We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really lovely hotel and staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Majestic Malacca

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added The Majestic Malacca to your Saves list
The Majestic Malacca
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   188, Jalan Bunga | Raya, Melaka 75100, Malaysia (Formerly Majestic Hotel)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Weekday Special
Ranked #2 of 148 Hotels in Melaka
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
80 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
192 helpful votes 192 helpful votes
“Really lovely hotel and staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014

I've wanted to stay here for a while but it's invariably booked out at weekends by Singaporeans who drive up for a cheap overnight in Malaysia so I booked mid-week before a random public holiday.

The hotel is only six years old but it comprises a renovated old house with a new block bolted on the back and is successfully mixes the old with the new perfectly. We arrived at 8.30pm after a two-hour drive from KL, the front doors were opened with huge smiles and the receptionist welcomed me by name. Clever boy. I guess I was the last guest to arrive that evening with a reservation.

The entrance and lobby is the old bit. It's been beautifully restored with the reception desk on the left and a bar on the right. Behind are a few library rooms to relax in. We were shown to our room in the new bit but it's been styled to look old. The fixtures and fittings are high quality and it's a good size with a view over one of the old villages in Malacca. As others have noted, the bathroom opens to the bedroom with sliding doors. It's an odd design decision but didn't detract from anything for us.

The charming receptionist who took us to the room left us with a pot of fresh Chinese tea.

That night, I had a foam bath in the free-standing bath and relaxed. In the morning, breakfast in the old bit was good. They don't do an extensive buffet but rather have fruits, pastries and cereals to help yourself to and you can then order what you like from the cooked menu. Avoids wastage. And I have to comment again on the friendliness of the staff who bring fresh orange juice and coffee.

Oddly, given that this is a YTL hotel and the wifi is provided by the same company's Yes 4G Mobile Internet, the wifi speed was abysmal throughout and I ended up using my phone's Maxis 3G in preference. Yes's free service on the KLIA Ekspres train is very fast so I don't know what was happening with the backhaul in Malacca.

I prefer this hotel to the same company's The Majestic in KL that opened much more recently but seems to have rooms renovated on the cheap. It reminded me more of the E&O in Penang (my favourite hotel in Malaysia) although The Majestic Malacca has a more boutique feel about it. Price was good at ~RM450 for the night including breakfast. About RM150 cheaper than its equivalent in KL or Penang.

I was so charmed by the whole experience that this hotel gets a rare five stars from me.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BenQuah, General Manager at The Majestic Malacca, responded to this review, January 17, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your review on The Majestic Malacca and we read with pride to know that the dedicated team's effort and delivery met your expectation and you had an enjoyable experience. Your feedback is motivating and very much appreciated.

Thank you and warm regards
Ben Quah and team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

780 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    484
    230
    50
    10
    6
See reviews for
186
385
32
37
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014 via mobile

My wife and I spent three nights at The Majestic in Jan 2014, and could not recommend it more highly.
It makes a unique first impression, since the main entrance and lobby are part of a 100 year old restored mansion that is full of character. It is not a "Shangri-la"-esque grandness that you first encounter, but one of an era long ago, faithfully restored.

The hotel rooms and spa treatment centre are located in a separate building behind the mansion, and whilst seemingly keeping with the feel of the lobby, there is a distinct modern luxury about this section of the hotel, which was built and opened only a few years ago.

The rooms are large and beautiful, with huge four-poster beds, hardwood floors with elegant carpets and tasteful decor. The views over the river are beautiful, particularly when lit up at night. I loved the bathroom, which has a huge free-standing bath, and is open to the rest of the room by use of sliding wooden partitions which give the whole room a very spacious feel.

Breakfast was included in our room rate, and we enjoyed the variety of western and local cooked meals each morning.

The service was perhaps the high point of an already standout experience. You could not pass by a staff member without them smiling and saying hello, and they were only too eager to assist in answering any questions we had and providing recommendations of what to see and do.

The hotel is an easy 10 minute walk to the main tourist area of town. It offers a free 2-hour walking tour that covers the history of melacca as well as some of the current tourist hot spots.

Enjoy your stay!

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BenQuah, General Manager at The Majestic Malacca, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Dear Guest,

It is with great pleasure for us to read your review on your recent stay with us in The Majestic Malacca and we thank you for for sharing your experience and highlights and look forward to welcoming you both back again in the near future.

Warm regards
Ben Quah and team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

What a wonderful boutique hotel! So glad I booked this hotel in conjunction with it's sister hotel in KL, in between staying with family. It made our Xmas/New Year break feel like a real holiday, and wasn't that much more expensive than a standard hotel.

The children really enjoyed their stay as well, and the welcome was the warmest we've ever received - all the staff seem to know us (and all their guests). The breakfast was also great - the menu varied and the juices were fresh.

