We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Puri is Perfect (and don't forget the spa)” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Puri

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Puri to your Saves list
Hotel Puri
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   118 Jalan Tun Tan Cheng Lock, Melaka 75200 , Malaysia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 156 Hotels in Melaka
Certificate of Excellence
Southeast Asia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Puri is Perfect (and don't forget the spa)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

If you are looking for an affordable, clean, comfortable, convenient, charming, historic hotel in Malacca, Malaysia, I don't know how you could do any better than Hotel Puri. Located in the heart of the historic district, the hotel provides an intimate, local experience. Seriously, why would you stay in a big, modern, could-be-anywhere hotel when you can enjoy a true-blue Peranakan experience staying here?

The hotel is in the renovated home of a wealthy Straits Chinese businessman. When you see pictures of the renovation in the hotel's "history room," you'll be amazed at the finished results.

The lobby is part of the original home and is light and airy thanks to the large light well in the middle of the room. These used to be open to the elements, letting in light, air and yes, rain. The one in the Hotel Puri is now closed up. It still lets in the light, but the air con keeps the place cool. It's decorated with classic ornate furniture featuring intricate designs of inlaid mother-of-pearl.

Past the check-in counter is another room filled with historic objects. Shady garden courtyards flank either side of this room. Breakfast is served in one of them (the Heliconia garden). You can wait out the afternoon heat enjoying drinks in the other. Some of the hotel suites are located at the back of the gardens.

This was a girls' trip and we booked a triple room. The room was in the modern addition upstairs. It was very basic - three single beds side-by-side with a lamp in between each. But it was very clean and comfortable and we weren't planning to spend much time in there anyway. The wi-fi worked great in there. The bathroom was clean and modern with great shower pressure. One minor hiccup - it was a triple room but there were only two coffee sachets! Horrors!

Breakfast in the courtyard is a lovely way to start the day. The buffet is quite comprehensive with Western and Asian dishes available.

As for that spa -- When I booked the hotel I noted that it had a spa, but I didn't know how NICE the spa was. Since we were only there for two days, we just booked foot scrub/massages for two of our traveling party (the other enjoyed a Tiger beer in the aforementioned garden.) Do yourself a favor and do at least that. Or do yourself a bigger favor and plan some time for a full massage or other treatments.

The hotel is located just one street over from the famed Jonker Street. You can also walk to the river cruise launch point and to all the other sites in the historic district of the city. (During our stay the sidewalk in front of the hotel was being redone so it was quite hazardous getting in and out of there. Hopefully that will be finished soon.)

The hotel does not have a pool and other than breakfast I don't know what other food it serves. But there are plenty of cafes nearby (the Geographer Cafe is just a block away).

We enjoyed our stay at the Hotel Puri and would definitely book it again if returning to Malacca.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

846 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    233
    423
    144
    31
    15
See reviews for
202
324
60
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

What a beautiful oasis in a hot busy wonderful part of Melaka! We couldn't have wanted more. This hotel is a charming and exquisite building which once entered you will find hard to leave. Juliana, the manager, was very welcoming, helpful and efficient, from well before we arrived, emailing us and arranging transfers with the very reliable Mr Goh. As a family with 4 teenage children, it's not easy to move around so to have a minibus pre-arranged to drive us to and from KL airport was a relief. Both Mr Goh and Juliana were very sympathetic and assisted us in trying to locate our camera which we unwittingly left on our Airasia flight after landing at KL. But to no avail - Airasia are not only reaping the profits of their sneaky insurance add-in, but the goods of their passengers also. Back to hotel puri....it is a short walk to Jonker st around the corner and to the Stadhuys and river, and even to the giant malls if you have teenagers who must. The breakfast is excellent and in a gorgeous garden courtyard environment. My favourite, the freshly baked Portuguese egg tarts. The atmosphere at the hotel with guests from many other countries is very friendly and provides an environment for cultural exchange which the children enjoyed. Juliana can direct you to any restaurant or attraction you wish, and make very good suggestions. Highly recommend the hotel spa - both myself and husband had excellent massage there. It is in very serene and relaxing with again, a beautiful courtyard where you sit afterwards and sip on herbal tea. A warning though - don't let the children order room service - the hotel adds 3.5RM on to every item ordered through room service. Although they don't seem consistent in applying this loading. Nevertheless the food is excellent at the hotel. We were keen to do a cooking class and asked about arranging it at one of the recommended places nearby. Juliana offered for the hotel chef to teach us, so my husband and 17 year old son spent an educational hour or so with the chef in the hotel garden on a trestle with gas cooker learning how to make laksa. Love this place and looking forward to returning - one day!

Room Tip: Superior quad room is great for families
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

Used to stay in the Holiday Inn every time when I traveled to Melaka. Stayed 01 night at the Hotel Puri because i am traveling with my families member and prefer to have a convenience location and family room. Location was convenience and walking distance to most of the attraction.

