We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good weekend getaway. It's not too bad, actually.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of A'Famosa Resort Hotel Melaka

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added A'Famosa Resort Hotel Melaka to your Saves list
A'Famosa Resort Hotel Melaka
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Jalan Kemus, Simpang Empat, Alor Gajah, Melaka 78000, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #106 of 155 Hotels in Melaka
Singapore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Good weekend getaway. It's not too bad, actually.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2011

Just like some reviewers, my close friend and I went ahead with our plan of 3D2N stay in A'Famosa Hotel Melaka with our children, despite soooo many unbelievable lousy reviews we've read.

We were very intimidated by 99% of the negative reviews and were thinking of giving up the plan, initially. However, to think of another place suitable for 2 families of 5 females travelers (husbands did not join), we finally decided to stick to A'Famosa. Firstly, it is not so far from Singapore. Secondly, this is a place where everything is provided for, e.g. accommodation, logistics, attractions, meals and etc, esp if you book the package from your local tour agent (SIN$250 per pax, all inclusive). You do not have to worry about anything else, beside packing your own clothes and appearing at the departure point on the (departure) day.

Accommodation: Not sure about the hotel resort and bungalow, we were pretty satisfied with the stay at the D'savoy Condotel (2-bedroom). Unlike most of the experiences of other reviewers, we did NOT experience leaking air con, malfunctioning fridge, water heater and electrical kettle, etc. In fact, the air-conditioners were quiet and working so well that we had to adjust the temp of all the air cons (includ. in the living hall) to 24C. The beds looked fine and clean (except for some insect bites appeared on my girl's and my neck on the second night sleep). The high floor unit (#12) was windy, fresh air and beautiful view from the balcony. We even enjoyed the firework (displayed by carnival show in CowBoy town) from our balcony during the night. TV in the living hall is not a LCD screen, but it has Astro with many channels including star movies channel. Overall, it was fine and housekeeping was done swiftly, too.

Attractions: Went on a Friday, and we visited the Water World on the day itself and spent about 3 hours there from 4pm. The place was quiet on Friday afternoon, and hence, we did not encountered long lines and crowds. Basically, we had the place by ourselves! We took the rides again and again, as our wished. Without the crowds, 3-hour fun was great and sufficed!

We went to the Cowboy town in the evening after refreshing ourselves back in the Condotel, the Carnival show was so-so, but don't miss the generous firework display that lasted a few minute long! So beautiful.

Animal Safari visit, the next morning. I dared not pin any hope on this in the beginning, but surprisingly, it was the most enjoyable attraction. Despite the pouring rain in around 4pm which lasted for an hour, the whole day was sunny. However, the visitors needed not to walk on feet under the blazing hot sun. We were ferried in a truck to view the wildlife in a so-called open-space boundary. The sad thing was, the types of animal exhibited were limited, mainly cows and mousedeers, plus some wild animals. The good thing was, this safari concept brought us pretty up-closed to the animals. There was also animal feeding and we liked this activity the most. RM$5 per packet of pet food, our children fed the rabits, pool of chicks (in an enclosed area where you could personally go in to touch and carry the chicks while feeling them), emu, sheep, goats and horses. Lucky enough, the display of spotted-eye tail of the peacocks, spiced up our visit. The fun was not ended here, the wild wild west show was exciting and humorous. It was comparable to the one shown in Universal Studio, in fact.

2 - 3 days stay was enough to cover the entire resort, unless you like golfing, A'famosa has a very huge golf range. Otherwise, we were good for just 2 to 3 days stay here.

Meals: After reading the reviews, we noticed that many people complained about the cost and quality of the food. We were so worried that we could not even care how heavy it could be to bring these much of food along without driving there. We took the recommendation frot he reviewers and carried with us many snacks, bottles and packets and drinks, bread, can food, cakes and even cup noodles, etc. Please don't be silly. The meals were OK! The selections, quality and taste in the buffet spread were decent (except for the coffee in the buffet breakfast was suck). The inclusive set dinner we had in the Huang Di Chinese restaurant in Cowboy Town tasted OK, too. Some food items good, some not so.. Milo drink was sold there, at RM$3.50 (not RM$5), I thought the price was acceptable though.. Oh yes, the Briyani rice set menu in the Bamboo Steak House in Animal Safari was expensive (RM$30)! Lucky thing was we had it FOC as part of our tour package... Anyway, we ended up threw away some and brought some of the food back in the end!

