We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for short breaks” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Equatorial Melaka

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Equatorial Melaka to your Saves list
Hotel Equatorial Melaka
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Bandar Hilir, Melaka 75000, Malaysia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Free breakfast with your stay
Ranked #11 of 155 Hotels in Melaka
Johor Bahru, Malaysia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Good for short breaks”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014

The hotel is located in a convenient place, at walking distance to jonker and shopping malls. We tried the seafood buffet and it was good. Food was pretty fresh. The room was in good condition but rather small. There were a lot of customers checking in over the weekend. Overall positive experience.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Equatorial_Mel, General Manager at Hotel Equatorial Melaka, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
Dear Guest,

We thank you for your recent stay with us and for taking the time to post your reviews.

It is very pleasing to know you had an enjoyable stay.

Once again, my sincere appreciations for taking the time to post your kind review and I look forward to welcome you back.



Yours sincerely,
Adrian Chung
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,056 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    239
    581
    170
    40
    25
See reviews for
380
252
45
116
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (229)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014

Great location for main sites of Melaka. Staff are helpful, the hotel is fairly old, but has a grand Colonial feel to it that match the surronding area.
We booked a club room, and were very impressed with the size of the room, the decore and the facilities. The room is the size of a small suite, and has two balconies that over look the city. The club lounge needs to improve. There are no drinks for you to help yourself to, the staff will serve you when you ask for a drink. The service is slow taking 20 minutes for a drink to arrive, and when you only have 2 hours of club lounge drinking time, this is unacceptable. They served a gin and tonic in a short glass with no ice or lemon with a tiny bit of flat tonic water, and warm, flat coke in a whisky. The food served was acceptable but not a luxury for club lounge standards.
We were there mid week, so it was very quiet in the hotel and around town. The hotel has a good gym and spa facilites with a sauna, steamroom and jacuzzi free for guests, they are a bit dated and the spa facilities a bit grubby though. The swimming pool is nice, and has good city views. We decided to have breakfast in the main restaurant instead of the club lounge. The variety is good, but everything was cold.
This could be a great hotel, but needs to improve in the mentioned areas.

Room Tip: well worth booking a club room, just for the size of the room alone. In comparison with prices in KL...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Equatorial_Mel, General Manager at Hotel Equatorial Melaka, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind review and we are very pleased that your stay has been pleasant.

I would like to sincerely apologize for the food quality and I have taken a serious view on all your feedback. I have addressed them with my Director of Food and Beverage for immediate corrective actions and improvements.

Rest assured we view all feedback seriously and we will make every effort to improve on all the areas mentioned. We certainly look forward to welcome you back again to Hotel Equatorial Melaka.

Yours sincerely,
Adrian Chung
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Espezel, France
Level Contributor
52 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014 via mobile

Having stayed in another Melaka hotel ( Holiday Inn) last month I have no hesitation in choosing The Equitorial. It has a relaxed yet efficient colonial ambience and our Delux Double overlooking the pool and school was clean, well kept and had a hint of character lacking in the HI.
It's central location is ideal for seeing the old city and the hotel's facilities are first rate.
My only complaint ..........the slowness of the WiFi connection. I know, shut down the iPad and enjoy real life!

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Equatorial_Mel, General Manager at Hotel Equatorial Melaka, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind review and we are very pleased that your stay has been pleasant.

I am certainly very pleased that we have met to your expectation. We will always make every effort to provide the best level of service to all our guests.

On your comments of internet access, the Hotel provides internet services to facilitate connection and our bandwidth capacity enable our guests to work on email and general web browsing. Often than not the slow internet is the result of some users streaming movies which may have caused the poor connection. We are currently embarking on an upgrading work where the system will better manage the traffic of small and large bandwidth users allowing uninterrupted connection for guest to work on e-mails and general browsing.

Once again, our sincere appreciations to you for taking the time to provide us with your kind review, we look forward to welcome you again to Hotel Equatorial Melaka.


Yours sincerely,
Adrian Chung
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlow, Ireland
Level Contributor
212 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014

I enjoyed my two night stay at the Equatorial Hotel in Melaka and would be happy to stay there again.

The staff were efficient and friendly and check in and check out was handled well. Rooms were well furnished and wifi was good.

Breakfast was nice without being spectacular and the pool area is very nice.

All within a few minutes walk of the UNESCO world heritage part of the city which is lovely to visit.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Equatorial_Mel, General Manager at Hotel Equatorial Melaka, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind review and we are very pleased that your stay has been pleasant.

I am very pleased that we have met with your expectation. Rest assured every effort will always be made to provide the best level of service and product to all our guests.

Once again, thank you for your kind review and we look forward to welcome you back to Hotel Equatorial Melaka.


Yours sincerely,
Adrian Chung
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

Stayed here for 3 nights and it was a fantastic stay. Traveled with our 2 teenagers and requested for connecting rooms. Hotel was great in obliging us with our request. We had a twin bed room and a king bed room with a huge bathroom, overlooking the beautiful swimming pool. Our rooms faced a school but even with children running wild at the field just below, we couldn't hear them when we were not standing at the windows.

Staffs - Great service from everyone we met and encountered. Housekeeping was especially good. They responsed very fast when we called (everyday) for extra floor mat.

Rooms - Awesome! Great beds, bedding (all 4 of us have 3 pillows EACH). Very comfy! Ajustable aircon.

Pool - Beautiful pool. Great size for us to swim and splash around. Except for the jacuzzi which the lifeguard said was not working.

Location - Its pretty centralized. Right across a road from 1 shopping mall which is linked to 2 other shopping malls. Malls have cinema, bowling alley, archery and lots of eateries. There are also some nice local eating areas around the hotel.

Con - The only con we encounter was the floor right outside 1 of our room - 901. There were some sharp "needles" sticking out and we got poked a few times. Ended up asking housekeeping for extra floor mat everyday (that's how we encounter the great service from housekeeping - They were always fast and smiling in responding to our daily request).

I would highly recommend this hotel to all.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Equatorial_Mel, General Manager at Hotel Equatorial Melaka, responded to this review, April 18, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind review.

I am pleased that you have experienced our helpful service and the room and facilities has met to your expectations.

It is certainly regretful to hear of your unpleasant encounter with the sharp carpet grippers while staying in room 0901. My colleagues and I have taken immediate steps to remove the nails.

I sincerely apologize for the unpleasant carpet grippers encounter, rest assured we will make every effort to improve on our shortcomings and we certainly look forward to welcome you back again to Hotel Equatorial Melaka.


Yours sincerely,
Adrian Chung
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johor Bahru, Malaysia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014

My family and I had been troubling with our stays in Melaka during this trip.Fortunately one of my colleagues suggested this hotel.Just as what she had described,our stay here in Equatorial turned out to be a great experience.The room was neat and comfortable.The staffs here are very helpful and friendly that made our stay here to be more homely.Another highlight is that we actually got to enjoy the performance of a young pianist who is very talented.This young man was so kind enough to satisfy every single song requests from us,and he actually nailed them all,indeed very impressive performance.Overall,its a great experience, a good choice to be recommended.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Equatorial_Mel, General Manager at Hotel Equatorial Melaka, responded to this review, April 18, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind review.

I am pleased that you have experienced our helpful service and the room and facilities has met to your expectations. It certainly is pleasing to know the pianist was the highlight of your stay and I’ll ensure that I’ll pass on your compliments to him.

Once again, thank you for your kind review and we look forward to welcome you back to Hotel Equatorial Melaka.


Yours sincerely,
Adrian Chung
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
51 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2014

We stayed for 3 nights and really enjoyed this hotel. We booked a deluxe room as we wanted the benefits of a balcony so we could enjoy the fresh air and whilst the balcony was small we were happy with our decision. There is also the option of the same rooms on the higher floors where the balcony has been closed in, so if you’re after a view go for those.
The hotel reception area is large and grand with a large marble winding staircase at one end and a smaller spiral staircase at the other, which adds to the overall grandeur of the hotel. The design of the pool area is just divine, spacious with an almost resort feel to it. It’s a great place to relax after a hot day sightseeing.
We opted to include breakfast in our package and were quite happy with the variety of food on offer. The coffee shop on the ground floor also serves great coffee and cakes
All staff were helpful, friendly and efficient.
When staying in Melaka the Equatorial is at the top of my list

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Equatorial_Mel, General Manager at Hotel Equatorial Melaka, responded to this review, April 18, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind review and we are very pleased that your stay has been pleasant.

I am certainly very pleased that we have met to your expectation. We will always make every effort to provide the best level of service to all our guests.

Once again, our sincere appreciations to you for taking the time to provide us with your kind review.


Yours sincerely,
Adrian Chung
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hotel Equatorial Melaka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Equatorial Melaka

Address: Bandar Hilir, Melaka 75000, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Melaka State > Central Melaka District > Melaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 155 Hotels in Melaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Equatorial Melaka 4*
Number of rooms: 496
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the heart of historical Melaka, Hotel Equatorial Melaka is a 5-star international business hotel with 496 elegantly furnished guestrooms and suites offering stunning views of the Straits of Melaka and St. Paul's Hill, whilst providing our guests the most luxurious comfort and service. It is ideally located within a few minutes' walk from historical sites and trails, shopping complexes, night spots, financial institutions as well as the ever famous Jonker's Street - a haven for antique collectors and bargain hunters. Featuring guestrooms ranging from the modest Deluxe room to the Presidential Suite, the hotel rooms are tastefully furnished along elegant and contemporary designs. Each room features an ensuite bathroom, and comes equipped with a flat-screen television, mini-refrigerator, coffee & tea making facilities, in-room personal safe, IDD telephone line, individually controlled air-conditioning, complimentary wireless internet access, hair dryer, cable channels and iron/ ironing board. Relax, take a swim, or simply keep in shape when you stay in Hotel Equatorial Melaka. Equinox Fitness Centre located on Level 3 offers state-of-the-art gym equipment and also includes a steam room, sauna, cold plunge pool and indoor Jacuzzi. Whereas, sun worshippers will appreciate a relaxing dip in the outdoor swimming pool located on Level 4, whilst the kids can enjoy the children's pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline and Asiatravel.com Holdings so you can book your Hotel Equatorial Melaka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Equatorial Melaka, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.