We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location , poor parking service” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Boutel Heritage House, Jonker St

Save Saved
You added Boutel Heritage House, Jonker St to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Boutel Heritage House, Jonker St
39 Jalan Kampung Hulu, Melaka 75100, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #30 of 65 Specialty lodging in Melaka
Paro, Bhutan
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Great location , poor parking service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

Cant deny for those who wish to spend day at heart of Malacca this is the hotel for you real close to all famous hotspot just within walking distance.We travelled by car this is real headache, you really need to waste your time on searching parking the closest is hill top parking but it was always full.Almost near 2 hours spending on waiting for parking space plus heavy traffic.Somemore the parking ticket is a little unique u need to buy a ticket that not all shop offer this service and scratch in and displayed on the front mirror.There is a time selling this ticket and timing is important and i dont quite remember how it works but I find it real troublesome.Hotel room is nice but not the exterior.There is no pool at this hotel.It is if not mistaken old shop turn to boutique hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

12 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    3
    5
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
6
1
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

Just sharing my experience when me and my family are staying there on 18th of May 2013. There were 12 ppl of us. Location was good, near jonker street and the layout of each room was beautifully decorated.
There are few things which the owner should taken point off: At night, there were cockroaches at ground floor, not much but a couple of it. Besides, next to the boutel is a warehouse, so is understandable that there are insects. Mosquitoes were bad. Please buy mosquitoes spray opposite which is a grocery place and spray in the room. Mosquitoes coil is provided. But having it in the aircon room with mosquitoes coil? Not for me.

If you are sleeping in the room facing the room, please be aware the noise from the street. No noise proof. Middle of the night, we could hear mouse on top of the room. About 3am, the next door warehouse alarm will be turn on and will last for 30 minutes. You will not get any sleep from there and then.

Overall is a nice boutel house, but need to taken some of the pointers above to improve.

Thanks!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

We stayed in this boutel for 3 days and 2 nights. Our group was composed of 3 families with kids and a couple other friends. Though our group was big, there were plenty of rooms (and space) for the stay to be an enjoyable and comfortable one.

There are plenty of beds, an extra mattress, and even a cot for your baby. The sheets and pillows are clean. No bed bugs. :)

A TV with a DVD/MP3 player can keep you entertained in the living room. If you want to take a stroll on the streets, you can also use 2 of their old-style (classic bicycles), free of charge of course.

The kitchen is loaded with cooking and eating utensils. Some supplies for cooking are even available.

The location is very convenient as it is in front of a supermarket and it is only a few streets away from Jonker street. A few minutes' walk will also take you to the river banks, where you can exercise (jog/walk) to lose what you gained from the Jonker street eating frenzy. :)

Though you can park at least one car in front of the boutel, we did not utilize the space as it is frequently blocked by the shop trucks in the morning. Parking spaces across the mosque and supermarket (a few meters away from the boutel) are abundant anyway. There are also parking spaces along the riverbanks.

I would recommend the place especially if you are travelling in a big group, with or without children.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mal
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

rooms are nicely decorated, beds are still new and comfortable to sleep on and they meet our basic needs.
however, if, without further and proper housekeeping and maintenance done on the air-con, wash basin at the back of the house (ground floor), this nice place will turn into what an old building will be.
air-cons were leaking and spider-webs are seen inside the bedroom. the last bedroom upstair leaks when it rains. the wash basin at the back of the house (ground floor) - leaking and cos the floor mat wet hence comes the unpleasant smell.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012 via mobile

excellent place for family or groups of couple. unique design, clean and great locations in the heart of tourist spot. walking distance to the most famous street in Malacca.
overall, excellent place to stay. will come again for sure.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

Decent clean boutel and convenient location. Rooms are clean and well furnished and the feeling is just like home. I would recommend for group/large family outing for those going to Melacca. I just love the location as it is just a walking distance to some famous heritage places without parking car hassle. I will definitely come back again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seremban, Malaysia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

Found this heritage boutel in Melaka, it's uniquely designed, spacious, clean and comfortable. Especially great for big groups. The location is wonderful, it's just walking distance from shopping and great food. It is reasonably price.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Travelers also viewed these Melaka hotels
Lodge, Free Par...
Show More
0.0 mi away
Calanthe Artisan Loft
Calanthe Artisan Loft
#1 of 65 in Melaka
5.0 of 5 stars 24 reviews
Lodge, Independ...
Show More
0.0 mi away
Voyage Cottage Lodge
Voyage Cottage Lodge
#34 of 65 in Melaka
3.0 of 5 stars 10 reviews
Hostel, Lodge...
Show More
0.0 mi away
Galvanize Studio Stay
Galvanize Studio Stay
#26 of 65 in Melaka
4.0 of 5 stars 4 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mid-range, Lodg...
Show More
0.0 mi away
Sunshine Inn Plus
Sunshine Inn Plus
#21 of 65 in Melaka
4.0 of 5 stars 8 reviews
Free internet...
Show More
0.0 mi away
Sunflower House
Sunflower House
#22 of 65 in Melaka
4.0 of 5 stars 10 reviews
, Free internet...
Show More
0.0 mi away
hangout@jonker
hangout@jonker
#33 of 167 in Melaka
4.0 of 5 stars 101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boutel Heritage House, Jonker St? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boutel Heritage House, Jonker St

Address: 39 Jalan Kampung Hulu, Melaka 75100, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Melaka State > Central Melaka District > Melaka
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 65 Specialty lodging in Melaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rent the whole house for your vacation stay, party, event, wedding function, social gathering or product launches. Narrow & long heritage house with big rooms.2 bicycles FOC for you to cycle around & explore the town. Kitchen for simple cooking. It is very close to all the happening places, 5 mins walk to Jonker Street, 1 min walk to Masjid Kampung Hulu & River Walk.Car park & convenience store opposite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Boutel Heritage House, Jonker St reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Boutel Heritage House, Jonker St, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.