We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel with character” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Majestic Malacca

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Majestic Malacca to your Saves list
The Majestic Malacca
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   188, Jalan Bunga | Raya, Melaka 75100, Malaysia (Formerly Majestic Hotel)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Weekday Special
Ranked #2 of 150 Hotels in Melaka
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great hotel with character”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW via mobile

This hotel is in a great spot to discover malacca. The staff are very friendly, the hotel rooms are a delight with a large open plan bathroom that has sliding screens to conceal it. The only negative we had was the small choice of food on the menu, with no western alternative for faddy eaters.

Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MajesticMalaccaM, Manager at The Majestic Malacca, responded to this review, yesterday
Dear Guest,

We are delighted to know that you found The Majestic Malacca in a great spot to discover Malacca. Thank you for acknowledging that the staff are very friendly and the hotel rooms are a delight. We have note don your feedback on the menu and will have it discussed to include some western alternatives. Thank you and we look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future.
Warm regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

834 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    513
    247
    58
    10
    6
See reviews for
197
411
35
39
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We spent the weekend at Majestic as we explored Jonker Walk in Melaka. It had beautiful rooms as you'd find with all YTL properties. It was just what we needed after spending the day in the heat. The bed was very comfy and the bath tub is beautiful.

Only downside was the breakfast. Food was average at best and for some reason the dim sum was not labeled. I'm a vegetarian so this posed as a problem. Waiters were unable to assist as well.

I'd go back but I'd avoid the breakfast.

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MajesticMalaccaM, Manager at The Majestic Malacca, responded to this review, 4 days ago
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay with us. Your review has been shared with the relevant department for immediate improvement. We are in the midst of re structuring our service team and corrective measures identified on the breakfast and your feedback is very much appreciated in our constant effort to improve on our guest expectations.

Thank you and warm regards
.

Only downside was the breakfast. Food was average at best and for some reason the dim sum was not labeled. I'm a vegetarian so this posed as a problem. Waiters were unable to assist as well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Region of Murcia, Spain
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed here as part of our honeymoon trip and will return as our stay was exceptional. We have stayed in many different hotels across the world but the Majestic provided comfort, quality and tradition with excellent personal service. Our stay was made very special, but I think this applies to all guests, not just mature newlyweds! The staff were friendly and helpful in making sure we had the best from our stay. We enjoyed walking from the hotel to the main historic sites, but reception arranged a trishaw on the second day. Walking along the riverside is easy from here and a stroll brings you to the boats for the river trip, also highly recommended. Next time we will have spa treatments at the Majestic, the centre is excellent and we were able to use facilities before and after our check in times. The style and decor of the hotel is classic colonial and traditional, relaxing and welcoming, take photos and recommend to family and friends. Jackie and Alan

Room Tip: All rooms overlook the river, any room will be stylish and comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MajesticMalaccaM, Manager at The Majestic Malacca, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Guest,

We read with absolute delight to know that you had a memorable and enjoyable experience staying with us in The Majestic Malacca. Thank you for acknowledging our staff service engagement and deliveries and your review has been posted for all at the notice board at the staff entrance. We wish you many more happy holiday experiences and look forward to welcoming you back for your next stay.

Warm regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Top Contributor
250 reviews 250 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The Majestic Malacca is a great boutique hotel to say in whilst visiting Malacca if you want a quiet getaway. On arrival, we were greeted with a beautiful homely lobby and friendly staff. The rooms are nice and colonial in style. Hotel is by a little river with traditional homes on the other side. Breakfast in not elaborate but there is style and privacy. This is a place to stay if you want a quiet relaxing getaway.

Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MajesticMalaccaM, Manager at The Majestic Malacca, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Guest,

It was a pleasure to know that you found The Majestic Malacca a great boutique hotel to say on your recent holiday in Malacca. We are delighted that on arrival, you were greeted with a beautiful homely lobby and friendly staff. Thank you for sharing that The Majestic Malacca is the " place to stay if you want a quiet relaxing getaway".
Warm regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Nicely refurbished and extended old hotel, originally a private mansion. Has a colonial feel, and bedrooms are comfortable and nicely furnished, although not enormous. Problem is the location is not central and it is a good 15 minute walk to the town centre, albeit it is substantially along the river, which is quite interesting. Take the worthwhile two-hour free hotel guide to get your bearings. A huge new shopping/office complex has been built directly in front of the hotel, which detracts from the ambience somewhat. Broadband is very slow. Service is really not up to scratch - too few staff, and some don't speak english so do not understand your requests. Food is indifferent. Also, the porter did not advise the reception of the arrival of our transport to KL. This caused great confusion as the hotel advised that they were unable to assist as it was a public holiday! One night would be sufficient, for the "old-fashioned" experience.

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MajesticMalaccaM, Manager at The Majestic Malacca, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review on your stay with us. We are pleased to know that you found the colonial hotel nicely refurbished, the bedrooms comfortable and nicely furnished. We have also noted on your feedback and it has been shared for corrective measures to be taken for improvement. Thank you and warm regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This marvellous hotel has comfortable accommodation (excellent beds, elegant "period" style rooms), good buffet breakfasts, very friendly service, and many thoughtful touches such as delicious welcome tea, nightly nyonya sweets in bedroom,,, There are even Chinese cured plums and dried olives available for free in the public areas! The wifi works well.
The hotel is just about within walking distance of the historic centre of Melaka (20-25 minutes to the Dutch square/Jonker Street area), but taxis are easily hailed or called. The hotel is next to the river, and higher floor rooms have good views of the city stretching all the way to the sea. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MajesticMalaccaM, Manager at The Majestic Malacca, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Guest,
It was a pleasure for us to read your review on your stay with us in The Majestic Malacca. We were delighted that you found our hotel marvelous with comfortable accommodation (excellent beds, elegant "period" style rooms), good buffet breakfasts, very friendly service, and many thoughtful touches such as the delicious welcome tea, nightly nyonya sweets in bedroom contributing to an enjoyable experience and we look forward to welcoming you back for your next stay with us in the near future.
Thank you and wishing you many more happy holiday experiences.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hampshire
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We, mature(in age) couple, stayed here for 2 nights as stopover between Singapore and Kuala Lumpur. I chose it for a taste of old colonial Malaysia and it didn't disappoint on any level. I booked a long time in advance for a good price. Everything from the building, welcome, staff, superb room, enormous bed with beautiful linen, huge selection at breakfast, cleanliness....couldn't fault it. The welcome tea is a lovely bonus. The hotel is overlooking the river and just across the bridge from villa Sentosa, a must-see authentic Malaysian family house. True, it is in between large modern buildings (you are in a town!)...but it is a traditional gem. It is a 15 minute walk to Jonker street..(along a pretty river).....you weigh these things up and make your choice. Transport info....15 minutes by taxi from Sentral bus station (20 ringgit). Good wifi.

Room Tip: Ask for one with river view if poss.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MajesticMalaccaM, Manager at The Majestic Malacca, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Guest,

A very good day to you. We are delighted to know that you had an enjoyable stay with us on your recent stay. We are extremely proud to know that we met your expectations for a taste of old colonial Malaysia and we did not disappoint you on any level. Thank you for sharing your review and acknowledging that you found our staff welcoming, the room superb with an enormous bed with beautiful linen, the breakfast selection and we are proud that you notice the cleanliness and "couldn't fault it" as we take extreme pride in maintaining our premises and facilities. We are also please to know that you found the welcome tea a lovely bonus as it is a signature tea blended for The Majestic Malacca.
Thank you and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Warm regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Majestic Malacca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Majestic Malacca

Address: 188, Jalan Bunga | Raya, Melaka 75100, Malaysia (Formerly Majestic Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Melaka State > Central Melaka District > Melaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Melaka
#1 Family Hotel in Melaka
#2 Romantic Hotel in Melaka
#2 Spa Hotel in Melaka
#4 Business Hotel in Melaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Majestic Malacca 5*
Number of rooms: 54
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Majestic Malacca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Majestic Hotel Melaka

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Majestic Malacca, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.