We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth Every Penny!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Majestic Malacca

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Majestic Malacca to your Saves list
The Majestic Malacca
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   188, Jalan Bunga | Raya, Melaka 75100, Malaysia (Formerly Majestic Hotel)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Free WiFi & Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 152 Hotels in Melaka
Bangkok
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Worth Every Penny!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

I recently stayed 2 nights at the Majestic and even if Melaka on its own is very special, by staying at the Majestic it becomes even more special. I loved it. It works. The staff are excellent and the hotel doesn't miss anything. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BenQuah, General Manager at The Majestic Malacca, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback and it is much appreciated. We look forward to see you again.

Warm regards,
Ben Quah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

868 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    539
    253
    59
    11
    6
See reviews for
207
428
36
39
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

This hotel is a lovely heritage building - unfortunately it is surrounded by derelict looking buildings and construction sites. The welcome was lovely with a cool towel and cold drink and very friendly staff. The Chinese tea served in your room on arrival was a great surprise. The room is luxurious with a very comfy king size bed and antique looking fittings in the bathroom. Breakfast was lovely surrounded by antiques and the domination has a lovely ambience. On the negative side, there were loud noises from the plumbing when neighbors used the bathroom and the shower leaked badly. As we were only there for one night, we didn't alert the management so I can't say if it was fixed quickly or not. Overall a comfortable stay but the surroundings are a bit off putting.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BenQuah, General Manager at The Majestic Malacca, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback and noted on the comments. My apologies for the inconveniences during your stay with us and we looking forward in welcoming you back again.

Warm regards,
Ben Quah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

5 star hotel with a heritage reception building.

Pros:
- heritage building
- large rooms and bathrooms
- designer glass gym
- authentic finishes and setting
- welcome tea
- good service (it is 5-star rated after all)
- freshly cooked breakfast mains

Cons:
- noisy plumbing
- small pool
- separate grounds for outdoor uncovered carpark
- bathroom can't be locked (privacy issues if travelers are not a couple)

Overall the hotel was rather nice but I felt that the price charged (similar to a top grade hotel in the capital city of Kuala Lumpur) isn't justifiable for what is actually just another city hotel rather than a resort.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BenQuah, General Manager at The Majestic Malacca, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback and it is much appreciated. Noted on the comments and we will look into areas for our continuous improvement. We look forward to see you again in the near future.

Warm regards,
Ben Quah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wanneroo, Australia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Right from the welcoming start with a cold hand towel and ice water drink to cool down we felt very welcome.
Unlike some other Asian hotels we have visited, where once the newness wears off it looks rundown, this hotel is kept sparkly. When the blind broke when I tried to open it a few days later it was replaced as soon as we went out.
Buffet breakfast is very good - even the orange juice is fresh unlike the reconstituted powdery stuff you sometimes get.
The only negative we found, and it isn't the hotel's fault, is that there is a monstrous hotel being built opposite so this detracts from the view.
We had a great time and will definitely go back.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BenQuah, General Manager at The Majestic Malacca, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback and it is much appreciated. We look forward to see you again in the near future.

Warm regards,
Ben Quah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

It was my first time to stay at the Majestic.. My husband and I hardly splurged, but this time we did as it has been a long while since we had time for a holiday and we thought it would be nice to pamper ourselves once in a while.

The impression I got upon arrival was GREAT! I had a wonderful time walking in, taking in all the beauty and uniqueness of the preserved 'old' mansion and with the thought that it is a 5-star hotel (probably safe and welcoming), I relaxed as I felt very pampered and comfortable.

Check-in went smoothly as well. The staff asked us to sit comfortably on the sofa as we waited for confirmation that the room was ready. We were given a cold towel to freshen up as it was a hot day (which I thought was a lovely touch). Then, a friendly, all-smiles receptionist, carrying a mysterious basket ushered us to our room and gave us a mini tour of the hotel. All the way to our room, she explained the history and details of the hotel and was attentive to our needs. She even poured us two lovely cups of tea (which was kept warm inside the mysterious basket). I felt all dreamy and for those moments, I felt like this splurging we did, was worth it.

Then I realized I left my phone in the lobby. Immediately, I did a thorough search of the room and my husband tried calling the line, but it was already switched off. This is when the horror struck. I was sure I left it in the lobby but I didn't want to make any false claims so I rushed back to our car, thinking that perhaps, somehow, I left it in the car? But why would it be switched off? Unsurprisingly, It wasn't in the car.

We went back to the lobby, and asked the receptionist who showed us around, if there was any phone found during the last 10 minutes in the lobby. Nope. Nothing. I requested to see the CCTV. The manager was kind enough to make an exception to let me take a look (even though he disappeared hereafter). They took about 2 hours to prep the cctv and do some internal investigations. I was still hopeful then, that perhaps, I would be able to find out exactly what might have happened from the CCTV.. Then guess what, they don't have any coverage of the lobby area. The CCTV covers only their entrances/exits. So there really was nothing to see and nothing to prove or disprove. Then they said they will continue to look for it/ask around while suggesting that I should not waste my holiday and go out..