To most tourists other than local, I personal think most of the food here priced OK, after the currency conversion. It was NOT that expensive. Afterall, you knew this is an enclosed resort and every staff here earns their living depending on the making from this resort.

Logistic & facilities: I guess it will be best to drive here. We took a coach to Melacca town, and then, transferred to the resort by charted taxi/ van. We travelled by the resort's shuttle truck within the resort during our stay there. We were given a day pass for each day in order to travel within. There wasn't a fixed shuttle timing to catch, the shuttle truck had to be called to service by informing the reception when we reached the lobby/ pick-up point at the attraction. It was not a big problem, the waiting time falls averagely 5 - 10 minutes. There was once or twice, we waited around 30 minutes though. Afterall, we were not in a rush, it was a vacation, I wouldn't mind the wait, at times (positive-minded?? :D).

The only thing I would complain is the swimming pool at the main reception building. The pool was so crowded in the day, and water in the pool looked so murky! I wouldn't dare to let the children to swim there, despite their constant request. No way.

Service: Friendly staff and they were prompt in their service. Check-in/ out process at the Condotel was fast (perhaps it was a Friday. We realised Saturday and Sunday were more crowded), and had little issue conversing in English.

Come back to the point of all-female travelers of adults and youngs. A'Famosa was ideal, to my opinion. Basic safety measures, for sure, have to be taken care of, it is quite a safe and great place for travelers like us, basically.

It could be probably I was terrified by the negative reviews, and had already set my expectation to nil. It could be pure luck for our visit there... I thought it's only fair to A'Famosa to review how and what I felt after touring to this resort, as a neutral traveler.

From someone pretty fussy in term of hotel stay and food, and well-pampered like me, I could say last here is, expect it right with what you have paid for. It's considered fair for what you are paying. For sure, it wouldn't be a waste of money, if you set your mind right.

Room Tip: High floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

349 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    63
    84
    74
    107
See reviews for
213
31
2
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm
Level Contributor
28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2011

Stayed at a one bedroom hotell room 2 nights. Very clean rooms otherwise but the carpets looked very dirty with black marks and water damages. Unusually silent AC and quite nice view. Reception a bit worn out and dull. Maybe new wallpaper and a couple of plants would make it look nicer.
Breakfast ok and many dishes to choose between.
I am a nongolfer but the course looked nice and what I have heard an interesting course. In my eyes it looked nicely done and well taken care of. Didn't have time to check pool and all the other attractions that the resort had to offer. Checked around a bit how the other types of accommodations looked like and got the impression of worn out everywhere despite in the villa suites with own pool and jacuzzi. They were probably recently refurbished.
I would like to recommend the resort anyway due it's cleaniness. Most of the worn out look could be taken away with a little bit of paint so the damages are only superficial and it doesn't smell mould anywhere.

Room Tip: Villa suite with pool and jacuzzi or hotel rooms higher up, maybe even appartments. Condos no.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penang Island, Malaysia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2011

Took the family for a 2D1N trip to A Famosa. The reception desk screwed up my bookings, eventually gave us our rooms. We had 3 units booked. The units had a stench and the rooms was just so-so. The unit I stayed in had a strong cigarette smell. The 2nd unit had a few fused out bulks. The 3rd unit had it's Master Bedroom lock spoiled his we couldn't event access the room!

We had the 2 bedroom apartment which comes with 2 bathrooms. The water pressure was SMALLER than a "baby's pee". The reason they gave us were we are staying in the top flood (20th floor). Bear in mind, we didn't request for the top floor. We ended up having to fill the bath tub with water and bath using the drinking cup from the kitchen.

Food was another pain staying there. Nearest drive is to Tampin, Negeri Sembilan which is about a 20min drive from the Condo. Else a drive to Melaka city to enjoy the famous chicken rice balls or Nyonya food will take you 1hr.

