We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Week away” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Equatorial Melaka

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Equatorial Melaka to your Saves list
Hotel Equatorial Melaka
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Bandar Hilir, Melaka 75000, Malaysia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Free breakfast with your stay
Ranked #10 of 154 Hotels in Melaka
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Week away”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

Two couples went away for a week from Australia. Melaka was perfect and a week was the perfect time in Melaka. Easy taxi ride from KLIA. The hotel Equatorial was a comfortable base to stay. The foyer was grand with beautiful floral decorations. The desk staff were polite & helpful, we had to remind the bell boys to bring up our suitcases but that was ok. Food in the cafe, in the lounge and in the restaurant was good quality and the nonya cooking class was well run & fun. The rooms were large and clean, no mini bar and a very small amount of coffee & tea (no milk) however with 7eleven across the road, we just bought our own supplies. The pool is lovely and large with different areas for children. The gym was small but clean & enough equipment. The hotel was in a great location, across from a large mall and down the road from Jonker street. Easy to get to shops, restaurants and attractions.

Stayed May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Equatorial_Mel, General Manager at Hotel Equatorial Melaka, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Dear Guest,


Thank you for your kind review and I am pleased that your stay has been an enjoyable one.

I am pleased that you experienced our hands-on cooking at our Nyonya cooking class.

I am glad that the service, room and hotel facilities have met with your expectations. We certainly value your patronage and we look forward to welcoming you again.

Once again, our sincere appreciations to you for taking the time to provide us with your kind review.


Yours sincerely,
Adrian Chung
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,029 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    231
    566
    166
    40
    25
See reviews for
366
246
44
115
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (225)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

This hotel is my favourite in Malacca and my husband and I are frequent guests. As always, we were there for a short relaxation however, this time during the June holidays. We were taken aback by the sight of people using the pool fully clothed and at one time, I saw one of the ladies spat into the flower bed, I am not sure if she also spat into the pool and kept hearing her clear her throat. Instead of using the children's pool, the mothers of some were using the adult pool teaching babies swimming. The pool attendant should be more vigilant when there is a huge crowd using the pool and perhaps supervise to ensure the pool is not misused. Needless to say, I left the pool as quickly as possible.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Equatorial_Mel, General Manager at Hotel Equatorial Melaka, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Dear Guest,


Thank you for your kind review.

I have taken a serious view on all your feedback and rest assured, every effort will be made to improve where we have fallen short.

Once again, I thank you for your support and we look forward to welcome you back to Hotel Equatorial Melaka.


Yours sincerely,
Adrian Chung
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

My wife and two young children booked a club room for one night at the last minute for a great price. Private check in/out area on the 21st floor and two hours of drinks and food in the evening if you wish. The complimentary internet was also very welcome.

Car parking is in the basement and there is no elevator. No big deal.

The suite was spacious and certainly big enough for all of us. There was a daybed in the main bedroom where the children slept quite comfortably.

Breakfast was good, with plenty of variety. Reasonable coffee, too.

Not right in the heart of the tourist area, but close enough. You could definitely walk - we took a taxi, but only because we have young children.

I would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Equatorial_Mel, General Manager at Hotel Equatorial Melaka, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Dear Guest,


Thank you for your kind review.

It is certainly pleasing to know that we have met with your expectations. We will always make every effort to provide the best level of service to all our guests.

My sincerest appreciations for taking the time to post your kind review and I look forward to welcome you back.


Yours sincerely,
Adrian Chung
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
66 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

The room is ordinary and more for business type. However wi-fi is kind of slow by the desk. Full wi-fi signal if the laptop of phone goes near the door.
Bathroom is satisfactory.
Room service menu - sea chowder has whole piece of scallops, prawns, mussels etc. But they do not taste fresh. Wanton soup noodle - not quite the same but quite pleasant.
The Nonya restaurant - food is ordinary. Chendol is good.
The Rest House restaurant - breakfast buffet is good. The roti prata is nice and fluffy.
Hotel is near to places of interest and shopping centers.

Room Tip: Choose the rooms that have views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Equatorial_Mel, General Manager at Hotel Equatorial Melaka, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Dear Guest,


Thank you for your kind review.

