We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Equatorial Melaka

Save Saved
You added Hotel Equatorial Melaka to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel Equatorial Melaka
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Bandar Hilir, Melaka 75000, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 144 hotels in Melaka
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
138 helpful votes 138 helpful votes
“Very nice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2010

Nice hotel, amazing staff, great location.
Room i got was a little rundown but had a great view and i just went to the pool most of the time i was in the hotel anyway.
Only negative is that they charge for everything! The internet is 40 ringit a day. That's crazy in Malaysia! Went to McDonalds opposite which has free wifi.
Also if you want to use the fitness club you have to pay 10 ringit. Maybe this is why it was always empty. The steam room and jacuzzi where filthy.
These should be included at this price.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

818 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    194
    444
    134
    28
    17
See reviews for
292
196
37
85
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (178)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
NSW
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2010

Above expectations, clean, well located, lovely rooms

  • Stayed August 2010
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2010

We stayed there for a day & We really fell in LUV with this hotel!! Thank you very much that someone recommend us to stay in their premier room, which juz cost a bit more!! I tell you, you will be so pleased with their service, the rooms & everything!! Room is new & spacious! View is juz Superb!! Service is efficient too!!

Hmm, ok..., now for their bad points... 1) we ordered chendol as Chendol is a MUZ-Eat thing when you are in Melaka, the Chendol is juz average... if U really wanna eat this, go Jonker Street, which is near to the hotel too!! 2) they dun even hv any umbrellas to lend out when it rains!! BAD!! this is real Bad & really dampen our "Hotel Equatorial-Melaka" spirit, as it was raining really heavy, & I really mean very heavy!! I ran bk to the hotel (drenched) to ask if we could borrow any umbrellas as we have an elderly & a baby with us, but no luck at all!! In the end, we have to hide the baby under our clothes & the elderly ran bk to the hotel (almost slipped too). We had no choice, as we have to catch a plane that day itself (it was not raining when we left to do some last minute shopping). So, I hope the management of the hotel could look into it & provide some solutions.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2010

We stayed here for 3d 2n, the hotel was rather close to Jonker Walk and Fort Famosa, which are THE must-sees when in Meleka. The pool was gorgeous and we spent lots of time reading here. The rooms were a bit disappointing, though. The furniture and wallpapers need a serious makeover. The TV was tiny and the toilet was badly stained. However if you are going to be out exploring all day, these things wouldn't really matter because what's more important is LOCATION. Hotel Equatorial is located where the museums and must sees are. Service at the breakfast buffet was top notch. I was impressed by the efficiency of the wait staff as they constantly came around to refill our coffee cups and clear our plates.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Italy
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2010

We stayed in one of the newly renovated Premier rooms. They are very nice, clean, comfortable. The hotel is in perfect location, in the old city and within walking distance to everywhere in town, including ChinaTown. No free wifi (incredible, considering the level - and price - of the hotel).

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincolnshire
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2010

Stayed here for two nights whilst driving up from Singapore to Penang. Used the Parking Service which was very efficient,. The car was parked up for us and then brought to the door on departure. The staff on Reception were polite and the room was ready even though we were a little early. The room was an adequate size for the three of us. We had to ask for the extra bed to be set up, and that was rather small for a teenager. The decor and furnishings were quite shabby although it was quite clean. One thing to note - the water is a brownish red colour, which can be quite off-putting, especially in the toilet, or when taking a bath.
The best thing about the Equatorial is its location, right in the centre of town and next to a modern mall complete with air - con, Starbucks and a Carrefours supermarket, in case you need a bit of respite from full-on Asia. Directly outside the hotel you can pick up a trishaw, for a fixed price of 40 MR for an hour's tour. These are absolutely fabulous - the owners seem to be in competition to decorate them in the most kitsch way possible. We took a ride at night, when they are lit up with fairy lights, and ours had a speaker with pop music blaring out. Careering round the streets of Melaka whilst being serenaded by Lady Ga-Ga was a truly memorable experience! The slight downside to the location was that our room overlooked a large school, and we were woken each morning at about 7am by the tannoy system blaring out information for the students arriving. No need for an alarm clock.
We booked the hotel through Simply Malaysia, who are brilliant, especially Danny who arranged our quite complicated itinerary and gave us excellent advice and support.
If you want a budget hotel for a short stay, the Equatorial is a good choice, but don't expect luxury.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malaysia
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2010

I stay at Hotel Equarotial Hotel in the middle of May 2010. Just a 3D2N short trip... Overall the hotel is quite clean with perfect location...

Once we stepped out from the hotel, right hand side is already a shopping mall (2 mins walk)... Alot of shopping mall around and a lot of eatery place as well...

This hotel is quite suitable for family with kids.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Equatorial Melaka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Equatorial Melaka

Address: Bandar Hilir, Melaka 75000, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Melaka State > Central Melaka District > Melaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 144 hotels in Melaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Equatorial Melaka 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Standing majestically in the heart of history is the Hotel Equatorial Melaka. Bringing you the allure of historical Melaka with modern day conveniences, this 5-Star 22-storey international business hotel features 496 luxuriously furnished rooms and a host of food and beverage outlets. The hotel offers a range of facilities from recreation - swimming pools, a fitness centre; to business - business centre, meeting rooms and the largest grand ballroom in the state. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Tingo, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hotel Equatorial Melaka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Equatorial Melaka, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.