Not much choice for the breakfast but with the price that you are paying you can't really demand for more.

Overall, it was a good and affordable hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
south england
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

this jewel of a hotel stands in a busy street but once you go through the door you are in a haven of beauty and quiet. Fantastic staff: helpful, cheerful and efficient make it that extra special. It's beautifully clean, wonderful plants and indoor courtyards, little corners everywhere to surprise you. The furniture is lovely and there's even a small museum. My room was as I requested, overlooking the main courtyard which is the prettiest - you look out of the window and it seems
like a garden, for me it was perfect and suited all my requirements. There are places to sit all round the hotel and, joy of joy, not only wifi but 2 computers you can use - not easy to find in
Malaysian hotels and perfect for those of us who prefer not to be lumbered with laptops/tablets.
A quick summary of things to do/see: the bike tour in the plantations was very interesting - definitely worth it (see Lonely Planet re Alias' 3-hour bike tour for contact details, they also know him at the hotel reception). There's a very nice (tiny) restaurant practically next door with great Baba-Nonya food and plenty of other places which are also listed on a hand out at the hotel. Lots to see (also listed on a hand out and useful to have your own guide book too) but go to Jonkers Walk early to avoid the masses. It's a popular sightseeing place so unfortunately you get the tourist trivia but it really is an amazing town.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the main courtyard, away from the stairs and stress that you want it to b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
38 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

Stayed 1 night at the Hotel Puri. It is just off Jonker Street and very very convenient. It's within walking distance to all major sights, plenty of eats near by, and antique and curio shops. If you drive, there is secure parking where you can park your car for your whole trip to Malacca and not have to worry about navigating the overcrowded roads or finding a parking spot.

The hotel is the old residence of Tan Kim Seng, and the grounds was huge. If you appreciate Peranakan culture, staying at this place would be a chance to marvel at the lives of these rich merchants in the old days. The place is very nicely landscaped with lush vegetation, and it is a joy to behold.

I stayed at the family room, which will be one of the larger rooms. Truth be told, the room is clean but basic at best. The mattresses are rather soft and the sleep quality is not good. The toilet bowl was stained and the toilet could do with better finishing. There was no elevators.

There was complementary wifi, but you had to ask the front desk for the password.

Breakfast was an alfresco affair at the heliconia garden. The spread was limited. I was very happy that they had teh tarik though.

There was a small museum of sorts in the hotel, and one of the courts had swifts which build nests on the corners of the roofs. You can see them flying about early in the morning.

The main draw of this place would be staying at the old residence of the Babas and Nyonyas, as well as the location. If you can manage your expectations of the rooms, this place is quite marvelous.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

In my previous experience, it's hardly to find a place to hang my cloths in any hotel. So, I can say this hotel is a very good hotel. All the wood furniture and room deco are very classic. I paid RM195 for a small twin sharing room in this 3-stars hotel located in the very famous old street in Melaka. I have 2 complaints: (1) the direction of the hot water tap; (2) noisy street.

Room Tip: avoid rooms facing street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
60 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

This was a two night stay in Hotel Puri over the Easter Period. The staff at the Hotel were great (more friendly and helpful than last time) and the room was spot on what we expected. This is not a place for excessive luxury, it is a heritage building that is designed to be in keeping with the heritage feel. And it achieves this well. The rooms were comfortable and appointed to a good level, but not overly so.

So, the only negative I'd say is that the breakfast was adequate. Not bad but not great.

I would be pleased to stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melaka hotels
1.7 mi away
The Settlement Hotel
The Settlement Hotel
#4 of 156 in Melaka
4.5 of 5 stars 295 reviews
0.1 mi away
Jonker Boutique Hotel
Jonker Boutique Hotel
#5 of 156 in Melaka
4.5 of 5 stars 518 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Majestic Malacca
The Majestic Malacca
#1 of 156 in Melaka
4.5 of 5 stars 962 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Casa del Rio Melaka
Casa del Rio Melaka
#3 of 156 in Melaka
4.5 of 5 stars 695 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Sterling Boutique Hotel Melaka
0.7 mi away
Hatten Hotel Melaka
Hatten Hotel Melaka
#12 of 156 in Melaka
4.0 of 5 stars 1,318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Puri? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Puri

Address: 118 Jalan Tun Tan Cheng Lock, Melaka 75200, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Melaka State > Central Melaka District > Melaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Melaka
#6 Family Hotel in Melaka
#7 Romantic Hotel in Melaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Puri 3.5*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Puri Melaka is a boutique hotel in the heart of the old city of Malacca. The hotel is a carefully restored Peranakan house which once belonged to the decendants of an eminent philanthropist and rubber plantation owner, Tan Kim Seng. Extending 100 metres long, its distinct characteristics are its beautiful and intricately decorated façade and the impressive length of the house. Retaining its old charm, Hotel Puri Melaka provides modern amenities to its hotel guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Agoda, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Puri reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Puri Hotel Melaka

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Puri, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.