets quiet hot in the fan only rooms. worth the extra money
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    13
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
11
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Vacoas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

Excellent location,even at night can walk around.Karim & wife are very friendly & cooked for us as my wife is vegetarian.The rooms are vey clean & well maintained.We shall stay here next time in melaka.

Room Tip: Rooms with A/C & bathroom & toilet are better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2014

karim and his wife are very friendly and helpful,good location & fair price.The place is very clean and neat.Difinetly will come back to stay at this place whenever I come back to visit Malacca.Please do booked and stayed here.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014

After staying two nights at a truly filthy guesthouse in KL, I was so relieved to see the SHINING stairs of Karim's guesthouse leading up to an equally spic and span space. We were given a lovely double room with high ceilings, window and a comfy bed at the same price (50 RM) as one without a window, I suppose because there was a confusion with the booking? Anyway, Karim showed us all the sites on a map, though we didn't see him or the staff much after. The bathrooms were clean and had hot water, toilet paper was provided, and the location in Little India was good -- a short 5 min walk to Chinatown. Street noise was a bit much in our room (there's an open air restaurant opposite) but at this point, cleanliness and a decent bed is SO much more important! There are other rooms available anyway which are further from the street. Only drawback: not much of a social atmosphere. That said, Melaka seems to be dead in general in the middle of the week, when we went. Recommend!

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cologne, Germany
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

Karim picked us up from the busstation and we came with him, because he seemed to be very friendly, he first did a sightseeingtour through melaka with his car with us and brougt us then to his guesthouse. There it is very quiet and his wife is very friedldy. It was more a feeling like living in a familiy than beeing in a hostel. The room are big enough and clean! At the end of our Stay he brought us with his car to a beautiful Mosk at the seaside. Was great!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

This was our first experience of a 'backpackers' lodgings and to be fair it was pretty much what we expected.
Not anything fancy but it was clean and comfortable, we had air con, essential, our own shower/toilet and on the whole it was quiet.
BUT this guesthouse has the nicest kindest host and it's Karim that makes the place tick, he is just such a congenial host and we are happy to have met him.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013 via mobile

My friend Becky and I had the most amazing time here. As soon as we arrived karim and ct made us feel so welcome. We were given towels and shown to our room which has a super comfy bed. The place is very clean and had a very warm and friendly feel about it. Karim and ct cooked us lunch two times during our stay which was absolutely delicious. They really went out of there way which we are so greaterful for. We rented bicycles out from them and they gave us maps and directions for all the top places in Melaka.
On the Friday night karim also took us to a night club, drove us there himself and Introduced us to his friends and some locals. We had an amazing time drinking and dancing at the club with him!
During our stay we were also able to watch tv when ever we wanted and ct even let us put on a DVD we bought. When we were leaving karim actually brought us to KL sentral and gave us a little parting gift.
Overall this was one of our favourite places on our trip, they went out of their way to make us feel comfortable and help us, and it won't be forgotten! :)

Debra and Becky. Northern Ireland.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Karim CT Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Karim CT Guesthouse

Address: No.113-1, Jalan Temenggong , Bukit Cina, Melaka 75000, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Melaka State > Central Melaka District > Melaka
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 67 Specialty Lodging in Melaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Karim CT Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Karim CT Guesthouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.