We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Equatorial Melaka

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Equatorial Melaka to your Saves list
Hotel Equatorial Melaka
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Bandar Hilir, Melaka 75000, Malaysia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Free breakfast with your stay
Ranked #10 of 152 Hotels in Melaka
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Petaling Jaya, Wilayah Persekutuan, Malaysia
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“A good stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

Excellent service from Receptions and Bell Boys. Went for a tour in the whole hotel and is overwhelmed that they really refurbished every single corner of the hotel. Worth the money and definitely will go back again.

Room Tip: Premium Room is good enough with a day bed in it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Equatorial_Mel, General Manager at Hotel Equatorial Melaka, responded to this review, May 23, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind review and we are very pleased that your stay has been pleasant.

I am certainly very pleased that we have met to your expectation. We will always make every effort to provide the best level of service to all our guests.

Once again, our sincere appreciations to you for taking the time to provide us with your kind review.


Yours sincerely,
Adrian Chung
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,017 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    230
    558
    166
    39
    23
See reviews for
364
240
44
113
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (223)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

love the macaroons from the coffee shop at the lobby. The breakfast is average. Dinner I ordered teh tarik taste awful and ask to do it again still taste the same . so they take off from the bill. hubby got Grilled salmon half cook. and were served cold i was bit disappointed because we were looking for good hotel food. I was there on monday so didn't get to try the japanese buffet.

The bath room -i found strings of hairs in bath tub and on the shower curtains.

If you want to go Jonker walk please decide to go friday to sunday. we went there monday and the shop all closed after 5. We went there walking about 20 min distance from the hotel. When we decide to turn back it was quit dark. so please take care of your belongings because i drop a pair of glasses and can't find it the place is too dark.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Equatorial_Mel, General Manager at Hotel Equatorial Melaka, responded to this review, May 23, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind review.

I am glad that you had enjoyed our macaroons sold at Etc corner, nevertheless I sincerely apologize for the quality of the food served. I have shared your comments with my Director of Food and Beverage and rest assured every effort will be made to improve where we have fallen short.

Cleanliness is certainly paramount and must be kept at its level best at all times and a thorough review with our Executive Housekeeper on the cleanliness was carried out to ensure such carelessness does not repeat itself.

Once again, our sincere appreciations to you for taking the time to provide us with your kind review.


Yours sincerely,
Adrian Chung
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2014

Stayed for 1 night. Check in is slow as usual in Melaka without a lot queue. For the price paid, the room is reasonable with comfortable bed and clean towels. Do not have a high expectation on the deco or added services.

Location: 2 mins walk to a mall with sufficient food selection

If you are looking for a simple place to stay, this is the one.

Room Tip: A higher floor for better view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Equatorial_Mel, General Manager at Hotel Equatorial Melaka, responded to this review, May 23, 2014
Dear Guest,

We thank you for your recent stay with us and for taking the time to post your reviews. You will be pleased to know we will be embarking on upgrading works.

Once again, my sincere appreciations for taking the time to post your kind review and I look forward to welcome you back.



Yours sincerely,
Adrian Chung
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014

We arrived as part of a group and while having stayed at Traders (KL) and probably unfairly, we thought initially it looked a bit tired - but the lobby/reception area had a grandeur - we were dealt with reasonably promptly. We had a club room and again not as flash as Traders - room views (room 804) overlooking pool and Melaka. Walls were bit dowdy and in one area noted the wallpaper needed attention. The lifts were intolerably slow - there were 4 lifts but took some time would have been better to have two lifts going up and two down
Club lounge: breakfast was a hit and miss - food was cold, not great variety. Service was good. The toaster was slow - took 2-3 goes to get it brown. Not set right. We had breakfast down stairs on the next two mornings. Good variety but could be crowded - as one of our group said 'it could be a bit of a bun fight'
Toilet blocked but swiftly fixed - room service - was efficient.
Staff positive and cheerful. I wonder if having a key card entry to the lift might solve security problems, although rooms could be accessed via the stairwell.
Our group had a function on the last evening - the variety and amount of food was excellent - and I personally felt we were well catered for. A great way to end our time there. Service again was excellent and food was tasty. Nicely labelled for us westerners.

Room Tip: Get a club room away from the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Equatorial_Mel, General Manager at Hotel Equatorial Melaka, responded to this review, May 23, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind review and we are very pleased that your stay has been pleasant.

I am glad that the room had met your expectations and the opportunity to experience friendly service from our staffs. Nevertheless I sincerely apologize that you had to wait for quite a while for the lift.

