We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Junior suite is lovely” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Puri

Save Saved
You added Hotel Puri to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Puri
118 Jalan Tun Tan Cheng Lock, Melaka 75200 , Malaysia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 144 Hotels in Melaka
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Junior suite is lovely”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

This is our 2nd stay at Hotel Puri. Our first stay was at a superior room. Amenities were simple. So when we popped over to our friend's junior suite to take a look, we knew that that that would be the next room we wanna stay in.

So for our 2nd stay, we booked the junior suite which was comfortable enough for my family of 5. My 2 girls, age 12 and 9 took the sofa bed, they set up a baby cot for my baby girl, 15 months and we took the loft bed. My girls were thrilled to bits with the room.

Service was a little cold at front desk... but it could be that it's the weekend and they are rather short handed. Wi fi was intermittent, so it was quite frustrating.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

690 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    197
    341
    111
    29
    12
See reviews for
157
271
48
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
wellington nz
Top Contributor
186 reviews 186 reviews
84 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

This hotel is in a good, quiet location in china town. The hotel compound is a peaceful environment with a historic feel, and service was excellent. We had a standard room which was average but clean and comfortable and was serviced daily. We were on the first floor above the lobby so got good signal wifi in our room and did not have to visit the lobby to use internet. Breakfast was a very good selection of both asian and western - loved the corn pancakes. Two minutes walk to bars and restaurants, 10 minutes walk to Malls, and 5 minutes to most historic sites. We did go during the week so was not too busy, but as we left on Friday the cars were starting to gridlock on the small streets.

We recommend Geographer for drink and food.
Closest ATM is in same street as hotel - outside herren hotel - the end towards Melaka town square. they also did a great job of our laundry for good price.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
248 reviews 248 reviews
177 hotel reviews
Reviews in 159 cities Reviews in 159 cities
443 helpful votes 443 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

Situated among the charming old Peranakan houses in the heart of Chinatown, this boutique hotel certainly is very beautiful. It is an easy walk to the river and the historic town centre.
The entry is a classic Chinese atrium. It‘s public rooms are also full of beautiful and interesting items. The most unexpected is the room where a small number of select Swiftlets have been allowed to build their homes near the ceiling and you can see them there day and night tucked up in their tiny nests. The bar and casual dining area was in a lovely garden setting. The breakfast buffet was in a different lovely garden setting, passed the koi pool

For three nights we paid MR745 for a junior suite and MR484 for a standard room on wotif.com. I was in the junior suite which was a perfect example of decor before design. On the entry level was a room that had an attractive oriental wardrobe and a cabinet containing the mini-fridge and coffee making. In the middle of the room was a lounge chair and foot stool which was perfect if you wanted to sit and watch your partner in the shower over the bath! The bath was set in a pebbled area with a basin and bamboo ladder for a towel rail. It was all very attractive and irritatingly impractical. Worst was the fact that the toilet was also down stairs. The bedroom however was up a very steep staircase. During the night this felt frankly dangerous. It was also annoying to have the luggage on a different level to the bedroom.
The bedroom was very attractive with a four poster and flat screen television. There were other annoying things but the bottom line is that I would certainly recommend this hotel but not the junior suites.

Room Tip: beware of the junior suites.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, Dc, Usa
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012

Pros:
+ great location (one block from Jonker St in Old Town)
+ helpful, reliable front desk staff (not bubbly, but professional, nice, and reliable; went out of the way to help me with a crazy request)
+ triple layers of windows help keep out city noises
+ modern bathrooms (but modest size)
+ not glamorous but an old town building with some character
Cons:
- disappointing breakfast

Room Tip: May be worth the upgrade to a deluxe room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malaysia
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2012

I have a 1 night stay at this boutique hotel on short weekend break.

Check In : Early check in at 11.50 AM. Service was good and fast, we get Room #129 on the ground floor. No cold tower or welcome drinks is a miss for me.

Room : Very clean and well decorated. But the furniture is a bit dated which a scratch can be found anywhere. Bathroom was great but small, good pressure from shower. Beware that hot shower was too hot. TV was too small and I am expecting LCD for the room to look impressive. Mattress was too bouncy and I didn't like it. Something like cheap budget motel mattress. The room on the ground floor have a window but you can't see anything from there, blocking by a plant.

Hotel Ground : I would say impressive. This is the main area my vote goes to 4 star. Well decorated and I love their history room.

Service : A day staff seem great and very welcoming but receptionist are not done their good job welcoming their guest. Hardly see any staff helping you on night shift. Thanks to Mrs. Joe (I believe from housekeeping) which enjoyed her works very much explaining to me the tips and secret of Melaka. Very friendly. You could look for her if you need tips and secret on best place to go.

Breakfast : Its good variety of food and it keeps replenish. But the atmosphere really kill the great surrounding with loud speaking customer with their naughty children.

Location : Its fantastic. You could walk around to almost all historical places and great food.

Room Tip: Try to select room that are not in ground floor but you have to step the ladder since no lift.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Breda, The Netherlands
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

Hotel Puri is located central in Malacca, near the night market and near Jonkers street. The staff is friendly and helpfull and gives you a warm welcome at the hotel. The rooms are simple and small. However they are clean and have airconditioning and television. The breakfast isn't comprehensive but it tastes good and there is some local fruit you can choose from. It is a lovely hotel with a nice atmosphere. I wouldn't necessarily stay here for more than a week but it's a perfect option for a short stay.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2012 via mobile

Very characteristic, nicely restored "Melaka house". Great location near the old centre of Melaka. Private parking facilities for free in guarded area. Very friendly staff. The rooms are spacious, stylish with old furniture, but with modern bathroom-facilities. OK breakfast. Very modestly priced, so great value for money.

Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Puri? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Puri

Address: 118 Jalan Tun Tan Cheng Lock, Melaka 75200 , Malaysia
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Melaka State > Central Melaka District > Melaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Melaka
#7 Family Hotel in Melaka
#7 Best Value Hotel in Melaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Puri Melaka is a boutique hotel in the heart of the old city of Malacca. The hotel is a carefully restored Peranakan house which once belonged to the decendants of an eminent philanthropist and rubber plantation owner, Tan Kim Seng. Extending 100 metres long, its distinct characteristics are its beautiful and intricately decorated façade and the impressive length of the house. Retaining its old charm, Hotel Puri Melaka provides modern amenities to its hotel guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Otel so you can book your Hotel Puri reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Puri Hotel Melaka

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Puri, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.