We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming hotel very well located” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Majestic Malacca

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added The Majestic Malacca to your Saves list
The Majestic Malacca
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   188, Jalan Bunga | Raya, Melaka 75100, Malaysia (Formerly Majestic Hotel)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Weekday Special
Ranked #2 of 148 Hotels in Melaka
Angers, France
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Charming hotel very well located”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2012

We stayed one night at Majestic Melaka Hôtel. Our Deluxe room was upgrated to à Very Nice and large suite. Service was Very good, staff available and cute. Room and bathroom were very clean. We did not really like Malaka but the hôtel helped us forget it.
Nathalie barbier, France. December 2011.

Room Tip: Do not hesitate to book a suite, it's worthwhile
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

788 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    488
    233
    51
    10
    6
See reviews for
187
390
33
37
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2011

The Good: The colonial decor was fantastic! Free biscuits and sweets were scattered in lobby area for guests to help themselves to. Loved the bathroom. Bath salts were provided for luxurious bath in the unique bathtub. There was also a rain shower. Nice view of Kampong Morten. Good and prompt service with smiles. Were served 7 complimentary glasses of egg nog when talking to a few relatives who came to visit and talk to us in the hotel lobby, without us asking.

The Bad: There was no turn down service for our first night, but were given a small Christmas stocking filled with a candy cane and a non-crispy gingerbread man. Was taking a nap in the evening on the second day when the housekeeper came into our room with his card to turn down our beds for us. We were still lying in our beds! He thought we were not in the room as the master switch was switched off. But we had to switch it off as we wanted to sleep without any lights on. Couldn't sleep after being awakened.... As for the breakfast, do not book "Room with Breakfast". For RM$70++ per person, you could have more delicious food outside the hotel for breakfast! It's semi-buffet style. The three of us ordered a main course of American-styled Breakfast, French Toast, and Omelette each but they were just run-of-the-mill stuff, pretty average. The french toast was miserable - 3 slices of baguette with some sauce on it. No bananas were in sight at all even though the dish was fantastically named, "French Toast with Banana Butterscotch Sauce). The hash browns were soaked heavily in oil. We were expecting a sumptious spread of food for that price, but how wrong we were! For the buffet, there was just some bread, yogurt, fruit, cereals, plain porridge, fried noodles and nasi lemak (Coconut-flavoured Rice). No ham, no cheese, etc. There was no toaster for the bread too. Had to eat bread that was not warm at all. We also thought the hotel would change some of the buffet items for the following day, but this was not the case. We still had roughly the same old spread of bread, noodles, porridge and nasi lemak for breakfast on our second morning there! The only thing they changed was from 'Sambal Egg' to Sambal Chicken' as part of the sides for Nasi Lemak. Frankly, do not waste your money on breakfast here. It's not worth it. At all!

General comments: Hotel is good if you do not wish to venture out and just want to have a quiet retreat in the room during your stay in Malacca, and also if you have no expectations on hotel food. Will take 25 minutes to walk from Jonker Street to hotel. Really regret our walk to Jonker Street under the hot afternoon sun. Jonker Street is super crowded. Do not go there during public holidays and weekends.

Other than the service and decor, everything is overpriced in this hotel. If you have lots of money to spend, then it's all right to stay in the hotel.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2011

Because of the summer holidays, I was only able to stay here for one night. As everyone says, it's a beautiful property, maintained to the highest standard with white glove service. The room I was shown was jaw-dropping: carefully decorated, immaculately clean, and inviting. I could've spent hours in the giant soaking tub in the bathroom.

From doormen to front desk to manager, everyone remembers and addresses you by name. I have no idea how they accomplish that at a time when the hotel was booked solid, but it was impressive and added to the feel of luxury.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2011

The public rooms of the hotel use the old building, while the bedrooms are contained in a new tower block just behind. Its a little outside the main downtown but not too far to walk. Its also about 10 - 15 mins walk to the top end of the river boat cruise so you can board there and avoid the (sometimes) horrible queues at the downtown end. Staff try very hard to be helpful and did a great job finding us a room when we checked in too early, but I'd say they were enthusiastic rather than slick. Nice big rooms with well equipped bathrooms including an incredible "deluge" shower. But the problem is that the bathroom is only separated from the bedroom by sliding louvred shutters. Which means you can have a bath with them open looking out of the bedroom window (depending on your relationship with your room-mate) but even when closed there is no physical division between bedroom and bathroom and so no sound-proofing.
Pool is small; and tucked into a corner between old and new blocks so is not particularly appealing; but this is a city hotel after all.
Overall a pretty good hotel but be aware of the bathroom issue if thats going to bother you.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2011

The room was cosy, inviting and comfortable.. The furnishings and decor were authentic and reminiscent of true Peranakkan embellishments.
The bathroom takes your breadth away. The only comment from my wife was the bathroom could not be locked and we did have to worry that our grandchildren in the adjoining room would come barging in to the bathroom. But they behaved.
The service extended to us by staff from the start till we left was excellent. They really love their job.
We didn't eat at the hotel because we were spoilt for choice of eateries around the area. That's another thing. The hotel is located within walking distance of all the attractions and eateries.

Room Tip: All rooms seem to gave good views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2011

Like all YTL hotels, service is top notch. The hotel has an old grandeur feel to it, makes you think that you've somehow turned back time. The bathroom has deep tub that you'll definitely feel the urge to soak in. It's about 10-15min walk from Jonkers Street, which isn't too bad compared to sitting in the traffic. Overall an excellent stay :-)

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2011 via mobile

Booked over Internet for 2 rooms. The portal didnt allow me to state the number of children in our company of 4 adults. Upon arrival, I informed the front office that i needed extra bed in each room as we were travelling with 4 children. The exta beds were in the rooms before we arrived in the rooms. Hotel was very clean and well maintained. Staff were everywhere and extremely pleasant and trained. Felt very at home and welcome. Rooms were spacious with good amenities provided.
Visited the spa. Excellent tempo throughout the visit and the therapy. They made sure we were pampered and indulged.
The pool was extremely tiny. About 10m by 3m so don't expect to do any serious swimming.
Had breakfast in the Mansion restaurant. Kids below 12 eat for free. Nice relaxed environment for travelers who prefer small luxury type hotels.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Majestic Malacca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Majestic Malacca

Address: 188, Jalan Bunga | Raya, Melaka 75100, Malaysia (Formerly Majestic Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Melaka State > Central Melaka District > Melaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Melaka
#1 Family Hotel in Melaka
#2 Romantic Hotel in Melaka
#2 Spa Hotel in Melaka
#4 Business Hotel in Melaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Majestic Malacca 5*
Number of rooms: 54
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Orbitz, EasyToBook, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Majestic Malacca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Majestic Hotel Melaka

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Majestic Malacca, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.