I have taken a serious view on your feedback of our Club Lounge offering. I have addressed them with my Director of Food and Beverage for immediate corrective actions and improvements.

Nevertheless, I am pleased that you had an enjoyable time at the event on the last evening.

Once again, our sincerest appreciation for taking the time to provide us with your review and we look forward to welcome you back.


Yours sincerely,
Adrian Chung
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014 via mobile

I returned to Melaka after a 32 year hiatus to find a place suffering from a phase of rapid modernisation whilst trying to maintain its historic and traditional charms. The Equatorial in this regard has lost its charm.

Rated against a 5-start, I found its service lacking, although genuine - nobody tries to help with luggage, or offering directions, or even registering earlier than the 3pm schedule. You'll have to find somebody, who all have their head down, seemingly to avoid being asked for help.

Room facilities were OK, all as expected although we found the shower and taps only dispensed scorching hot water. So, no showers that weekend for us.

Parking and slow WiFi was free, a welcomed bonus for us. I would have to say though, that location wise the hotel was right on the money being next door to A Formosa, Dataran Palawan shopping arcade and the Melaka Raya precinct, where great food could be found.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Equatorial_Mel, General Manager at Hotel Equatorial Melaka, responded to this review, May 12, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for the time taken to post your review. I have taken a serious view on all your feedback and rest assured every effort will be made to improve where we have fallen short.

Once again, our sincere appreciation for taking the time to provide us with your kind review.


Yours sincerely,
Adrian Chung
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trieste, Italy
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014

The main feature of the Equatorial are big rooms with spacious bathrooms and the big pool.
We had a great breakfast there with wide choice of meals. Me and my hausband also took a massage at the hotel spa, it has been far too energic in my opinion.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Equatorial_Mel, General Manager at Hotel Equatorial Melaka, responded to this review, May 12, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind review and we are very pleased that your stay has been pleasant.

I am glad that the service, room and hotel facility has met to your expectation. We certainly value your patronage and we look forward to your visit again soon.

Once again, our sincere appreciations to you for taking the time to provide us with your kind review.


Yours sincerely,
Adrian Chung
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
selangor
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2014

Stayed in deluxe room ..high floor with town view.. service is very friendly and fast check in and room is newly refurbished. Love it. Recommend. The hotel is situated next to few shopping malls but quite far from the famous Jonker street. I would recommend for family to travel in their own transportation. There are basement parking and is free for hotel guest. Local food can be found in walking distance. There a street with shops n local food restaurants.. so quite convenient.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Equatorial_Mel, General Manager at Hotel Equatorial Melaka, responded to this review, May 12, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind review and we are very pleased that your stay has been pleasant.

I am certainly very pleased that we have met to your expectation. We will always make every effort to provide the best level of service to all our guests.

Once again, our sincere appreciations to you for taking the time to provide us with your kind review.


Yours sincerely,
Adrian Chung
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Equatorial Melaka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Equatorial Melaka

Address: Bandar Hilir, Melaka 75000, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Melaka State > Central Melaka District > Melaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 152 Hotels in Melaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Equatorial Melaka 4*
Number of rooms: 496
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the heart of historical Melaka, Hotel Equatorial Melaka is a 5-star international business hotel with 496 elegantly furnished guestrooms and suites offering stunning views of the Straits of Melaka and St. Paul's Hill, whilst providing our guests the most luxurious comfort and service. It is ideally located within a few minutes' walk from historical sites and trails, shopping complexes, night spots, financial institutions as well as the ever famous Jonker's Street - a haven for antique collectors and bargain hunters. Featuring guestrooms ranging from the modest Deluxe room to the Presidential Suite, the hotel rooms are tastefully furnished along elegant and contemporary designs. Each room features an ensuite bathroom, and comes equipped with a flat-screen television, mini-refrigerator, coffee & tea making facilities, in-room personal safe, IDD telephone line, individually controlled air-conditioning, complimentary wireless internet access, hair dryer, cable channels and iron/ ironing board. Relax, take a swim, or simply keep in shape when you stay in Hotel Equatorial Melaka. Equinox Fitness Centre located on Level 3 offers state-of-the-art gym equipment and also includes a steam room, sauna, cold plunge pool and indoor Jacuzzi. Whereas, sun worshippers will appreciate a relaxing dip in the outdoor swimming pool located on Level 4, whilst the kids can enjoy the children's pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, Hotel.de, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Equatorial Melaka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Equatorial Melaka, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.