We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dated needs more attention to service and the plumbing” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Equatorial Melaka

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Equatorial Melaka to your Saves list
Hotel Equatorial Melaka
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Bandar Hilir, Melaka 75000, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 148 Hotels in Melaka
Tokyo, Japan
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Dated needs more attention to service and the plumbing”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014 via mobile

I returned to Melaka after a 32 year hiatus to find a place suffering from a phase of rapid modernisation whilst trying to maintain its historic and traditional charms. The Equatorial in this regard has lost its charm.

Rated against a 5-start, I found its service lacking, although genuine - nobody tries to help with luggage, or offering directions, or even registering earlier than the 3pm schedule. You'll have to find somebody, who all have their head down, seemingly to avoid being asked for help.

Room facilities were OK, all as expected although we found the shower and taps only dispensed scorching hot water. So, no showers that weekend for us.

Parking and slow WiFi was free, a welcomed bonus for us. I would have to say though, that location wise the hotel was right on the money being next door to A Formosa, Dataran Palawan shopping arcade and the Melaka Raya precinct, where great food could be found.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Equatorial_Mel, General Manager at Hotel Equatorial Melaka, responded to this review, May 12, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for the time taken to post your review. I have taken a serious view on all your feedback and rest assured every effort will be made to improve where we have fallen short.

Once again, our sincere appreciation for taking the time to provide us with your kind review.


Yours sincerely,
Adrian Chung
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

905 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    209
    492
    149
    32
    22
See reviews for
321
224
41
94
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (195)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Trieste, Italy
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014

The main feature of the Equatorial are big rooms with spacious bathrooms and the big pool.
We had a great breakfast there with wide choice of meals. Me and my hausband also took a massage at the hotel spa, it has been far too energic in my opinion.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Equatorial_Mel, General Manager at Hotel Equatorial Melaka, responded to this review, May 12, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind review and we are very pleased that your stay has been pleasant.

I am glad that the service, room and hotel facility has met to your expectation. We certainly value your patronage and we look forward to your visit again soon.

Once again, our sincere appreciations to you for taking the time to provide us with your kind review.


Yours sincerely,
Adrian Chung
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
selangor
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2014

Stayed in deluxe room ..high floor with town view.. service is very friendly and fast check in and room is newly refurbished. Love it. Recommend. The hotel is situated next to few shopping malls but quite far from the famous Jonker street. I would recommend for family to travel in their own transportation. There are basement parking and is free for hotel guest. Local food can be found in walking distance. There a street with shops n local food restaurants.. so quite convenient.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Equatorial_Mel, General Manager at Hotel Equatorial Melaka, responded to this review, May 12, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind review and we are very pleased that your stay has been pleasant.

I am certainly very pleased that we have met to your expectation. We will always make every effort to provide the best level of service to all our guests.

Once again, our sincere appreciations to you for taking the time to provide us with your kind review.


Yours sincerely,
Adrian Chung
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014

I've stayed at this hotel previously. It's nice, clean and the rooms are comfortable. It's just getting a little tired from use and could use some sprucing up. Restaurant had a nice breakfast buffet but not enough seating and crowded areas for service.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Equatorial_Mel, General Manager at Hotel Equatorial Melaka, responded to this review, May 12, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind review and we are very pleased that your stay has been pleasant.

I have taken a serious view on all your feedback and rest assured we will make every effort to improve on all the areas mentioned. We certainly look forward to welcome you back again to Hotel Equatorial Melaka. .

Yours sincerely,
Adrian Chung
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014

Stayed April 2014. This hotel has many positives but it is not secure as we had both our locked suitcases stolen from the room as it was being cleaned. Anyone off the street can easily gain access to the room corridors via the lifts. Following this incident we were looked after well by the staff and were accompanied to the police station to help with the statement. They also offered us a free meal and were not charged for the room. That was appreciated but we would prefer to have our suitcases back.

Room Tip: The higher up ,the better
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Equatorial_Mel, General Manager at Hotel Equatorial Melaka, responded to this review, May 12, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind review.
After reading your review, firstly I would like to sincerely apologize again for the unfortunate incident that you have experienced during your stay with us.

This certainly was unusual and has never happen before. Security is paramount and we certainly do not take it for granted. We will make every effort to further step up our existing security procedures.

I do hope that this isolated incident encountered will not deter you from returning.
Once again, thank you for your kind review and we look forward to welcome you back to Hotel Equatorial Melaka.

