We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous boutique hotel - simple elegance and decadence” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Majestic Malacca

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added The Majestic Malacca to your Saves list
The Majestic Malacca
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   188, Jalan Bunga | Raya, Melaka 75100, Malaysia (Formerly Majestic Hotel)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Weekday Special
Ranked #2 of 149 Hotels in Melaka
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Fabulous boutique hotel - simple elegance and decadence”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

The Majestic in Malacca is a fabulous boutique hotel - it's facade is about 92 years old while the 10 floors of rooms are situated behind the facade and is about six years old.
As I entered the hotel, I was greeted by three or four hotel staff, all with warm and gorgeous smiles. While the front desk staff was checking me in, another provided me with a cold face cloth to comfort me from the warmth outside.
Upon being shown up to my room, another staff member provided me with a teapot of lychee tea - simply decadent and considerate, reflecting the warmth and welcoming nature of Malaysians in general.
The room was beautifully appointed with a gorgeous claw foot tub on tiled bathroom floors and a shower stall as well.
***this hotel provide the MOST COMFORTABLE BED & PILLOWS - I had the absolute BEST sleep in four weeks since starting my vacation through Hong Kong, Macau, Singapore and Malaysia. So impressed was I, that I even took the trouble of checking out the manufacturer of the bedding furnishings!!

There is a modest pool situated beside the gym, both of which are between the hotel facade and the building that houses the rooms.

The restaurant attached to the hotel is located upstairs within the older facade - the chef offers cooking classes for local peranakan (baba nyonya) dishes which is a attractive feature for foodies. Breakfast comprises of big local dishes as well as Western breakfast options; dinners are also available however, it may be a bit pricey for some.

Another nice feature of this hotel is at it's directly in front of a 'living museum' in which traditional and heritage homes within a traditional kampung (village) still stands and houses locals. There is also a concrete walkway that takes one along the river toward Jonkers street and Hireen street where local peranakan restaurants and antique stores abound for adventurous travellers.

Room Tip: Top floor (10th floor) corner room facing the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BenQuah, General Manager at The Majestic Malacca, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Dear Guest,

We read with absolute delight to know that you enjoyed your stay at The Majestic Malacca.Your review and acknowledgement of our team's dedicated engagement and effort to provide our guest an enjoyable experience have been received with much cheers and enthusiasm.
Thank you for sharing your review with other Trip Advisor aficionados and we look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future.

Warm regards
Ben Quah and team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

810 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    500
    240
    54
    10
    6
See reviews for
194
396
34
37
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (147)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mandurah, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

We were a family of three staying in Melacca for 5 nights as part of a bigger trip around Malaysia and I have to say that our stay at the Majestic was a highlight of the trip. The hotel itself is very stylish in an old colonial way. I felt like Somerset Maugham while sipping a G and T at the bar on a balmy Malacca evening. Food at the restaurant is great - especially the breakfast - location is good but the staff are the best feature of the hotel. I have travelled very extensively and I found the staff at the Malacca to be the friendliest and most helpful that I have ever experienced. Nothing is too much for them to help with and they remember the tiniest of your preferences and second-guess what else you might like once they get to know you. Front counter staff, concierges, restaurant staff and management were all exceptional. I highly recommend this hotel and will definitely be visiting again myself.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BenQuah, General Manager at The Majestic Malacca, responded to this review, January 26, 2014
Dear Guest,

We are please to know that your stay with us in The Majestic Malacca was enjoyable and the service experience you had was the highlight of your holiday. My team and I thank you for sharing your experience and your review is much appreciated and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Warm regards
Ben Quah and team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014

My first choice hotel when I go to Malacca. I am from Malacca and visit my hometown often and always choose The Majestic as my preferred hotel. Good location. Staff could be trained a little better, There seem to be several staff changes each time I visit. Except for the Nepali bell boy whom we have known for a while now and goes out of his way to help, the rest of the team seem to be new.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BenQuah, General Manager at The Majestic Malacca, responded to this review, January 26, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback on your return stay at The Majestic Malacca. It is much appreciated and we look forward to welcoming you back for your next stay.

Warm regards
Ben Quah and team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014

Would like to thank Adi from reservation office for accommodating my last minute cancellation then reinstatement, as I only made up my mind hours before checking in.

Hotel is conveniently located, staff are the friendly and ambience was nostalgic at the hotel lobby.

May not be the best choice for family with kids, but sure undoubtedly a great getaway hotel for couples.

Spa village provides excellent massage treatments. Overall speaking this could be the best hotel stay experience in Melaka.

Room Tip: All rooms are river facing. For non-smoker, make sure you request non-smoking room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BenQuah, General Manager at The Majestic Malacca, responded to this review, January 23, 2014
Dear Guest,

We are delighted to know that you had an enjoyable stay with us in The Majestic Malacca and we thank you for taking time off to share your review.

Warm regards
Ben Quah and team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

First of all hotel décor and staff were great. Very good location and enjoyed the trip.
Unfortunately the room was very noisy........screaming kids one side and very noisy plumbing on the other. The good and the bad.......but a great looking place......

Room Tip: Avoid noisy guests and plumbing...........!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BenQuah, General Manager at The Majestic Malacca, responded to this review, January 23, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review on your recent stay in The Majestic Malacca and it is much appreciated.

Warm regards
Ben Quah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

Service was impeccable, staff were always cheerful, welcoming and courteous. Hotel is located in a convenient location - a short walk to the famous Jonker Street, and next to the hotel are lots of local coffee shops and convenience stores. They provide an excellent 2 hour free ''historical walk'' and the staff Rahayu who conducts the tour was very professional.

Try the Pandan Coconut hair mask - it was relaxing and they paid attention to detail, even installing tv screen on the ceiling for you to watch videos while your hair is being washed. The Peranakan Bath can be taken in your room and it was truly luxurious. There is an intern-waitress called Min at the Mansion (restaurant) and she was a joy to all guests - always smiling and helping guests. She told me she was studying hospitality management .

A few items for the hotel to note to enhance guests' experience:
1. Improve on the food taste and quality - it's ironic that the Peranakan food (sampler advertiser) is way below par at the Mansion. Even the western food (the snapper on the pasta) was cold and the whole dish tasted flat.
2. Provide disposable underwear for ladies who use the massage treatments, like most spas do
3. Provide wifi at the lobby, like many hotels do (what more a luxury one !)
4. Provide a clock and full length mirror in the room
5. Print postcards of various variety for sale - currently they have only one type in the room. Given the beautiful setting in the hotel I am sure they could take more great photos and make more variety for sale.
6. Improve the water pressure to enhance the shower facilities.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BenQuah, General Manager at The Majestic Malacca, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
Dear Guest,

It is with much appreciation to read your review on your recent stay with us in The Majestic Malacca. Your feedback has been noted for action as we continue to strive to improve our guest experience and we thank you for taking time to share them with us.
Warm regards
Ben Quah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2014 via mobile

I am really struggling to convey how wonderful our stay was at the Majestic.
We arrived hot tired & probably none too fragrant after a 13 hour flight and two hour drive. We were immediately given cold towels (bliss) checked in and shown to our room and some lychee tea to enjoy whilst we settled in.
The room had a luxurious old colonial feel ( as does the hotel at large) and overlooks the river (which is interesting to walk along on the way to the heritage site of Jonker Street et al) it also overlooks a huge building site which I believe is to be a shopping mall and hotel complex. Fear not the site is not noisy and provided my partner and I with hours of entertainment as we watched the workers and cranes whilst sipping ice cold drinks and nibbling the kindly provided "munchies" of scrumptious nuts etc. The Majestic provides an oasis of calm and culture from which to venture out into the hurly burly of the town at large.
The real stand out feature of this hotel is the staff. Without exception they were polite, pleasant and informative. They were also seemingly genuinely interested in our doings and made helpful suggestions about things we might enjoy not only in Melaka but on the next leg of our sojourn
to KL and Penang.
Breakfast was good, offering staple cereals and fruits plus a cooked option, from which I heartily recommend the pancakes (delicious).
I absolutely loved this hotel, I only wish we could have taken it with us to the other parts of our journey through Malaysia. Lovely ambience, fabulous staff and good facilities, in fact it was more like staying with good friends than an hotel stay.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BenQuah, General Manager at The Majestic Malacca, responded to this review, January 18, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your detailed review and sharing your experience on your recent stay with us in The Majestic Malacca. We are delighted to know that you and partner had an enjoyable start in The Majestic Malacca to your holiday in Malaysia and your feedback have been shared to all our personnel which was warmly received and appreciated.

Thank you and warm regards.

Ben Quah and team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Majestic Malacca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Majestic Malacca

Address: 188, Jalan Bunga | Raya, Melaka 75100, Malaysia (Formerly Majestic Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Melaka State > Central Melaka District > Melaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Melaka
#1 Family Hotel in Melaka
#2 Spa Hotel in Melaka
#2 Romantic Hotel in Melaka
#5 Business Hotel in Melaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Majestic Malacca 5*
Number of rooms: 54
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, EasyToBook, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Majestic Malacca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Majestic Hotel Melaka

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Majestic Malacca, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.