I am pleased that you enjoyed our Cendol and roti prata. Rest assured, we will always make every effort to provide the best level of service to all our guests, as well as to improve on our shortcomings.

We look forward to welcome you back to Hotel Equatorial Melaka.


Yours sincerely,
Adrian Chung
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

I booked this hotel for a weekend away in Melaka. I don't have many good things to say about our stay there:

1) This hotel was very busy when we visited and they treat you like a number, just another piece of cattle, we waited in a long line to check in and out of this place.

2) The room is tired and dated, definitely in need of an update.

3) There were a lot of noisy kids running around the hotel including the hallways and pool area.

4) The staff in the hotel reception and restaurant are not especially friendly. For the price we paid we were underwhelmed by the service and attitude of the staff here.

Room Tip: Don't book this place
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Equatorial_Mel, General Manager at Hotel Equatorial Melaka, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Dear Guest,


Thank you very much for the time taken to post your review.

I have taken a serious view on all your feedback and rest assured every effort will be made to improve where we have fallen short.

Once again, our sincere appreciation for taking the time to provide us with your kind reviews.


Yours sincerely,
Adrian Chung
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

The hotel was centrally located and close enough to walk to Jonker Street which is about 10 mins walk away. The staff was friendly and even though we had a big group of us for a church camp, they were still friendly and smiley. Buffet spread was reasonable and I always enjoyed the porridge during breakfast!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Equatorial_Mel, General Manager at Hotel Equatorial Melaka, responded to this review, June 26, 2014
Dear Guest,


Thank you for your kind review.

I am glad you had a pleasant and enjoyable stay with us during your recent stay. Rest assured every effort will always be made to serve you and all our guests better.

We look forward to welcome you back to Hotel Equatorial Melaka.


Yours sincerely,
Adrian Chung
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

Spent holiday with my parents.
Stayed in Equator Club Room.
Hoho, spacious!
Cleanliness: superb!
Nice bed.
Nice view.
Cafe: hope that it will be more varieties to those who non chicken/beefeater during breakfast.
Overall: good!

Hope the Management of the hotel could consider the wheelchair/stroller ramp at the lobby. Agreed with angely_angel.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Equatorial_Mel, General Manager at Hotel Equatorial Melaka, responded to this review, June 24, 2014
Dear Guest,


Thank you for your kind review. We are pleased that your stay has been an enjoyable one.

It is always gratifying to receive compliments and I will surely share these with all my staff. Your comments in regards to the breakfast spread has also been shared with the Executive Chef.

Rest assured, we will continue to strive to provide the best level of service.

We certainly cherish your patronage and we look forward to welcome you back to Hotel Equatorial Melaka.


Yours sincerely,
Adrian Chung
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hotel Equatorial Melaka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Equatorial Melaka

Address: Bandar Hilir, Melaka 75000, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Melaka State > Central Melaka District > Melaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 154 Hotels in Melaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Equatorial Melaka 4*
Number of rooms: 496
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the heart of historical Melaka, Hotel Equatorial Melaka is a 5-star international business hotel with 496 elegantly furnished guestrooms and suites offering stunning views of the Straits of Melaka and St. Paul's Hill, whilst providing our guests the most luxurious comfort and service. It is ideally located within a few minutes' walk from historical sites and trails, shopping complexes, night spots, financial institutions as well as the ever famous Jonker's Street - a haven for antique collectors and bargain hunters. Featuring guestrooms ranging from the modest Deluxe room to the Presidential Suite, the hotel rooms are tastefully furnished along elegant and contemporary designs. Each room features an ensuite bathroom, and comes equipped with a flat-screen television, mini-refrigerator, coffee & tea making facilities, in-room personal safe, IDD telephone line, individually controlled air-conditioning, complimentary wireless internet access, hair dryer, cable channels and iron/ ironing board. Relax, take a swim, or simply keep in shape when you stay in Hotel Equatorial Melaka. Equinox Fitness Centre located on Level 3 offers state-of-the-art gym equipment and also includes a steam room, sauna, cold plunge pool and indoor Jacuzzi. Whereas, sun worshippers will appreciate a relaxing dip in the outdoor swimming pool located on Level 4, whilst the kids can enjoy the children's pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Equatorial Melaka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Equatorial Melaka, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.