Yours sincerely,
Adrian Chung
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuantan, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

I'm arrived at the hotel on 22nd April 2014 at 6:45pm from Kertih, Terengganu using the Kuantan-Segamat Highway. After 4 hours drove car, I felt so happy when the receptionist greet me with warm smile and address my name correctly.

She quickly check my booking by referring to my identity card and confirm all the details within split second. She also offered a complimentary baby-coat and prayer matt for our convenience.

That was a great check-in experience and it meet my expectation.

I follow one of the visitor advise in TripAdvisor by unload all my belonging at the entrance before proceed to car parking area at the underground of the hotel which was NO lift services. The bellboy did a great job!

When I enter the room 1201 at level 12, I'm being surprise with the specious room and a nice view of Melaka City. I feel happy went I saw my two kids and spouse smile happily. The room arrangement was good with king's bed, mini sofa set, tv.

At that night we had our dinner at Kopitiam Restaurant in Pahlawan Mall next to hotel building. It is just 3 minutes walking distance! The hotel was strategically located near with all attractive places.

Breakfast in the hotel was just a complimentary moment and similar like other hotel and nothing to surprise. Recommended if you are on business travel which have a tight schedule.

Dinner for my second night at Seri Nyonya Restaurant (at Level 3) was awesome. The ambiance, foods and services was great (read my details comment at restaurant review).

Hotel have full facilities with free WiFi service, gym, swimming pool, tennis court and other amenities.

Late check-out experience was easy and fast. The process was simplified by the bellboy services. Again, The bellboy did a great job!

In conclusion, my family very happy after 3 days 2 nights stay and we plan to come again on family vacation trip at the same hotel.

Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Equatorial_Mel, General Manager at Hotel Equatorial Melaka, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind review and we are very pleased that your stay has been pleasant.

I am certainly very pleased that we have met to your expectation and we will always make every effort to provide the best level of service to all our guests.

Once again, our sincere appreciations to you for taking the time to provide us with your kind review.


Yours sincerely,
Adrian Chung
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014 via mobile

Great hotel with only positives. Great location, walking distance to the historical sites. Opposite a shopping mall. Friendly staff. Perfect breakfast. Amazing pool. Very nice and clean rooms! This cocktail of ingredients should make this your hotel of choice when staying in Melaka.

Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Equatorial_Mel, General Manager at Hotel Equatorial Melaka, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind review and we are very pleased that your stay has been pleasant.

I am glad that the room had met your expectations and the opportunity to experience friendly service from our staffs.

It is always very pleasing to receive compliments on our products and services. Rest assured we will continue to strive to always provide the best level of service.

Once again, thank you for your kind review and we look forward to welcome you back to Hotel Equatorial Melaka.



Yours sincerely,
Adrian Chung
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Equatorial Melaka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Equatorial Melaka

Address: Bandar Hilir, Melaka 75000, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Melaka State > Central Melaka District > Melaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 148 Hotels in Melaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Equatorial Melaka 4*
Number of rooms: 496
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the heart of historical Melaka, Hotel Equatorial Melaka is a 5-star international business hotel with 496 elegantly furnished guestrooms and suites offering stunning views of the Straits of Melaka and St. Paul's Hill, whilst providing our guests the most luxurious comfort and service. It is ideally located within a few minutes' walk from historical sites and trails, shopping complexes, night spots, financial institutions as well as the ever famous Jonker's Street - a haven for antique collectors and bargain hunters. Featuring guestrooms ranging from the modest Deluxe room to the Presidential Suite, the hotel rooms are tastefully furnished along elegant and contemporary designs. Each room features an ensuite bathroom, and comes equipped with a flat-screen television, mini-refrigerator, coffee & tea making facilities, in-room personal safe, IDD telephone line, individually controlled air-conditioning, complimentary wireless internet access, hair dryer, cable channels and iron/ ironing board. Relax, take a swim, or simply keep in shape when you stay in Hotel Equatorial Melaka. Equinox Fitness Centre located on Level 3 offers state-of-the-art gym equipment and also includes a steam room, sauna, cold plunge pool and indoor Jacuzzi. Whereas, sun worshippers will appreciate a relaxing dip in the outdoor swimming pool located on Level 4, whilst the kids can enjoy the children's pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, Expedia, EasyToBook, Agoda, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Equatorial Melaka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Equatorial Melaka, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.