We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best Hotel for Business Trip with Family” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Equatorial Melaka

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Equatorial Melaka
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Bandar Hilir, Melaka 75000, Malaysia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Free breakfast with your stay
Ranked #10 of 152 Hotels in Melaka
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Kuantan, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“The Best Hotel for Business Trip with Family”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

I'm arrived at the hotel on 22nd April 2014 at 6:45pm from Kertih, Terengganu using the Kuantan-Segamat Highway. After 4 hours drove car, I felt so happy when the receptionist greet me with warm smile and address my name correctly.

She quickly check my booking by referring to my identity card and confirm all the details within split second. She also offered a complimentary baby-coat and prayer matt for our convenience.

That was a great check-in experience and it meet my expectation.

I follow one of the visitor advise in TripAdvisor by unload all my belonging at the entrance before proceed to car parking area at the underground of the hotel which was NO lift services. The bellboy did a great job!

When I enter the room 1201 at level 12, I'm being surprise with the specious room and a nice view of Melaka City. I feel happy went I saw my two kids and spouse smile happily. The room arrangement was good with king's bed, mini sofa set, tv.

At that night we had our dinner at Kopitiam Restaurant in Pahlawan Mall next to hotel building. It is just 3 minutes walking distance! The hotel was strategically located near with all attractive places.

Breakfast in the hotel was just a complimentary moment and similar like other hotel and nothing to surprise. Recommended if you are on business travel which have a tight schedule.

Dinner for my second night at Seri Nyonya Restaurant (at Level 3) was awesome. The ambiance, foods and services was great (read my details comment at restaurant review).

Hotel have full facilities with free WiFi service, gym, swimming pool, tennis court and other amenities.

Late check-out experience was easy and fast. The process was simplified by the bellboy services. Again, The bellboy did a great job!

In conclusion, my family very happy after 3 days 2 nights stay and we plan to come again on family vacation trip at the same hotel.

Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Equatorial_Mel, General Manager at Hotel Equatorial Melaka, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind review and we are very pleased that your stay has been pleasant.

I am certainly very pleased that we have met to your expectation and we will always make every effort to provide the best level of service to all our guests.

Once again, our sincere appreciations to you for taking the time to provide us with your kind review.


Yours sincerely,
Adrian Chung
General Manager
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,016 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    229
    558
    166
    39
    23
See reviews for
364
240
44
113
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (222)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
115 helpful votes 115 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014 via mobile

Great hotel with only positives. Great location, walking distance to the historical sites. Opposite a shopping mall. Friendly staff. Perfect breakfast. Amazing pool. Very nice and clean rooms! This cocktail of ingredients should make this your hotel of choice when staying in Melaka.

Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Equatorial_Mel, General Manager at Hotel Equatorial Melaka, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind review and we are very pleased that your stay has been pleasant.

I am glad that the room had met your expectations and the opportunity to experience friendly service from our staffs.

It is always very pleasing to receive compliments on our products and services. Rest assured we will continue to strive to always provide the best level of service.

Once again, thank you for your kind review and we look forward to welcome you back to Hotel Equatorial Melaka.



Yours sincerely,
Adrian Chung
General Manager
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

After arriving in the mouldy smelling lobby we arrived at the check in. The staff were very friendly and helpful and the location is great. That's where the positives end. The rooms are old, tired and don't look particularly clean. The bed sheets were stained, the water runs yellow (lovely!) and the walls are paper thin. The bed is hard and the construction over the road, although not the hotels fault is noisy so if you get a good nights sleep court yourself lucky. The hotel is not worth what we paid and we will not be staying here again.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Equatorial_Mel, General Manager at Hotel Equatorial Melaka, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for the time taken to post your review. I see that your stay was not all that flawless, I have taken a serious view on all your feedback and rest assured every effort will be made to improve where we have fallen short.

Once again, our sincere appreciation for taking the time to provide us with your kind review.


Yours sincerely,
Adrian Chung
General Manager
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johor Bahru, Malaysia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014

The hotel is located in a convenient place, at walking distance to jonker and shopping malls. We tried the seafood buffet and it was good. Food was pretty fresh. The room was in good condition but rather small. There were a lot of customers checking in over the weekend. Overall positive experience.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Equatorial_Mel, General Manager at Hotel Equatorial Melaka, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
Dear Guest,

We thank you for your recent stay with us and for taking the time to post your reviews.

It is very pleasing to know you had an enjoyable stay.

Once again, my sincere appreciations for taking the time to post your kind review and I look forward to welcome you back.