The rooms were very clean and air conditioned. Staying at The Majestic made our short side trip from KL really special for the whole family.

Room Tip: If you have children, enquire beforehand before booking as they can put extra bedding for a small ch...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BenQuah, General Manager at The Majestic Malacca, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Dear Guest,

It is with great pleasure for us to know that you and your family enjoyed your stay with us In The Majestic Malacca and Kuala Lumpur. We thank you for your review and look forward to your return for another enjoyable experience in our other sister properties.

Warm regards
Ben Quah and team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

In the first week of 2014, we had our second visit to this wonderful, warm, "home" in my home town Malacca. We were made to feel welcome at once. From the comfy lounge settings, the lolly jars full of local lollies and dried fruit, the olde worlde bar just begging for you to order a gin and tonic. The suites are wonderful and comfortable & I adored the welcoming tea service on arrival in your room and also the selection on local cakes in your room every afternoon.
The staff are what makes this hotel tick and are there to help with an ever friendly smile and bits of advice.
Not the best location but across the road is the river with must try open deck boats for fabulous rides into the historic Malacca and Jonker street.
We will certainly be back as this is our home away from home.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BenQuah, General Manager at The Majestic Malacca, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback on your stay at The Majestic Malacca. We are pleased to know that your return stay met your expectations and very honoured that you have acknowledged that it is your prefer choice accommodation and we look forward to welcoming you home again soon.

Warm regards and appreciation.

Ben Quah and team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

My first impression of the Majestic was quite negative, as having booked 3 rooms, we had to cancel one of them. I called the morning after the deadline to cancel (5 days before check-in, beware) and dealing with them was outright unpleasant. They declined to refund or credit for a future stay, just saying "sorry" without meaning it at all. After much begging and multiple calls, they did begrudgingly allow us to use the amount for consumption within the hotel. So a partial solution at best. For being the best hotel in town, you'd expect some flexibility, considering the number of days til check in and the number of rooms we took. Maybe I come across as "spoiled", so this is up to the readers to interpret.

The hotel itself was great and charming, service attentive and rooms well sized and styled. However, the location itself is not a strength, as the walk to Junker street at night is quite intimidating. As a result, If i were to return to Melaka (cute town, but probably not) would try one of the resorts nearby to the historic area action for convenience.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BenQuah, General Manager at The Majestic Malacca, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for your review on your recent stay at The Majestic Malacca. Your feedback is noted on the attentive service extended, I apologize for the inconvenience caused on your reservation and we will have your feedback discuss with the reservation centre for improvement.

Once again, thank you.

Warm regards
Ben Quah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

Did a spontaneous road trip to Melaka from Singapore so weren't surprised when we walked into hotel to find no rooms available. 20 min walk from jonkers walk in heat knackered us so was lovely to have warm and welcoming lobby bar staff who immediately gave us chilled fragrant damp hand towels to cool us off. Nice, chatty without being intrusive..four of us had couple rounds cocktails and left hotel feeling still in Christmassy mood. Staff were happy to let us look around formal dining rooms upstairs too. Will def return hopefully with reservation for rooms next time.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BenQuah, General Manager at The Majestic Malacca, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
Dear Guest,

It is a pleasure to know that you enjoyed your visit to The Majestic Malacca and had the opportunity to view the hotel. We thank you for your review and look forward to you staying with us in the very near future.

Warm regards
Ben Quah and team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

Loved this hotel. The lobby building with a retro colonial+chinese feel - spacious and well laid out rooms - smiling and extremely helpful staff - a very decent spa and pretty decent food. what else can one want in a weekend getaway trip.

A special mention for the staff, and in particular the trainee Jeoffrey. Always smiling and forever eager to meet every request.

The only downside - for a place like Melaka it seems a tad overpriced - but just a tad.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BenQuah, General Manager at The Majestic Malacca, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Dear Guest,

Greetings from All of us in The Majestic Malacca.!

We read with sincere appreciation your review after your recent visit and we are pleased to know that your stay was pleasant. Thank you for your compliments on the engagement and friendliness of our staff. I have passed your comments to Geoffrey and he is very happy and encouraged to know that his efforts were appreciated.

Warm regards
Ben Quah and team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Majestic Malacca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Majestic Malacca

Address: 188, Jalan Bunga | Raya, Melaka 75100, Malaysia (Formerly Majestic Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Melaka State > Central Melaka District > Melaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Melaka
#1 Family Hotel in Melaka
#2 Spa Hotel in Melaka
#2 Romantic Hotel in Melaka
#4 Business Hotel in Melaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Majestic Malacca 5*
Number of rooms: 54
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, EasyToBook, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Majestic Malacca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Majestic Hotel Melaka

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Majestic Malacca, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.