My suggestion is to just book a hotel in Melaka city and make A Famosa a day trip for the family. The apartment was costly and there is nothing good about it to say.

Room Tip: Don't bother
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
103 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011

Located half way to Melaka town, another 40-minutes drive town. Location is bad. The whole resort is quiet, not many people stay (probably few families). The area is creepy and scary. My device is think twice before book.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
malaysia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2011

from my very first review of A-famosa couple months ago as mentioned will stay again in month of Aug, here is my summary for the 2nd time experience.

The Condotel we are staying this time is different block, different unit (more cleaner) than the previous stay and with better view (facing the pool).

However during check-in time, there was some hiccups as we booked 2 rooms with 6 adults and 2 young children, surprisingly the front desk told us that they only received 1 room booking, to cut things short here, after explaining and filling their head with common sense, they managed to get us 2 rooms. (they expect us to cramp and squeeze 6 adults and 2 kids in 2 rooms with 2 single beds + 2 master beds).

Even the complimentary mineral water bottle (F&N Brand) taste fishy, having consume that, it gives me diarrhoea for a week. it's not expired but somehow its like....

During our 2nd stay, we skipped cowboy town, since the first visit was just so so, this time only visit the zoo.

we took the opportunity do dine in the only restaurant in the hotel which offering buffet style, food serving it's really below average, you can get those food servings at any mamak shop or nasi kandar shop anywhere.

Lastly, nothing special to boast about here, an almost run-down resort if it's still not going to improve further.

i can see from recent tripadvisor comments by others it start receiving feedback response from the A-Famosa management after so long. please buck it up if you reading all these people comments and not copy paste your template reply to us.

Room Tip: if staying in Condotel, just get the block with front desk counter below. there are few blocks.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2011

I book a villa with 4 bedrooms and pool...the villa is okay..the service at customer service also ok...we enjoyed stayed at the villa, my children is enjoying play water in the swimming pool....
But dissappointed when we noticed that alot of abandon villa in this area......
actually this place is the good place for family gathering and familyday,. hoping that management of Afamosa give more attention on this matter.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KL
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2011

Was looking forward to spending weekend holiday with family but was taken aback right away after stepping to the room. Check-in was smooth and staff at the Front Desk was friendly.
However, the room condition was totally unacceptable with the amount of money we have paid. The furniture has run down with no proper maintenance. There were algae in all over the bathroom areas. Many of the amenities were malfunctioned - the door knob was faulty with loosened latched, several bulbs were fused, there were frost in the mini-fridge, too much stains on the carpet & sofa, no battery cover on the TV remote etc.
To make matters worse, I waited for more than one hour to get a staff change my stained bedsheet (I think blood stain) and remove those ants crawling by the balcony window.
When spoken to a lady Manager who claimed being in-charge of Rooms Division of the property who could barely understand English, she could only grin, not even a single word of apologize or remorse. Let alone a little compensation !!
Will never ever return to this place and will not recommend to anyone. Suggest the local Tourism body runs constant checking on this property as customers are being conned by their publicity.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to A'Famosa Resort Hotel Melaka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A'Famosa Resort Hotel Melaka

Address: Jalan Kemus, Simpang Empat, Alor Gajah, Melaka 78000, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Melaka State > Central Melaka District > Melaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #106 of 155 Hotels in Melaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — A'Famosa Resort Hotel Melaka 3.5*
Number of rooms: 870
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rightly touted as a one-stop destination for business and pleasure, A'Famosa offers an international championship 27-hole golf course, the highly-acclaimed Animal World Safari, Water World Theme Park, Equestrian Club, Resort Hotel, Villas, Condotel, excellent conference/banquet facilities and much more. It's one of the few resorts in this region that can truthfully claim to have 'something for everyone' regardless of age, whether you're an avid golfer, animal lover, water sports enthusiast, or just someone who enjoys a blissful, worry-free escape from the hustle and bustle of modern city living. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your A'Famosa Resort Hotel Melaka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Famosa Melaka
a Famosa Hotel Melaka
Melaka Afamosa Resort
Afamosa Resort Hotel
Famosa Resort Melaka
A'famosa Resort Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage A'Famosa Resort Hotel Melaka, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.