Yours sincerely,
Adrian Chung
General Manager
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014

Great location for main sites of Melaka. Staff are helpful, the hotel is fairly old, but has a grand Colonial feel to it that match the surronding area.
We booked a club room, and were very impressed with the size of the room, the decore and the facilities. The room is the size of a small suite, and has two balconies that over look the city. The club lounge needs to improve. There are no drinks for you to help yourself to, the staff will serve you when you ask for a drink. The service is slow taking 20 minutes for a drink to arrive, and when you only have 2 hours of club lounge drinking time, this is unacceptable. They served a gin and tonic in a short glass with no ice or lemon with a tiny bit of flat tonic water, and warm, flat coke in a whisky. The food served was acceptable but not a luxury for club lounge standards.
We were there mid week, so it was very quiet in the hotel and around town. The hotel has a good gym and spa facilites with a sauna, steamroom and jacuzzi free for guests, they are a bit dated and the spa facilities a bit grubby though. The swimming pool is nice, and has good city views. We decided to have breakfast in the main restaurant instead of the club lounge. The variety is good, but everything was cold.
This could be a great hotel, but needs to improve in the mentioned areas.

Room Tip: well worth booking a club room, just for the size of the room alone. In comparison with prices in KL...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Equatorial_Mel, General Manager at Hotel Equatorial Melaka, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind review and we are very pleased that your stay has been pleasant.

I would like to sincerely apologize for the food quality and I have taken a serious view on all your feedback. I have addressed them with my Director of Food and Beverage for immediate corrective actions and improvements.

Rest assured we view all feedback seriously and we will make every effort to improve on all the areas mentioned. We certainly look forward to welcome you back again to Hotel Equatorial Melaka.

Yours sincerely,
Adrian Chung
General Manager
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Espezel, France
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014 via mobile

Having stayed in another Melaka hotel ( Holiday Inn) last month I have no hesitation in choosing The Equitorial. It has a relaxed yet efficient colonial ambience and our Delux Double overlooking the pool and school was clean, well kept and had a hint of character lacking in the HI.
It's central location is ideal for seeing the old city and the hotel's facilities are first rate.
My only complaint ..........the slowness of the WiFi connection. I know, shut down the iPad and enjoy real life!

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Equatorial_Mel, General Manager at Hotel Equatorial Melaka, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind review and we are very pleased that your stay has been pleasant.

I am certainly very pleased that we have met to your expectation. We will always make every effort to provide the best level of service to all our guests.

On your comments of internet access, the Hotel provides internet services to facilitate connection and our bandwidth capacity enable our guests to work on email and general web browsing. Often than not the slow internet is the result of some users streaming movies which may have caused the poor connection. We are currently embarking on an upgrading work where the system will better manage the traffic of small and large bandwidth users allowing uninterrupted connection for guest to work on e-mails and general browsing.

Once again, our sincere appreciations to you for taking the time to provide us with your kind review, we look forward to welcome you again to Hotel Equatorial Melaka.


Yours sincerely,
Adrian Chung
General Manager
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlow, Ireland
Top Contributor
204 reviews 204 reviews
91 hotel reviews
Reviews in 88 cities Reviews in 88 cities
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014

I enjoyed my two night stay at the Equatorial Hotel in Melaka and would be happy to stay there again.

The staff were efficient and friendly and check in and check out was handled well. Rooms were well furnished and wifi was good.

Breakfast was nice without being spectacular and the pool area is very nice.

All within a few minutes walk of the UNESCO world heritage part of the city which is lovely to visit.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Equatorial_Mel, General Manager at Hotel Equatorial Melaka, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind review and we are very pleased that your stay has been pleasant.

I am very pleased that we have met with your expectation. Rest assured every effort will always be made to provide the best level of service and product to all our guests.

Once again, thank you for your kind review and we look forward to welcome you back to Hotel Equatorial Melaka.


Yours sincerely,
Adrian Chung
General Manager
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Equatorial Melaka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Equatorial Melaka

Address: Bandar Hilir, Melaka 75000, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Melaka State > Central Melaka District > Melaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 152 Hotels in Melaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Equatorial Melaka 4*
Number of rooms: 496
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the heart of historical Melaka, Hotel Equatorial Melaka is a 5-star international business hotel with 496 elegantly furnished guestrooms and suites offering stunning views of the Straits of Melaka and St. Paul's Hill, whilst providing our guests the most luxurious comfort and service. It is ideally located within a few minutes' walk from historical sites and trails, shopping complexes, night spots, financial institutions as well as the ever famous Jonker's Street - a haven for antique collectors and bargain hunters. Featuring guestrooms ranging from the modest Deluxe room to the Presidential Suite, the hotel rooms are tastefully furnished along elegant and contemporary designs. Each room features an ensuite bathroom, and comes equipped with a flat-screen television, mini-refrigerator, coffee & tea making facilities, in-room personal safe, IDD telephone line, individually controlled air-conditioning, complimentary wireless internet access, hair dryer, cable channels and iron/ ironing board. Relax, take a swim, or simply keep in shape when you stay in Hotel Equatorial Melaka. Equinox Fitness Centre located on Level 3 offers state-of-the-art gym equipment and also includes a steam room, sauna, cold plunge pool and indoor Jacuzzi. Whereas, sun worshippers will appreciate a relaxing dip in the outdoor swimming pool located on Level 4, whilst the kids can enjoy the children's pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Equatorial Melaka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Equatorial Melaka, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.