I tried to spend the rest of my afternoon outside but I just couldn't feel comfortable to be staying in the Majestic anymore at that point of time. When we returned from dinner, the staff(s) who knew of my situation did not seem to really care about the missing phone. There was no so-called update that they promised until I approached them and personally asked if there was any progress, if there was any report at the lost and found etc.

If you think about it, yes, there is a chance that another guest might have taken it. But REALLY? Do you think an old iphone4 (not even a 5 or 4S), is that tempting to another guest who's already more than willing to pay for a 5-star hotel price? I can't deny that there is a chance that people who are willing to spend might be dishonest at the same time. This is debatable but I don't think they will risk getting themselves exposed by the CCTV, unless they already knew the CCTV doesn't cover the lobby area. Very debatable indeed.

Then there is also a chance that a 5-star hotel can't guarantee the quality of the staff they hire isn't it? I really don't wish to point fingers here... But you can feel it when someone says 'I'm sorry for your lost' without meaning it. Maybe he has a poker face; Maybe he has some dead nerves in his face. but how can the hospitality feel so different in a matter of 10 minutes? It just feels weird. Maybe they fear I'm making things up? Maybe their weakness is not knowing how to be genuinely hospitable even when things go wrong? Also very debatable.

For a while, I couldn't comprehend why a case like this could have happened at a '5-star hotel'. But I've come to terms with that it is after all in Malaysia and the lesson of the day is: if you're going to the Majestic, (or any other hotels for that matter) just be very careful of your valuables. It really doesn't matter if the hotel is 5-starred or not and if the guests/staffs seemed friendly or kind. What matters is your own meticulousness and care.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BenQuah, General Manager at The Majestic Malacca, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback and noted on your comments. Pertaining on your missing phone, the team and I have investigated and done all we could to assist you and furthermore you claimed that your phone to be missing a public area whereby accessible by all guests. Nevertheless, my apologies for the inconveniences during your stay with us and we hope to serve you better in the near future.

Warm regards,
Ben Quah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shah Alam, Malaysia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

This is the first time I stayed at the Majestic and I will keep an amazing memory of it. I look forward to going back there again.
The service is absolutely amazing. They are very detailed and aiming to please at all times.
The setting is beautiful, the room are cozy are very nicely arranged and decorated. Bed is comfy, the bathtub is marvelous, the view on the Kampung Mortem is nice.
You really get some value for your money there.
Though I didn't take the breakfast, my friend told me it was the best he ever had from all his years of traveling.
If you wanted to find fault with something, I guess you could "complain" about the fact that the hotel is 15 minutes away from Jonker Street, but the walk along the river to get there is so nice that like I said, this hotel is a Jewel in Malacca.

Thanks to the staff for such a good service. Keep it on.

Room Tip: Ask for a view on the Kampung Mortem.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BenQuah, General Manager at The Majestic Malacca, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback and it is much appreciated. We look forward to your next visit.

Warm regards,
Ben Quah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Semaphore, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

We travelled as two couples and had very thoughtfully been given two adjoining rooms. Unlike the usual adjoining rooms these were identical, large beds, big baths and very comfortable. On arrival we were welcomed with cold towels and were escorted to our rooms and the amenities explained over a lovely cup or two of Chinese tea. Every staff member we bumped into to or who served us during our brief two day stay greeted us warmly, nothing was too much trouble for them. Breakfasts were a lovely occasion and served with no fuss or bother. The food was tasty and whilst we had Asian style our friends had English style breakfasts and we were all pleased with both styles of delicious food served.
The very lively Jonkers Street is nearby, just a pleasant evening stroll along the river away. A meal at Nancy's Kitchen was a treat and it is just a little bit off Jonkers Street.
All in all we would loved to have had the time so stay a little longer at this delightful hotel.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BenQuah, General Manager at The Majestic Malacca, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for feedback on your recent stay. We are delighted to know that your stay was pleasant and we look forward to welcoming you back again.

Warm regards,
Ben Quah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Majestic Malacca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Majestic Malacca

Address: 188, Jalan Bunga | Raya, Melaka 75100, Malaysia (Formerly Majestic Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Melaka State > Central Melaka District > Melaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Melaka
#2 Spa Hotel in Melaka
#2 Luxury Hotel in Melaka
#2 Romantic Hotel in Melaka
#4 Business Hotel in Melaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Majestic Malacca 5*
Number of rooms: 54
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Splendia, Priceline, Despegar.com, Orbitz, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your The Majestic Malacca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Majestic Hotel Melaka

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Majestic Malacca, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.