We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, wonderful environment, but the room was so-so” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Puri

Save Saved
You added Hotel Puri to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Puri
118 Jalan Tun Tan Cheng Lock, Melaka 75200 , Malaysia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 144 Hotels in Melaka
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Good location, wonderful environment, but the room was so-so”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

Stayed 1 night at the Hotel Puri. It is just off Jonker Street and very very convenient. It's within walking distance to all major sights, plenty of eats near by, and antique and curio shops. If you drive, there is secure parking where you can park your car for your whole trip to Malacca and not have to worry about navigating the overcrowded roads or finding a parking spot.

The hotel is the old residence of Tan Kim Seng, and the grounds was huge. If you appreciate Peranakan culture, staying at this place would be a chance to marvel at the lives of these rich merchants in the old days. The place is very nicely landscaped with lush vegetation, and it is a joy to behold.

I stayed at the family room, which will be one of the larger rooms. Truth be told, the room is clean but basic at best. The mattresses are rather soft and the sleep quality is not good. The toilet bowl was stained and the toilet could do with better finishing. There was no elevators.

There was complementary wifi, but you had to ask the front desk for the password.

Breakfast was an alfresco affair at the heliconia garden. The spread was limited. I was very happy that they had teh tarik though.

There was a small museum of sorts in the hotel, and one of the courts had swifts which build nests on the corners of the roofs. You can see them flying about early in the morning.

The main draw of this place would be staying at the old residence of the Babas and Nyonyas, as well as the location. If you can manage your expectations of the rooms, this place is quite marvelous.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

688 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    197
    340
    110
    29
    12
See reviews for
157
270
48
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

In my previous experience, it's hardly to find a place to hang my cloths in any hotel. So, I can say this hotel is a very good hotel. All the wood furniture and room deco are very classic. I paid RM195 for a small twin sharing room in this 3-stars hotel located in the very famous old street in Melaka. I have 2 complaints: (1) the direction of the hot water tap; (2) noisy street.

Room Tip: avoid rooms facing street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

This was a two night stay in Hotel Puri over the Easter Period. The staff at the Hotel were great (more friendly and helpful than last time) and the room was spot on what we expected. This is not a place for excessive luxury, it is a heritage building that is designed to be in keeping with the heritage feel. And it achieves this well. The rooms were comfortable and appointed to a good level, but not overly so.

So, the only negative I'd say is that the breakfast was adequate. Not bad but not great.

I would be pleased to stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

This was the worst hotel I stayed in Malaysia. The only thing going for was the location. The staff were cols. The room that we were given was nothing like I had purchased online. It was grubby..with a terrible outlook - with a small windowless bathroom. Stayed for two nights and it was not pleasant. The staff were cold and beige - and were very unhelpful. Our room 110 was in need of a good paint. The only thing going for this place was the entrance lobby and the courtyard. As for breakfast…no comment. Not worth the money or previous reviews. Stay elsewhere !!

Room Tip: Don't get room 110…!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

A wonderful experience to stay in a grand historic old building surrounded by beautiful artifacts & a sense of history. The room was plainly furnished but comfortable & clean. We enjoyed the peaceful gardens & the buffet breakfast in the back garden was a real treat. The staff were friendly & helpful & the Spa is a lovely treat after a hot days sightseeing. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

For the sake of convenience, since we travelled over 200km from Kuala Lumpur, we stayed in this hotel which is also the venue for my nephew's wedding reception.

Hotel management was very co-operative for the reception but the restaurant staff service is poor and unfriendly. Refreshment drinks was served in tiny whinny glasses, which is terrible, especially when Melaka is such a hot and humid place nearby the sea. Generally the food is quite good. Unfortunately, the F&B department is stingy with the ice cream so while the fruit dessert looked good in presentation but underneath was all ice shaving. Soon in the warm weather, the fruit dessert was soaked in melted ice with the ice cream on top all gone. if the ice cream had been layered with the fruit, this won't have happened. when the second batch of ice cream was taken out, it was all wasted, melted away with no one eating it because everyone's full.

Despite being at the uncle's table, which is tiny by the way, only fit 4 persons, there wasn't enough wedding cake to serve us, instead all our friends in the front of the restaurant got their piece of cake. I was very disappointed. However, I would only congratulate one trainee staff, who always serve with a smile and served us very well. Unfortunately, he hasn't got a name tag for me to comment for a job well done.

Breakfast was generously international favor but the cheese cake was soon gone before 8:30am. The soy sauce bottle was empty though I was at the breakfast table at 7:15am. Why only one soy sauce bottle for the whole restaurant for breakfast is what I don't understand.

My nephew advised me to take the deluxe rooms which was roomy but the bathroom sucks. The shower is so small that I can hardly turn around, even though the hot water is good. The mattress is bad - no pocket springs so when your mate moves, the whole bed shakes, and it's uncomfortable. Since we only stayed one night we bear with it. The air con remote was broke, so we only to guess what to set. Since it was almost full house, we didn't bother to complain.

The only good part about this hotel is the garden concept which my nephew subscribed to when planning for his wedding. Nice garden to hang out with the fellow guests. The car park is "miles" away and no one to help you with the luggages. There's not even a place for a car to stop by the front of the hotel. So good thing it was only one night for us. By the way, the rooms are in the 3 floors above the ground floor and there is not even one lift so don't go there with heavy luggages to drag up the stairways.

Even with a 10% discount due to my nephew's wedding, the price is almost the same as what we paid for President Solitaire Hotel in Bangkok, which is all suite 4 star hotel with wonder facilities and services.

Room Tip: Less noisy on the upper floors but you will have to walk up flights of stairs though. If you have he...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2014

Another short visit to Malacca and as always made very welcome at the Hotel Puri. Love the setting and the beautiful garden breakfast. Also so close to the action of World Heritage site!!
Turn left out of the hotel for a less tourist route.

Room Tip: All rooms are fine - who wants to spend time inside when so much food and sights to see!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Puri? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Puri

Address: 118 Jalan Tun Tan Cheng Lock, Melaka 75200 , Malaysia
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Melaka State > Central Melaka District > Melaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Melaka
#7 Best Value Hotel in Melaka
#7 Family Hotel in Melaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Puri Melaka is a boutique hotel in the heart of the old city of Malacca. The hotel is a carefully restored Peranakan house which once belonged to the decendants of an eminent philanthropist and rubber plantation owner, Tan Kim Seng. Extending 100 metres long, its distinct characteristics are its beautiful and intricately decorated façade and the impressive length of the house. Retaining its old charm, Hotel Puri Melaka provides modern amenities to its hotel guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Otel so you can book your Hotel Puri reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Puri Hotel Melaka

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Puri, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.