We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a little gem, don't miss the swiftlets nesting in the reception rooms” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Puri

Save Saved
You added Hotel Puri to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Puri
118 Jalan Tun Tan Cheng Lock, Melaka 75200 , Malaysia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 144 Hotels in Melaka
Umbria
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“What a little gem, don't miss the swiftlets nesting in the reception rooms”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2009

On an 'Explore' holiday it was a treat to stay at a boutique hotel with charm. The History room documenting the rise of Melaka and restoration of the property was very interesting. Great choice of breakfast . Pleasant helpful staff. Melaka is a fun town. don't miss the swiftlets nesting in the public rooms (the nests are harvested 3 times a year for bird's nest soup!).

  • Liked — Charm and attention to detail
  • Disliked — A bit dark and very slow internet that has to be paid for!
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

688 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    197
    340
    110
    29
    12
See reviews for
157
270
48
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oklahoma city, OK
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2009

A friend and I stayed at the Hotel Puri for New Years Eve. We were in Melaka to see the sites (both been here before) and do a little shopping. We had a standard room at a low rate. The size and cleanliness was very good and the bathroom in particluar was nice. Having been to other Asian "reasonable" hotels often the bathroom is a killer, not here. Breakfast was included and was good, though nothing special. The hotel is in a charming area of Chinatown and if you like architecture this is a place...converted shophouse. The hotel was responsive to all reasonable requests. the only downside was some noise at midnight from revelers, but we had a corner room. not the hotel's fault. Would recommend.

  • Liked — Historic quality.
  • Disliked — Nothing negative.
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2008

A friend recommended Hotel Puri and the reviews on Trip Advisor confirmed. Not going to say much more than has already been said by others - deluxe room spacious , bathroom a little small but well equipped, gardens & spa lovely ( had good massage). Location is excellent. highly recommended - we will be going back soon

  • Liked — location, secure car parking, garden area, room ambience
  • Disliked — not much
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2008

Good historic hotel. Great location - can walk to chinatown and most historic sites in the old part of town. Lots of nearby restaurants. No free computer access to internet. Breakfast was included but food was so so. Has a very nice garden courtyard.

  • Liked — Beautiful historic building. good location
  • Disliked — a bit more expensive than other hotels.
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2008

Hotel Puri is a beautifully restored Peranakan house located right in the heart of old city of Melaka, within walking distance to most of the attractions. Step inside to the exquisite quiet environment of a Peranakan home, complete with timber carvings, Victorian tiles and antique Chinese furniture. The lovely landscaped gardens also offers a cool retreat from the heat of Melaka's unforgiving sun.

Everyone is smiling and friendly, from the reception to the chambermaid. While we find the location of the private locked carpark a little inconvenient (about 100m from hotel entrance), the doorman's service more than made up for this. He helps us carry some of our luggage bags, provides driving directions in the otherwise confusing one-way street system of Melaka (our GPS was often wrong!) and waits patiently for us (he has to lock the gates) everytime we need to retrieve something from the car.

For those who love a little bit of luxury, try their Junior Suites and the Puri Spa.

My only complaint of the whole experience was the lacklustre breakfast provided by Galeri Cafe. Walk to Jonker Street for breakfast if you are very particular about food.

  • Liked — Location, Peranakan charm
  • Disliked — Food
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2008

Hotel Puri is in an authentic peranakan house built by a rich Chinese in the XIX century. Great care has been taken to conserve the historical interior. So when you enter the hotel, you feel transported back in the past. You get to understand what kind of homes rich Chinese millionaires enjoyed when Malacca was vibrant and prosperous.

The service was good and we liked our room. But nothing exceptional. We had lunch after our arrival and were disappointed by the food. There are many restaurants around so I'd avoid the hotel restaurant.

The hotel is located on Jalan Tun Tan Cheng Lock at the heart of the Chinese part of the city. The street is lined with elegant historic shophouses and townhouses former homes of the Baba-Nonya community. The street is calm compared to nearby bustling Jonkers street, home to many bars, restaurants and tourist shops that can open very late.

Overall, the oustanding feature of this hotel is the historic atmosphere and the great location.

  • Liked — historic design of the hotel and great location
  • Disliked — restaurant
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
malaysia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2008

When my friends suggested to have a vacation to Melaka A'famosa, I did a full research thru Trip Advisor to check on A'famosa as well as all other Melaka Hotels - was very impressive with the positive remarks abt. Hotel Puri. Since this shall be my hubby and son 1st visit to Melaka, I was hoping to plan one memorable if not a perfect vacation for them. So, I proposed to have one nite stay at Hotel Puri first before adjourning to A'famosa Resort for another nite stay.

I would say I have made the right choice - that's also the response I got from my hubby as well as my holidays mate. They were telling me on the way to Melaka that they actually wanna asked me to book Hotel Equatorial which they have stayed few years back but decided to hold back and see what I have planned. But after we checked in, they said Hotel Equatorial is good but Hotel Puri is simply better in terms of the different kind of ambience it offers. First, it's located along those historical building that looks fascinating. When we arrived at the frontage, all my holidays mate were all quite hesitating with my choice but as soon as we step inside the Hotel, everyone were like ................. "wow, this is great !" This place is ideal - the staffs was friendly, place looks well maintain, clean and smells fresh & good (could be the aromatheraphy scents), the courtyard is beautiful, room also look well-maintained and clean, rate reasonable ..........................really different from the norm.

At nite, we can just walk to Jonker Street (not to be missed) which is just behind Hotel Puri. It is also about ten minutes walk to the riverside and 15 minutes walk to the Stydhurds and other historical Melaka place.

The only negative remarks I can say is there is no lift (for those who do not like to climb stairs). Otherwise, I would strongly recommend everyone who is going to Melaka for the 1st time to try this Hotel..................and me myself is looking forward to plan another trip to Melaka and stay at whereas but HOTEL PURI again ! Thank you to all trip advisor travellers whom have share a genuine comments. I would definately do a research from Trip Advisor before I confirm any holiday !

  • Liked — Landscaping, cleanliness, location .........................
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Puri? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Puri

Address: 118 Jalan Tun Tan Cheng Lock, Melaka 75200 , Malaysia
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Melaka State > Central Melaka District > Melaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Melaka
#7 Best Value Hotel in Melaka
#7 Family Hotel in Melaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Puri Melaka is a boutique hotel in the heart of the old city of Malacca. The hotel is a carefully restored Peranakan house which once belonged to the decendants of an eminent philanthropist and rubber plantation owner, Tan Kim Seng. Extending 100 metres long, its distinct characteristics are its beautiful and intricately decorated façade and the impressive length of the house. Retaining its old charm, Hotel Puri Melaka provides modern amenities to its hotel guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Otel so you can book your Hotel Puri reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Puri Hotel Melaka

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Puri, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.