We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Explorer Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Explorer Hotel to your Saves list
The Explorer Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   No. 1 Jalan Plaza Merdeka, Plaza Merdeka, Melaka 75000, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #32 of 149 Hotels in Melaka
Malaysia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Convenient location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

The hotel was located opposite Mahkota Parade and Dataran Pahlawan Melaka Megamall.The location was convenient as it was not too far from Jonker street.
We reached the hotel around 5pm on Saturday. When checked in time, we were informed that the rooms were not ready due to house cleaning not completed. We booked 2 rooms. After waited for 10 minutes, only 1 room was allowed to check in. The other room needed another 10 minutes. We knew the hotel was fully booked that weekend but it was not a good reason as we already checked in quite late.
The room was very basic. A bed, kettle, coffee & tea, TV, wifi, and toiletries set.
The room we have has water leaking problem, bath room towel was wet when we came back from night market. We did not call front desk as it was late and we only stay a night.
Would stay here again but hoping for a better service.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    31
    31
    5
    3
See reviews for
21
22
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Klang, Selangor, Malaysia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

Hotel's location is great because it is walking distance to many attractions like the Taming Sari, Museums, Fort, River Cruise. It is much easier to walk to these places rather than driving around because of the traffic jam.

Parking is easy too because they have a parking lot. Shopping and eating are no problem as there are many places nearby.

Also, the staff are trustworthy because we accidentally left our ring at room. When we called, the staff at the reception (can't remember her name) went and searched. She found the ring and promised to courier it but we told that we will come and get it ourselves. We went back after 1 week and managed to get it without any hassle from the person in charge.

Will definitely come back!

Room Tip: Get the one facing the main road as the view is better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

Room is basic and clean. Bed is comfortable. Limited size but just nice. Location perfect! Opposite to mahkota mall and night market every friday night. Walking distance to jonker walk about 15minute. McD across the street. Would stay here again

Stayed May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

Booked The Explorer Hotel during our short 2 days getaway at Melaka. Prior to booking, I had reminded myself, do not expect too much as this is a budget hotel. Guess what I was right.

The room was given minimum decorations and they do not even have a cupboard to hang our clothes. The soap dispenser does not work as it was jammed and the floor was slightly dirty.

There is only factor that makes this hotel worth the stay. The location. It is only less than 1 minutes walk to Mahkota Plza and directly opposite is Dataran Pahlawan Melaka Megamall. Jonker Walk is only less than 10 minutes walk away.

If you want a hotel that is low in price with a superb location, this is the hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

Had a one night stay at this hotel. Drove from singapore to here with the help of GPS navigator.. No trouble as the signages of the hotel could be seen clearly next to Mahkota parade shopping mall. The hotel has an adjacent multi- storey carpark, the ticket can be validated at the hotel reception each time you drive out. Hotel reception was polite and swift. Room was really small, but the good location compensated for that. Stayed in a room on the 4th floor near the front end of the long corridor, but could hear the loud thumping disco music coming from nearby nightclubs even at 2am!

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014 via mobile

Room is extremely small for MYR170 per night.

Pictures on their website are rather misleading.

Reception personnel were rude and arrogant when we complained about the room rate.

We'll never stay here again.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2014

A great value for money! Overall it was an excellent for me, the concept of the hotel is just like Tune Hotel but it's cheaper therefore don't expect much from the staff. Parking here is free so it's good for locals who drove to melacca. The shopping mall is just next door so getting food wasn't a problem. It was a really convenient place to stay.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Explorer Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Explorer Hotel

Address: No. 1 Jalan Plaza Merdeka, Plaza Merdeka, Melaka 75000, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Melaka State > Central Melaka District > Melaka
Amenities:
Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 149 Hotels in Melaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Explorer Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 143
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Despegar.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your The Explorer Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Explorer Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.