We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Majestic” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Majestic Malacca

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added The Majestic Malacca to your Saves list
The Majestic Malacca
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   188, Jalan Bunga | Raya, Melaka 75100, Malaysia (Formerly Majestic Hotel)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Weekday Special
Ranked #2 of 149 Hotels in Melaka
Surrey
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Lovely Majestic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2009

The Majestic is an amazingly lovely boutique hotel in Melaka. It's definitely a 5star hotel. Opened in Jan 08, everything is so new and and service is right up to scratch. Everybody makes you feel welcome from the time you appear at their door till you leave. Very comfortable. Great ambience from the moment you step in. Check in was smooth. Were seated and given a drink of water and a wet towel. We were then escorted to our room (luggage followed a moment later) and given an explanation of the facilities in the hotel and room. The bedroom is something out of this world. Large and airy, in the traditional style. Lots of teak wood. Marbled bathroom with bathtub on clawed feet (!), separate shower unit. All very plush. It's open plan with the bedroom if you do not wish to close the sliding doors (you can watch tv from the bathtub). All rooms have view of the river. We didn't have dinner at the hotel as it was semi formal and we didn't have anything suitable to wear during our 2 nights there. Nice coffee shops just outside the hotel where we could get cheap food. All staff were SO nice. Spa was amazing. We did the couple package which lasted 3 and a half hours. Go for it if you have the chance. The pool and gym were small but it's there if you need to use them. Not a problem for us as we knew it wasn't a beach holiday! We did use them and found them ok. Sun only gets to the pool at about lunchtime. Walk to the town is about 10 minutes. Try to avoid going to Melaka during any public holidays or weekends. Much too busy then. We were there during the Chinese New Year week and found the town to be over crowded with cars and people. I have been in the past to Melaka during weekdays it it is much more enjoyable. I would definitely recommend the Majestic as it's is an experience everyone should enjoy!

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — Not a lot I didn't like
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

806 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    497
    240
    53
    10
    6
See reviews for
194
395
34
37
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2009

Hotel Majestic is a small boutique hotel fronted by a beautifully restored mansion. The service was terrific, although there were some challengs with English and coping with large numbers of guests at one sitting for meals. The rooms were nice and spacious with a clever use of screens acround the bathroom area. Spa Village, located at the hotel, is a definite must try during a stay there. The honey and palm sugar scrub was something else!

  • Liked — The focus on cheerful, helpful, friendly customer service
  • Disliked — The noise from other rooms at night (only an issue for a short term)
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2009

Nice hotel, great location, and the most beautiful rooms with pretty bathtubs. Afternoon tea was good and we were able to sit in the porch during a torrential downpour of rain. It had alot of charm and even though the pool is small, you felt relaxed enough to take a dip.

Stayed December 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2008

We just had another night away at the Majestic and again felt like we had been away for a whole weekend.
We brought a friend visiting from Ireland and she was very impressed with the rooms.
The afternoon tea selection is very good and really nice scones.
There is a new dinner menu which gives alot more Western options all of which are very good.
I do not think the distance from Jonker Street is a disadvantage at all as there is plenty to see as you walk along the street from the hotel to Jonker St.

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
singapore
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2008

Great ambiance, furniture and service. BUT last floor where we were extremelly noisy because of water pomp on the roof ! Stayed only 1 night instead of 2 because of that.

Stayed November 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2008

We read some great reviews on this hotel on TA and that was why we chose this hotel. This was our first time to Melaka so we wanted to get some introductory tour and so we were looking forward to the "guided tour around the Unesco world heritage city" that was included in our "UNESCO World Heritage Package."

I had made the reservation via the phone a day before our stay and the hotel representative insisted that I have to pay extra for my son (3 years old) because even if we didn't need extra meal plan for him, the pakage included the "guided tour." So I went ahead and booked the hotel with the extra charge. But they didn't tell us that the tour would be canceled during our stay!

On our arrival, we found a letter on our desk stating that the "guided tour" is canceled for the next three days. This was just not acceptable so I complained it to the reception. But their answer was "the guided tour is complementary from the hotel offered to any guest staying at the hotel and it is free of charge." They sounded like "since it is free of charge, we can cancel it anytime we want to without any prior notice." What a lame excuse! Just not acceptable.

The other negatives: the swimming pool is so tiny and it is cramped in between buildings so it felt quite awkward to swim there. The location was far from the Jonker street or the Dutch trail.

I won't come back to this hotel nor recommend it to any of my friends.

  • Liked — room decor
  • Disliked — service
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McGregor, South Africa
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
62 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2008

This really is a very stylish hotel offering a high degree of comfort and atmosphere. Bedrooms are beautifully furnished and equipped with supremely comfortable beds and good quality linens. All rooms face the river with views towards the old town and they appeared well insulated. Free WiFi, flat screen televisions and good air-conditioning are some of the modern amenities. There is a small gym and pool and an interesting looking Spa, although I did not manage a visit to it. The Heritage package offered very good value and included all meals and an excellent walking tour of the old town led by a very knowledgeable guide who was a mine of interesting information.
All staff were particularly friendly and I personally received wonderful treatment from waiter Waynan who was delightful. I only wish I could have stayed here more than the one night. Highly recommended and I hope to return.

  • Liked — Quality accommodation, friendly staff , excellent walking tour guide
  • Disliked — Having to leave
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Majestic Malacca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Majestic Malacca

Address: 188, Jalan Bunga | Raya, Melaka 75100, Malaysia (Formerly Majestic Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Melaka State > Central Melaka District > Melaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Melaka
#1 Luxury Hotel in Melaka
#2 Spa Hotel in Melaka
#2 Romantic Hotel in Melaka
#5 Business Hotel in Melaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Majestic Malacca 5*
Number of rooms: 54
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, EasyToBook, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Majestic Malacca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Majestic Hotel Melaka

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Majestic Malacca, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.