We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Explorer Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The Explorer Hotel to your Saves list
The Explorer Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   No. 1 Jalan Plaza Merdeka, Plaza Merdeka, Melaka 75000, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #55 of 156 Hotels in Melaka
Malaysia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Convenient location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

The hotel was located opposite Mahkota Parade and Dataran Pahlawan Melaka Megamall.The location was convenient as it was not too far from Jonker street.
We reached the hotel around 5pm on Saturday. When checked in time, we were informed that the rooms were not ready due to house cleaning not completed. We booked 2 rooms. After waited for 10 minutes, only 1 room was allowed to check in. The other room needed another 10 minutes. We knew the hotel was fully booked that weekend but it was not a good reason as we already checked in quite late.
The room was very basic. A bed, kettle, coffee & tea, TV, wifi, and toiletries set.
The room we have has water leaking problem, bath room towel was wet when we came back from night market. We did not call front desk as it was late and we only stay a night.
Would stay here again but hoping for a better service.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LazyTeddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Klang, Selangor, Malaysia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

Hotel's location is great because it is walking distance to many attractions like the Taming Sari, Museums, Fort, River Cruise. It is much easier to walk to these places rather than driving around because of the traffic jam.

Parking is easy too because they have a parking lot. Shopping and eating are no problem as there are many places nearby.

Also, the staff are trustworthy because we accidentally left our ring at room. When we called, the staff at the reception (can't remember her name) went and searched. She found the ring and promised to courier it but we told that we will come and get it ourselves. We went back after 1 week and managed to get it without any hassle from the person in charge.

Will definitely come back!

Room Tip: Get the one facing the main road as the view is better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank shivna_luv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014 via mobile

Room is basic and clean. Bed is comfortable. Limited size but just nice. Location perfect! Opposite to mahkota mall and night market every friday night. Walking distance to jonker walk about 15minute. McD across the street. Would stay here again

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank rOd1411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
35 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

Booked The Explorer Hotel during our short 2 days getaway at Melaka. Prior to booking, I had reminded myself, do not expect too much as this is a budget hotel. Guess what I was right.

The room was given minimum decorations and they do not even have a cupboard to hang our clothes. The soap dispenser does not work as it was jammed and the floor was slightly dirty.

There is only factor that makes this hotel worth the stay. The location. It is only less than 1 minutes walk to Mahkota Plza and directly opposite is Dataran Pahlawan Melaka Megamall. Jonker Walk is only less than 10 minutes walk away.

If you want a hotel that is low in price with a superb location, this is the hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dominic_Ho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014 via mobile

Had a one night stay at this hotel. Drove from singapore to here with the help of GPS navigator.. No trouble as the signages of the hotel could be seen clearly next to Mahkota parade shopping mall. The hotel has an adjacent multi- storey carpark, the ticket can be validated at the hotel reception each time you drive out. Hotel reception was polite and swift. Room was really small, but the good location compensated for that. Stayed in a room on the 4th floor near the front end of the long corridor, but could hear the loud thumping disco music coming from nearby nightclubs even at 2am!

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Tennis123456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014 via mobile

Room is extremely small for MYR170 per night.

Pictures on their website are rather misleading.

Reception personnel were rude and arrogant when we complained about the room rate.

We'll never stay here again.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank jyap11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Melaka hotels

Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2014

A great value for money! Overall it was an excellent for me, the concept of the hotel is just like Tune Hotel but it's cheaper therefore don't expect much from the staff. Parking here is free so it's good for locals who drove to melacca. The shopping mall is just next door so getting food wasn't a problem. It was a really convenient place to stay.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jiashinlee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melaka hotels
0.2 mi away
Midcity Hotel Melaka
Midcity Hotel Melaka
#61 of 156 in Melaka
3.5 of 5 stars 39 reviews
1.5 mi away
Swan Garden Hotel
Swan Garden Hotel
#45 of 156 in Melaka
3.5 of 5 stars 63 reviews
0.5 mi away
Arenaa De Luxe Hotel
Arenaa De Luxe Hotel
#54 of 156 in Melaka
3.5 of 5 stars 67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Imperial Heritage Melaka
Imperial Heritage Melaka
#40 of 156 in Melaka
3.5 of 5 stars 95 reviews
0.4 mi away
Fenix Inn
Fenix Inn
#18 of 156 in Melaka
3.5 of 5 stars 419 reviews
1.0 mi away
Mimosa Hotel
Mimosa Hotel
#33 of 156 in Melaka
3.5 of 5 stars 130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Explorer Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Explorer Hotel

Address: No. 1 Jalan Plaza Merdeka, Plaza Merdeka, Melaka 75000, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Melaka State > Central Melaka District > Melaka
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #55 of 156 Hotels in Melaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Explorer Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 143
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire and Expedia so you can book your The Explorer Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing