We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old world charm and comfort” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Majestic Malacca

Save Saved
You added The Majestic Malacca to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Majestic Malacca
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   188, Jalan Bunga | Raya, Melaka 75100, Malaysia (Formerly Majestic Hotel)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 144 hotels in Melaka
Mernda, Victoria, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Old world charm and comfort”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

What a great way to finish our trip. The room was great and still really spacious even with the extra bed for our 11 year old son. Breakfast was included in our package and was good value for a hotel of this quality. We also had dinner in the restaurant which was a bit of a splurge by asian standards but was easily the best food we had on our trip. The hotel is only a short walk along a really charming and well lit river walk. Would definitely go back.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BenQuah, General Manager at The Majestic Malacca, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Dear Mr. Greg,

Thank you for your feedback and it is much appreciated. Looking forward in welcoming you back again.

Warm regards,
Ben Quah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

680 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    432
    195
    38
    10
    5
See reviews for
159
341
26
36
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melaka, Malaysia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

My parents do check in on 26th January and stay for a night. Was a splendid experience.
My mum recall the beautiful Rashidah from Front Desk was helpful. Also on Anil (if his name is right ) and all the staff there is superb. My dad say that was a memorable experince to be with Majestic Malacca and looking forward for another memorable experience.

Room Tip: High floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BenQuah, General Manager at The Majestic Malacca, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Dear Ms. Kimberly,

Thank you for your feedback and we are delighted to know that your stay was pleasant. Sincere gratitude for noticing and acknowledging the efforts of our team members who have made your stay memorable. We look forward in welcoming you back again.

Warm regards,
Ben Quah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

We spent seven nights at this wonderful hotel. The rooms were immaculate, very spacious, and comfortable. The entire hotel has a 20s atmosphere, which we found very relaxing. The breakfasts were tasty and well served. Indeed the feature of this hotel we will remember is the excellent level of friendly service. All the staff went out of their way to make us feel like guests rather than customers. Najwa at reception was particularly helpful to us with our ongoing travel, and this was typical of the level of service. We can strongly recommend the spa, and if you visit here Mrs Choo's guided walk through Melaka is a must. A comment on another review, in our experience the Majestic was only a 10-15 minute easy
walk from Jonker st and the historic centre.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BenQuah, General Manager at The Majestic Malacca, responded to this review, January 27, 2013
Dear Mr. Curtain,

Thank you for your feedback and we are delighted to know that your stay was pleasant. Sincere gratitude for noticing and acknowledging the efforts of our team members who have made your stay memorable. We look forward in welcoming you back again.

Warm regards,
Ben Quah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, England
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

The restored colonial mansion is delightful and very relaxing. The owners have done an excellent job of crafting space for a gym and pool between it and the new and very attractive and comfortable bedroom block. When we stayed (over Christmas) building work was being done on the access to the riverbank opposite which detracted somewhat from the ambience. When the current building works for upmarket apartments etc is finished the entire area will clearly come more attractive but the walk down the riverbank to the centre of the old town is very attractive even now.
The reason for rating the hotel down from 5 is that the restaurant service is simply not good enough for a hotel of this quality. Lots of staff, but no coordination - excellent food - but they need to get their act together.

Room Tip: Higher room floors are better for views, all face the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BenQuah, General Manager at The Majestic Malacca, responded to this review, January 26, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback and comments. We have noted on them with sincere concern and are taking immediate steps to address the concerns with re training, coaching and monitoring for the team to improve for our continuous improvement. My sincere apologies for the inconveniences.

Thank you and warm regards,
Ben Quah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

May 2012 saw that I had to travel to Singapore for a Asia team meeting. However this time instead of having this two days meeting in our Singapore office, team decided to drive down to Melaka. And to stay in Majestic Hotel, Melaka. And that was a good thing!

I have been told that I am biased towards small hotels, but that's because most of them are efficient and provide personalized service. Majestic was no exception! While our rooms were in posh new tower at the back of hotel, the old charming home like buidling of main hotel was seemlessly connected and old decor and furniture worked the charm. The location is central and hop to the Melaka river.

Not to forget that food was excellent and meeting was well organized. I highly recommend this hotel for bothe leisure and business.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BenQuah, General Manager at The Majestic Malacca, responded to this review, January 19, 2013
Dear Mr. Vikas,

Thank you for your feedback and it is much appreciated. We look forward in welcoming you back again.

Warm regards,
Ben Quah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

This is converted from a Planters House from the early 20th Century. The place is full of Colonial promise and great comfort. The roomas are exquisite and superbly done up. We stayed there for two different nights and were happy to see that we were remembered on our return and warmly welcomed back. One word of warning, the breakfast buffet when the hotel is full, is far more sumptious and varied, than when the hotel is less full. You'll need to ask for items that are usually displayed.

Room Tip: Try to get a river view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BenQuah, General Manager at The Majestic Malacca, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback and we are delighted to know that your stay was pleasant. We look forward to see you again

Warm regards,
Ben Quah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

Bravo to the owners of this wonderful hotel for maintaining a property with a worldly feel of heritage without compromising any of the new world luxuries. The property cleverly combines a historic Melaka Chinese mansion that contains most of the guest facilities with a modern block of 5 star rooms behind. From the first arrival at the hotel, you will notice that the staff are all very friendly, enthusiastic, courteous and helpful. The hotel rooms are large enough and are tastefully decorated and most offer a great view of Melaka, although Melaka views are generally not much to write home about. The restaurant offers excellent food and service and prices are not too bad for a luxury hotel, although drinks are rather pricey. This hotel is highly recommended whether you are chasing the historic sites of Melaka, spending a relaxing weekend or are on a business trip.

Room Tip: Ask for a room as high up as possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BenQuah, General Manager at The Majestic Malacca, responded to this review, January 19, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback and we are delighted to know that your stay was pleasant. We look
forward in welcoming you back again.

Warm regards,
Ben Quah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Majestic Malacca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Majestic Malacca

Address: 188, Jalan Bunga | Raya, Melaka 75100, Malaysia (Formerly Majestic Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Melaka State > Central Melaka District > Melaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Melaka
#1 Family Hotel in Melaka
#1 Luxury Hotel in Melaka
#2 Romantic Hotel in Melaka
#4 Business Hotel in Melaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Majestic Malacca 5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, Agoda, HotelsClick, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your The Majestic Malacca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Majestic Hotel Melaka

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Majestic Malacca, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.