We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simple but very traditional” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Baba House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added The Baba House to your Saves list
The Baba House
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   125-127 Jalan Tun Tan Cheng Lock, Melaka 75200, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #32 of 146 Hotels in Melaka
kuala lumpur
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Simple but very traditional”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

I love boutique hotel, somehow it feels personal and nostalgic. Baba house holds lots of memory and it is rustically elegance and it pay attention to details like porcelain door knob, sink and decoration. You feel like you are in China Emperor movie. However, this place are lacking of TOUCH, it is a shame because with a history and theme like this, you can go far. But anyway, I will definitely come and visit again as it is in the middle of the city and i love boutique hotel!

Room Tip: Select the room with the window as not all room comes with window
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

276 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    106
    110
    30
    9
See reviews for
43
87
27
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

Just got back from Malacca, had a fantabulous trip though it was a short trip but it is good enough as Malaaca was a a small town & we only targetted on Jonker Walk.
Parking is available at the back of the hotel, convenient !
Check in was very smooth (only the receptionist not friendly at all, eventhough the next day check out time also she doesn't show any smile face but there is the note on the wall to smile everyday) Unfortunately our room are just next to the construction/upgrading area@3rd floor, very dusty.
Bed are comfy & as per others tripadvisor reviews, their basin are located outside of the toilet, simple & nice.
For those long hair & need hair dryer better bring along cuz they do not provide portable hair dryer & adviced to blow my hair nearby the staircase (fix hair dryer) which is totally unacceptable by me.They shall have some spare unit.
Breakfast are so so & acceptable. The best of this hotel was the strategic location, just 5mins walk to Jonker Walk, we enjoy the short walk very much. There is a beautiful church just next to the hotel, we really enjoy the heritage buidings & was an enjoyable trip or us ^.^

Room Tip: Room at the center would be better as ours was Superior King B right at the corner which they having...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

Friendly staff, small rooms and Lack facility service. Poor Wifi.
Reasonable price for accommodation.
In the heart of jonker street where thyere is lots of good restaurants around.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampere, Finland
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

Friendly service, small (though a bit dark) air-conditioned rooms, very basic breakfast - but as much coffee as you like :), plus a reasonable price for accommodation in a traditional Baba house that is about 10 minutes walking distance from the city center and just 2 minutes from a cluster of restaurants and bars - so good value overall.

Pay attention when booking - if the photos do not show a window, there isn't any in the room. Only the most expensive rooms have a window (and sometimes still not a "real" one to the outside - in my case, it was just pointing to the inner corridor). Not that this is really important for the quality of sleep - but it may be good to be aware of this, to avoid any disappointment.

After check-in, you may also receive a free ticket to nearby Bird's House - it's worth using it, you can learn the history and all kinds of peculiarities behind the bird's nest soup - and to watch the process of cleaning of the nests before cooking. Animal lovers - only abandoned nests are used, at least that is the official version they give you there. :-)

Room Tip: Pay attention when booking - if the photos do not show a window, there isn't any in the room. On...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

baba house was a simple and small b&b hotel and they now expanded into a little flat. not the prettiest and they used to charge rm66 for a night but now thanks to tourism and unesco award, it went up to rm 160 to rm260 a room. their room are simply empty and tasteless, like a college dorm nothing exciting. many will complain their breakfast but seriously, you are in melaka why bother eat there, go and try the best melaka breakfast nearby. i stayed here many times and recently they are cocky and force you to take up package room which includes massages and they refuse to give me the room because i dont like massage, i just want a place to sleep. the front manager just say no, i rather keep the room empty and no discount even if you dont want the massage. guess what, it was 1130 at night, good luck renting that room out

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2012

If you are looking for a reasonably priced place to stay, possibly one of the cheapest, then this is the place you want. Can be pretty full during Malaysia holiday period, so best to book as early as possible. We chose the room without window which was the cheaper option, but we didn't mind since we spent most of our time out anyway.

There is free limited parking round the rear, but pretty safe as there is a parking attendant guarding the gate, so you know your car will be safe. We were lucky enough to pinch the last space, A safe bet is to get there around 12 noon, when most people will checking out.

The room was pretty basic as with the shower room, the pressure from the shower was strong, and included shampoo, soap and towels. There is however no hair dryer, but I found out on my way down to the foyer, that the bottom of the escape stair has a communal hair dryer. Not sure what it's like, but if you want to dry your hair in your room, bring your own if you can.

The room had a strong air con, and comes with complimentary instant tea and coffee and also two bottles of water which was handy! Breakfast was not too bad, and because it's so close to the restaurants, you might want to have a light breakfast and then go and finish it off at some other place serving more tradition food.

We only stayed here for a night, so for us it was a great experience. The Hotel itself is like a museum so we did take quite a few pictures here. Definitely worth a stay!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Baba House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Baba House

Address: 125-127 Jalan Tun Tan Cheng Lock, Melaka 75200, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Melaka State > Central Melaka District > Melaka
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 146 Hotels in Melaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Baba House 3*
Number of rooms: 79
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, HostelWorld, EasyToBook, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Baba House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Baba House Hotel Melaka
Baba Hotel Melaka
The Baba Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Baba House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.